$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 10, 2014 Check-out: Jul 11, 2014

Otter Inn

3 stars
571 Wave Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
89 reviews
Quick visit to Aquarium

Friendly, efficient staff. Helpful with info - excellent restaurant closer than I was thinking of,... See full review

  • Maribee
  • Jun 16, 2014
Great drive up the coast!

Great location, rooms were clean and the staff was very helpful. Will stay there again! See full review

  • Jack Great Dad
  • Aug 16, 2013
The charm and festivities of Cannery Row are just outside of our hotels doors.. Walk only 2 blocks to Monterey Bay Aquarium. Shops- restaurants- and museums are just steps away. Return at the end of the day to relax in one of our 33-custom designed rooms filled with modern amenities. Cozy up to a warm fireplace- or relax in a warm- soothing Jacuzzi. Wake up in the morning to enjoy a view of the Monterey Bay as you savor your morning coffee and pastries. Come enjoy your stay in Monterey with us MRY-Monterey-0Mi N

Otter Inn Rooms

Oceanview King Suite
Room with 1 king bed. Complimentary Pastry Basket- Parking and in-room coffee. Max occ 2
Standard 2 Queen Room
Room with 2 queen beds. Complimentary Pastry Basket- parking and in-room coffee. Max occ 4
Standard King Room
Room with 1 king bed. Complimentary Pastry Basket- parking and in-room coffee. Max occ 2

Amenities

Parking
Parking
Room
Telephone

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Otter Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

36.6139 -121.9
Area description
City Center

Dining

Restaurant facilities nearby
Sardine Factory. Serving Italian/seafood. 2 blocks away. Whaling Station. Serving Italian/Seafood. 2 blocks away. Bubba Gump Shrimp. Serving Seafood. 1 blocks away. Chart house. Serving Continental Fare. 2 blocks away

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (89)

Ratings and reviews for Otter Inn

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
89 out of 89
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Otter Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Santa Maria, CA
Jun 1, 2010

Great trip

We biked and hiked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Otter Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento, CA
May 31, 2010

Fab location

Great location. Older rooms, but clean and within very short walking distance of Cannery Row.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Otter Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento, CA
May 31, 2010

Fab location

Great location. Older rooms, but clean and within very short walking distance of Cannery Row.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Otter Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sacramento
May 12, 2010

excellent value

great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

lots o choices

Review of Otter Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sacramento
May 12, 2010

excellent value

great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

lots o choices

Review of Otter Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Modesto, Ca
Apr 26, 2010

Location, location, location!

My fiancé and I stayed at the Otter Inn while I ran the Big Sur International Marathon. We read some questionable reviews prior to our stay but decided to try the Inn anyway. That decision turned out to be a very wise one. Our stay was great! The location was perfect (and just as good as some friends that stayed at a much more expensive motel). We were able to walk, slowly, to all our favorite locations. The room was a bit outdated but very clean. The staff was wonderful (wish we have gotten her name). They even let us keep our car parked in the garage past our check out time, which is much better than searching, and I mean SEARCHING for another parking space. The Otter Inn gets both thumbs up from us. And yes, I finished my first ever marathon in 4:48:22.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Cannery Row Pizzaria.

Review of Otter Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Modesto, Ca
Apr 26, 2010

Location, location, location!

My fiancé and I stayed at the Otter Inn while I ran the Big Sur International Marathon. We read some questionable reviews prior to our stay but decided to try the Inn anyway. That decision turned out to be a very wise one. Our stay was great! The location was perfect (and just as good as some friends that stayed at a much more expensive motel). We were able to walk, slowly, to all our favorite locations. The room was a bit outdated but very clean. The staff was wonderful (wish we have gotten her name). They even let us keep our car parked in the garage past our check out time, which is much better than searching, and I mean SEARCHING for another parking space. The Otter Inn gets both thumbs up from us. And yes, I finished my first ever marathon in 4:48:22.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Cannery Row Pizzaria.

Review of Otter Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento, CA
Feb 21, 2010

Great short family trip

The location was great - just a short walk to everything on Cannery Row, as advertised. The on-site parking was convenient and they let us stay in the space until check-in time for the next day which gave us plenty of time at the Aquarium. The hotel staff was courteous and helpful with restaurant ideas. The room was clean and quiet. The hot tub was nice. It's a little more than I'd prefer to pay, but for a short vacation, i think it was worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Otter Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento, CA
Feb 21, 2010

Great short family trip

The location was great - just a short walk to everything on Cannery Row, as advertised. The on-site parking was convenient and they let us stay in the space until check-in time for the next day which gave us plenty of time at the Aquarium. The hotel staff was courteous and helpful with restaurant ideas. The room was clean and quiet. The hot tub was nice. It's a little more than I'd prefer to pay, but for a short vacation, i think it was worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Otter Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
S&M
Concord, CA
Feb 16, 2010

Otter Inn

King size bed was made with queen size sheets and no fitted sheet, no mattress pad. The bedding fell apart each night. Thin walls and floors such that we could hear our neighbors and what they were saying. Upstairs guest would wake us up pacing the floor. Great location from Cannery Row. No view of the bay and no balcony. Window was riveted shut so no ventilation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top