$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Otter Inn

3 stars
571 Wave Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
89 reviews
Quick visit to Aquarium

Friendly, efficient staff. Helpful with info - excellent restaurant closer than I was thinking of,... See full review

  • Maribee
  • Jun 16, 2014
Great drive up the coast!

Great location, rooms were clean and the staff was very helpful. Will stay there again! See full review

  • Jack Great Dad
  • Aug 16, 2013
The charm and festivities of Cannery Row are just outside of our hotels doors.. Walk only 2 blocks to Monterey Bay Aquarium. Shops- restaurants- and museums are just steps away. Return at the end of the day to relax in one of our 33-custom designed rooms filled with modern amenities. Cozy up to a warm fireplace- or relax in a warm- soothing Jacuzzi. Wake up in the morning to enjoy a view of the Monterey Bay as you savor your morning coffee and pastries. Come enjoy your stay in Monterey with us MRY-Monterey-0Mi N

Hotel Map

36.6139 -121.9
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Otter Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Otter Inn Rooms

Oceanview King Suite
Room with 1 king bed. Complimentary Pastry Basket- Parking and in-room coffee. Max occ 2
Standard 2 Queen Room
Room with 2 queen beds. Complimentary Pastry Basket- parking and in-room coffee. Max occ 4
Standard King Room
Room with 1 king bed. Complimentary Pastry Basket- parking and in-room coffee. Max occ 2

Amenities

Parking
Parking
Room
Telephone

Dining

Restaurant facilities nearby
Sardine Factory. Serving Italian/seafood. 2 blocks away. Whaling Station. Serving Italian/Seafood. 2 blocks away. Bubba Gump Shrimp. Serving Seafood. 1 blocks away. Chart house. Serving Continental Fare. 2 blocks away

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (89)

Ratings and reviews for Otter Inn

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
89 out of 89
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Otter Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Delfie
Castro Valley, Ca
Aug 10, 2012

Issues with a great location

The hotel is in a great location. You can easily walk to Cannery Row and down to spot where you can get on the beach. However, we could hear out upstairs neighbor walk across the floor and shower at 6am. The room was stuffy so we opened the window which was ok until 4 am when the restuarante delivery trucks started driving by. The muffin basket was nothing to be excited about but it was full of snacks. The person at the front desk when we checked in was not very professional. If you want to be close the Cannery Row and do not mind hearing your neighbors, then good choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Otter Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jelly Fish
Sonoma
Jul 12, 2012

Great location

Located 2 blocks from the Bay, right off Cannery Row and an easy walk to the Aquarium and great restaurants. We parked the car and never used it to go anywhere. Rooms were fine but nothing extraordinary except the view of the Bay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Otter Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RodKeeler
Pomona, CA
Jul 10, 2012

Location, Location, Location!

My wife and I planned a last minute trip. We searched all the hotels in the area. We have stayed at everything from your $46.00 a nights to your $300.00 a night hotels. We found that location is more important than price. This hotel combines the best of both worlds. We had a great location, price was mid-range. The room was comfortable, parking was great, and we were able to walk everywhere. The night staff was excellent, We would stay here again (and have already made our reservations).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a few little resturants to hit up... Ambrosia is a great middle eastern style food, There is a mexican resturant down the street that has great food and for an all around dining experience... Bushwacker is the best.

Review of Otter Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gflo
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 6, 2012

Perfect Getaway

Don't look for anything fancy, you're in Monterey where everything is laid back! The hotel is dated, yet somehow works perfectly. The night manager is a riot. He meets your every need. He welcomed us with a great snack basket and even helped me out when I needed a cork screw! The location is slightly uphill which provides a great view of the ocean, be sure and ask for it! The hotel is within walking distance to the aquarium and shopping. If you can, park at the hotel vs. paying $10 for aquarium public parking. The place is dated but clean, the view is spectacular, and it's quiet! (unless you count the seagulls, but again, you're on the coast!). Highly recommended, I'm staying there from now on!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park at hotel vs aquarium public parking for $10!

Review of Otter Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rick the truck driver
Santa Clara,Ca
May 6, 2012

Our Anniversary

It was fine...Love that we could walk to cannary row. The bed was really comfortable.The bathroom was nice.The room it self needed some help.The outside needs a liitle TLC..Stayed on thr fouth floor which was a misstake cuz all night we can hear the seagulls running around on that tin roof!! But would return just on different floor

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Bubba Gump's for dinner....Go The Fishopper for amazing drink called "BUCKET of FIRE" and go to Sly McFly's for live music and dancing!!!

Review of Otter Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
X's Family
Hayward, CA, USA
Apr 20, 2012

Perfect

We used to spend the big bucks to stay at the Monterey Plaza, but the quality of the service began to decline and we looked for a cheaper alternative. It felt like all we were paying for was a view. Our first trip to the Otter Inn was so fabulous that we return at least once a year for a mini vacation. Close to EVERYTHING and FREE PARKING are two great draws (we paid 50 a night at some places to park) and the size of the facility is a distinct plus...the staff is like family...the one desk clerk is the first person my 5 year old grandson looks for when we get there, calling her his 'hotel lady'. No great view from the room, but perfect for us in every other way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A trip across the street for delicious Mexican food is always one of the meals we enjoy.

Review of Otter Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gettinouttadodge
Sacramento, CA, USA
Mar 20, 2012

Great Deal

I just got back from a stay here for a Sunday to Monday mini vacation, and would say it was a great deal for the price I paid. The room was a good size, plenty of room not cramped, it was clean and the bed was comfortable. The person that checked us in was very nice and the snack basket I thought was a cute touch. The location was awesome since it is literally a block away from Cannery Row, and they let you keep your car parked there until 4 the day you check out even though check out is at noon. I would definitely stay there again for accomodations on a budget in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Otter Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
imara
Palmdale, CA, USA
Mar 12, 2012

Wonderful Time was Had by All!

Please let me say thank you to the nicest manager of the hotel. We called him late and informed him we would be arriving in the wee hours. He was very accommodating and we only had to ring the bell once before he was there to check us in. Our room was lovely and you could see the ocean from our window. Our bed was quite comfortable and I really enjoyed our complimentary snack basket. I will definitely stay there again whenever I come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Otter Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mina
Los Angeles
Oct 18, 2010

convenient but noisy!

The location was very convenient but noisy because1. the seagulls were constanly flying around and perching on the hotel 2. the plumbing was bad so every time someone in the adjacent rooms took a shower it sounded like a water fall! So we found it very hard to sleep well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Cannery Row is the next block over!

Review of Otter Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Redlands California
Aug 17, 2010

Otter Inn on Cannery Row in Monterey CA

It was a below average accommodation for the price we paid ($650 for two nights). WE could hear the people walking on the floor above us. The coffee machine was in the bath room facing the toilet. Good part was that we could walk to major attractions and restaurants. But the living place, in fact the whole inn was quite uninviting. Reception area is almost non-existent. The lady did not even give me a AAA Discount because it was a special weekend! Except the INN, it was a good trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fish Hopper's Restaurant

Back to menu Return to top