$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 12, 2015 Check-out: Jan 15, 2015

Otter Inn

3 stars
571 Wave Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
73 reviews
Quick visit to Aquarium

Friendly, efficient staff. Helpful with info - excellent restaurant closer than I was thinking of,... See full review

  • Maribee
  • Jun 16, 2014
Great drive up the coast!

Great location, rooms were clean and the staff was very helpful. Will stay there again! See full review

  • Jack Great Dad
  • Aug 16, 2013
The charm and festivities of Cannery Row are just outside of our hotels doors.. Walk only 2 blocks to Monterey Bay Aquarium. Shops- restaurants- and museums are just steps away. Return at the end of the day to relax in one of our 33-custom designed rooms filled with modern amenities. Cozy up to a warm fireplace- or relax in a warm- soothing Jacuzzi. Wake up in the morning to enjoy a view of the Monterey Bay as you savor your morning coffee and pastries. Come enjoy your stay in Monterey with us MRY-Monterey-0Mi N

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Otter Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Otter Inn Rooms

Oceanview King Suite
Room with 1 king bed. Complimentary Pastry Basket- Parking and in-room coffee. Max occ 2
Standard 2 Queen Room
Room with 2 queen beds. Complimentary Pastry Basket- parking and in-room coffee. Max occ 4
Standard King Room
Room with 1 king bed. Complimentary Pastry Basket- parking and in-room coffee. Max occ 2

Amenities

Parking
Parking
Room
Telephone

Dining

Restaurant facilities nearby
Sardine Factory. Serving Italian/seafood. 2 blocks away. Whaling Station. Serving Italian/Seafood. 2 blocks away. Bubba Gump Shrimp. Serving Seafood. 1 blocks away. Chart house. Serving Continental Fare. 2 blocks away

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (73)

Ratings and reviews for Otter Inn

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Otter Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 16, 2008

centrally located

Our stay at The Otter Inn was a very nice, it is centrally located, one block walking distance to cannery row and Monterey aquarium & the outlets. The room was very pleasant, clean and roomy. We had a nice view of the bay. I recommend this hotel to anyone, the prices were reasonable the hotel management were very friendly and free parking. You may keep your car parked at the hotel after check-out if you still have shopping to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

we like spanish music, we found Don Jose mexican restaurant, 1/2 block from hotel. We danced to cumbia & salsa music lots of fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Otter Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kmah
Business
Oakland, CA
Oct 28, 2012

Good Value

Basic, but clean, great location, and friendly staff. Also parking is included! Building is a little on the old side, but overall a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Otter Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chris n sue
Business
fresno
Jun 24, 2013

great experience

Room was good, price was great. ..it was close to everything we wanted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Otter Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jack Great Dad
Business
Orange County,CA.
Aug 16, 2013

Great drive up the coast!

Great location, rooms were clean and the staff was very helpful. Will stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Otter Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 3, 2008

good value

The otter Inn was convient to the Cannary Row area. I liked the fact that we could walk to restaurants and other Monterey Bay experiences close by. The sitting area of th Otter Inn had a bay window seat and looked out over Monterey Bay. The room itself was larger than we expected and we were able to relax and enjoy our visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay at the Otter Inn and the distance to shopping the Bay and dining is less than 2 blocks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Otter Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 26, 2008

very nice

very nice, clean warm staff close to cannery row

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

walk to dining,water, aquarium

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Otter Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Modesto, Ca
Apr 26, 2010

Location, location, location!

My fiancé and I stayed at the Otter Inn while I ran the Big Sur International Marathon. We read some questionable reviews prior to our stay but decided to try the Inn anyway. That decision turned out to be a very wise one. Our stay was great! The location was perfect (and just as good as some friends that stayed at a much more expensive motel). We were able to walk, slowly, to all our favorite locations. The room was a bit outdated but very clean. The staff was wonderful (wish we have gotten her name). They even let us keep our car parked in the garage past our check out time, which is much better than searching, and I mean SEARCHING for another parking space. The Otter Inn gets both thumbs up from us. And yes, I finished my first ever marathon in 4:48:22.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Cannery Row Pizzaria.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Otter Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maribee
Business
Palo Alto, Ca
Jun 16, 2014

Quick visit to Aquarium

Friendly, efficient staff. Helpful with info - excellent restaurant closer than I was thinking of, when I was tired from a lot of driving. Good local knowledge. Helpful policy about keeping car after check-out (very important in that area). I didn't need it, but was told the hotel guarantees parking if their garage happens to be full. Extreme convenience - that's my thing ! MB Smith

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very short walk. Good seafood and right behind the hotel. Half a block to walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Otter Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
imara
Business
Palmdale, CA, USA
Mar 12, 2012

Wonderful Time was Had by All!

Please let me say thank you to the nicest manager of the hotel. We called him late and informed him we would be arriving in the wee hours. He was very accommodating and we only had to ring the bell once before he was there to check us in. Our room was lovely and you could see the ocean from our window. Our bed was quite comfortable and I really enjoyed our complimentary snack basket. I will definitely stay there again whenever I come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Otter Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gettinouttadodge
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
Mar 20, 2012

Great Deal

I just got back from a stay here for a Sunday to Monday mini vacation, and would say it was a great deal for the price I paid. The room was a good size, plenty of room not cramped, it was clean and the bed was comfortable. The person that checked us in was very nice and the snack basket I thought was a cute touch. The location was awesome since it is literally a block away from Cannery Row, and they let you keep your car parked there until 4 the day you check out even though check out is at noon. I would definitely stay there again for accomodations on a budget in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top