$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 5, 2014 Check-out: Nov 6, 2014

Otter Inn

3 stars
571 Wave Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
70 reviews
Quick visit to Aquarium

Friendly, efficient staff. Helpful with info - excellent restaurant closer than I was thinking of,... See full review

  • Maribee
  • Jun 16, 2014
Great drive up the coast!

Great location, rooms were clean and the staff was very helpful. Will stay there again! See full review

  • Jack Great Dad
  • Aug 16, 2013
The charm and festivities of Cannery Row are just outside of our hotels doors.. Walk only 2 blocks to Monterey Bay Aquarium. Shops- restaurants- and museums are just steps away. Return at the end of the day to relax in one of our 33-custom designed rooms filled with modern amenities. Cozy up to a warm fireplace- or relax in a warm- soothing Jacuzzi. Wake up in the morning to enjoy a view of the Monterey Bay as you savor your morning coffee and pastries. Come enjoy your stay in Monterey with us MRY-Monterey-0Mi N

Hotel Map

36.6139 -121.9
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Otter Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Otter Inn Rooms

Oceanview King Suite
Room with 1 king bed. Complimentary Pastry Basket- Parking and in-room coffee. Max occ 2
Standard 2 Queen Room
Room with 2 queen beds. Complimentary Pastry Basket- parking and in-room coffee. Max occ 4
Standard King Room
Room with 1 king bed. Complimentary Pastry Basket- parking and in-room coffee. Max occ 2

Amenities

Parking
Parking
Room
Telephone

Dining

Restaurant facilities nearby
Sardine Factory. Serving Italian/seafood. 2 blocks away. Whaling Station. Serving Italian/Seafood. 2 blocks away. Bubba Gump Shrimp. Serving Seafood. 1 blocks away. Chart house. Serving Continental Fare. 2 blocks away

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (70)

Ratings and reviews for Otter Inn

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
70 out of 70
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Otter Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AgustinJr
Business
Dixon Ca
May 26, 2013

What a dump!

Location.. Awesome! Staff... Awesome Room..reminds of a hotel that should charge by the hour. Dingy, dark, grimy bathroom, drafts through the windows and doors. If I hadn't already forked out almost $250 bucks which are refundable or found any hotels in the area that weren't booked... I would be out of here in a heartbeat. If I didn't have the whole family with me.. I would sleep in the car... seriously. Staff is the best though... can't say enough.. but with such a prime location why would you let such a plus go to waste. NEVER AGAIN! put such a downer on our weekend.. wife and kids are troopers but I can't get over wasting 250 bucks for motel quality.. actually even worse... at least they leave the light on... can't even find an outlet here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Otter Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jun 18, 2010

Not what was advertised

I bought this from the advertisement. It stated that it was partial ocean views, fireplace, etc. and I had none of that. I was there during the US Open on a Wednesday night so they charged $450 dollars for a room with two beds. It is highway robbery they should be ashamed that they got that amount for a dirty room. There was something thick and brown on the carpet that was fresh that I don't even want to know what it was. I had to walk around with flip flops because I was afraid of what was on the carpet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

They have some great restaurants within walking distance. I loved the Sardine Factory!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Otter Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 8, 2008

Our first room had ...

Our first room had peeling wallpaper and window treatments which were literally hanging off the windows. The walls appeared dirty. The walls are painted a dark purple color. The bathroom door had visible damage. The room should not have been occupied in this condition. The hotel staff did upgrade our room on the second night after we complained. Don't expect the pastry breakfast to be fresh. Packaged pastries received at check-in are your breakfast. I will never go to this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Monterey Bay Aquarium and Cannery Row are very close. Many restaraunts, of various price ranges, are nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Otter Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Delfie
Business
Castro Valley, Ca
Aug 10, 2012

Issues with a great location

The hotel is in a great location. You can easily walk to Cannery Row and down to spot where you can get on the beach. However, we could hear out upstairs neighbor walk across the floor and shower at 6am. The room was stuffy so we opened the window which was ok until 4 am when the restuarante delivery trucks started driving by. The muffin basket was nothing to be excited about but it was full of snacks. The person at the front desk when we checked in was not very professional. If you want to be close the Cannery Row and do not mind hearing your neighbors, then good choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Otter Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
soniC ox
Business
San Diego
Aug 30, 2012

Great location... That's about all.

This hotel is within walking distance of Cannery Row and is reasonably priced. The room was ordinary and rather dreary but fairly clean. Parking is free and you may leave your car there until four pm even though checkout is at noon. Two of the management staff had a profanity laced shouting match in the lobby. It was like an episode of "Cops". We won't be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Trailside Cafe across the street from the Otter Inn has great beignets and coffee.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Otter Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lisa yesdog
Business
Orange, CA
Dec 10, 2012

location!

Location is perfect for the money! Room was clean. Bed was uncomfortable. Staff was odd. But for the price it was perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Otter Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
enjoy Monterey
Business
Monterey, CA
Sep 22, 2013

A stay in Monterey

Very convenient - great location - can walk to everything on Cannery Row. I would only give it two stars. Old hotel smell, needs towel racks, walls need painted to holes, cracks, etc fixed. Not anywhere worth what we paid for it. Was a busy weekend on the Penninsula, but paid $100.00/night too much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Otter Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Simi Valley
Aug 8, 2008

My review of Otter Inn

There is no air conditioning at the Otter Inn. My sister always has the air running. Therefore, we had all windows open at night. We could hear the people above us as they moved around their room. More insulation would be great!! Also, this is not the motel's fault, but the birds outside stirred up quite a fuss. Seems it's roosting season and they were definetly getting it on!! ( I know becuase our windows were open all night.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Otter Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Redlands California
Aug 17, 2010

Otter Inn on Cannery Row in Monterey CA

It was a below average accommodation for the price we paid ($650 for two nights). WE could hear the people walking on the floor above us. The coffee machine was in the bath room facing the toilet. Good part was that we could walk to major attractions and restaurants. But the living place, in fact the whole inn was quite uninviting. Reception area is almost non-existent. The lady did not even give me a AAA Discount because it was a special weekend! Except the INN, it was a good trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fish Hopper's Restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Otter Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Merced
Aug 9, 2010

Otter "not stay there again" Inn

The guy at the desk was great, and the location was decent. Before we even saw our room, we paid for a 2nd night. The room we got had a jacuzzi and a "fireplace (with a lamp cord to plug it in). The jacuzzi leaked, and had to be the first invented by the age/ color/ size. the transition strip between bathroom floor and room was loose and had nails sticking out. the foyer light did not work. The toilet would get stuck when flushed and run endlessly unless we took the lid off and pushed the plunger back down. Not worth the 215 a night we ended up paying. And the heater is NOT kid friendly, about 1' off the ground and gets hot. You have to get to the ground to even turn it on!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

CVS

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top