$95 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 23, 2014 Check-out: Sep 24, 2014

Otter Inn

3 stars
571 Wave Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
68 reviews
Quick visit to Aquarium

Friendly, efficient staff. Helpful with info - excellent restaurant closer than I was thinking of,... See full review

  • Maribee
  • Jun 16, 2014
Great drive up the coast!

Great location, rooms were clean and the staff was very helpful. Will stay there again! See full review

  • Jack Great Dad
  • Aug 16, 2013
The charm and festivities of Cannery Row are just outside of our hotels doors.. Walk only 2 blocks to Monterey Bay Aquarium. Shops- restaurants- and museums are just steps away. Return at the end of the day to relax in one of our 33-custom designed rooms filled with modern amenities. Cozy up to a warm fireplace- or relax in a warm- soothing Jacuzzi. Wake up in the morning to enjoy a view of the Monterey Bay as you savor your morning coffee and pastries. Come enjoy your stay in Monterey with us MRY-Monterey-0Mi N

Hotel Map

36.6139 -121.9
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Otter Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Otter Inn Rooms

Oceanview King Suite
Room with 1 king bed. Complimentary Pastry Basket- Parking and in-room coffee. Max occ 2
Standard 2 Queen Room
Room with 2 queen beds. Complimentary Pastry Basket- parking and in-room coffee. Max occ 4
Standard King Room
Room with 1 king bed. Complimentary Pastry Basket- parking and in-room coffee. Max occ 2

Amenities

Parking
Parking
Room
Telephone

Dining

Restaurant facilities nearby
Sardine Factory. Serving Italian/seafood. 2 blocks away. Whaling Station. Serving Italian/Seafood. 2 blocks away. Bubba Gump Shrimp. Serving Seafood. 1 blocks away. Chart house. Serving Continental Fare. 2 blocks away

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (68)

Ratings and reviews for Otter Inn

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 68
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Otter Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lovers of the ocean
Tracy calif.
May 31, 2013

montery

Had a good time, we like the inn an it was close to the cannery we had a good time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Otter Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wilz
Merced ca
Aug 26, 2014

Weekend get away

Rate was good for the location. Rooms where kind of dated. Shower was quite small even for an average guy. Everything was in walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Otter Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MMARA5
Rocklin California
Aug 14, 2014

Great location

Friendly staff very accommodatiing hotel needs remodel musty rooms no window screens. It's just old and needs a little help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Monterey bay aquarium underwater program for kids was great really recommend it for kids comfortable in the water. Full diving gear included for 85 Dollors a great value. 75 if your a member.

Review of Otter Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Monterey Beach Lover
San Joaquin Valley, ca
Aug 2, 2014

Family beach day

This is an average hotel. The location is great though which is the reason we stay here. No cooling in.the room and it needed it, so we had to keep the back Windows open. Good thi ng we were on the second floor. Had a bad odor too. I think they were having sewer issues. Glad it was only one night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Otter Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maribee
Palo Alto, Ca
Jun 16, 2014

Quick visit to Aquarium

Friendly, efficient staff. Helpful with info - excellent restaurant closer than I was thinking of, when I was tired from a lot of driving. Good local knowledge. Helpful policy about keeping car after check-out (very important in that area). I didn't need it, but was told the hotel guarantees parking if their garage happens to be full. Extreme convenience - that's my thing ! MB Smith

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very short walk. Good seafood and right behind the hotel. Half a block to walk.

Review of Otter Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MomOfTBs
Turlock, CA
Jun 13, 2014

Location! Location! Location!

We were so happy that we chose to reserve our room at the Otter Inn. We were able to park our car in their covered parking lot and walk to all of our planned destinations (Monterey Bay Aquarium, Cannery Row, restaurants, etc.). Close to everything! The staff was super friendly and helpful. Although not extravagant, the rooms were neat and comfortable. Our trip was not for the purpose of staying in our room but sightseeing outside in Monterey. The price was extremely reasonable... especially considering the location. The only disappointment I had was that they advertised to have iron/ironing board in room but there was none. I imagine I could have inquired at front desk but did not. We will definitely stay there again on our next trip to Monterey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to see lots of harbor seals, stroll down past the aquarium on the bike path until you reach the Stanford marine life refuge. There is a little beach area where you'll find hundreds of them. If you wish to see Sea Otters and Sea Lions, travel about 15 miles North to Moss Landing and at the Moss Landing State Beach launching ramp (near restaurant), you find piles and piles of Sea Lions on the ramps with Sea Otters frolicking about. Also, near Moss Landing is an absolutely awesome little mexican restaurant name The Whole Enchilada.

Review of Otter Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
leighlee
monterray,ca
May 11, 2014

the otter

great place and great value! i actually left personal item in the room-the stall contacted me and sent ups!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Otter Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Monterey Gal
San Luis Obispo, C
Mar 5, 2014

Good value and great service

The person who checked us in was fantastic....very friendly and helpful. The only negative was the bathroom sink which didn't look like it had been thorouhly cleaned. There was some black stuff at the bottom which looked like it had come from the water pipes...not sure, but it wasn't very nice. We definitely appreciated the free parking and they event let us keep our cars there several hours after we checked out. Maybe this was due to the fact that we stayed in off season, but we were very grateful nevertheless. We'll most definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Otter Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pepsibaby
Fresno
Mar 3, 2014

Great locAtion

Staff courteous n rooms was clean n nice Walking distance to everything

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Otter Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Isaac Rodriguez
Fresno, CA, USA
Feb 4, 2014

Good Experience

We enjoyed our stay in this small but nice hotel, it's not the Marriott or Hilton but we loved the location to everything around Cannery Row because everything was walking distance. Our check-in was painless and quick and was presented with a welcome basket of snacks, and the staff were very accommodating with all our needs. Highly recommend if on a budget and want to be near Cannery Row.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy walk to Aquarium, Restaurants and Shopping on Cannery Row. Due try the clam Chowder at the Fish Hopper it's really good.

Review of Otter Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Portagirl
Tulare, CA
Jan 3, 2014

Great location

Staff friendly . Clean room. Nothing. Fancy but clean. Need softer pillows . Love location walking distance to cannery row shopping & close to aquarium.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Monterey aquarium & shopping.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search