$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Monterey Surf Inn

3 stars
1200 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
31 reviews
Great room for a low price!

This was a really great, cute room near all the Monterey attractions. Very clean room and a great... See full review

  • Erkel on Vacation
  • Jul 8, 2014
Great location

Easy access. Clean. Overall good deal. Close to mall. See full review

  • kayitatraveler
  • Jul 1, 2014
Monterey hotel with an seasonal outdoor Heated pool.Fisherman's Wharf nearby Situated in Monterey, this hotel is close to Monterey Museum of Art-Pacific Street, Fisherman's Wharf, and Dennis the Menace Park. Also nearby are Maritime Museum and Monterey Museum of Art-La Mirada. Outdoor pool. In addition to complimentary high-speed (wired) Internet access, Monterey Surf Inn provides complimentary wireless Internet access, laundry facilities, and free parking. Desks, ergonomic chairs All guestrooms feature beds with pillow-top mattresses, microwaves, and refrigerators. Other amenities include air conditioning and ergonomic chairs. Amenity - Smoke Free Hotel.

Monterey Surf Inn Rooms

One King Bed Non Smoking
One King Bed Non Smoking with king bed includes Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator, Room service and Telephone. Room Size: 240 square feet / 22 square meters.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Room service
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Monterey Surf Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

36.5884 -121.8987
Area served
Monterey.
Nearby airports
San Jose International Airport (SJC)
Area description
Situated in Monterey, this hotel is close to Monterey Museum of Art-Pacific Street, Fisherman's Wharf, and Dennis the Menace Park. Also nearby are Maritime Museum and Monterey Museum of Art-La Mirada.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (31)

Ratings and reviews for Monterey Surf Inn

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 31
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monterey Surf Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Miricalhen
Pleasanton, Ca.
Feb 10, 2014

disappointed

advertised free breakfast. Has been discontinued. Provide coffee and hot water for tea and chocolate mix only from 6 to 8. Small styrofoam cups with no lids to take to room. Spilled coffee remained on floor for most of each morning. No one in office, would respond only if you rang bell. No shower caps. One very small shampoo for 2 guests. No lotion. Rooms clean and fairly quiet. Pillows past replacement time. Location was very good for our trip to the area. Large number of motels in same location. Will try others in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Sardine Factory-expensive but worth it for service and quality.

Review of Monterey Surf Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
265 Troon Way, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Jul 21, 2014

Place not prepared for guest

We came to Monterey to attend a wedding . We called in advance to arrange early check-in. But never received a return call. When we arrived we arrived our room wasn't ready. We asked to use a bathroom or some space we could change for the wedding. The person at the hotel said we could go to the motel next door. They had rooms available at the same price. We made a quick check of the other room and agreed to take the room. We were in a hurry to change and get to the wedding. The replacement room was missing pillow cases. We changed quickly and left.i When we returned to the room we started to notice the condition of the room. There were paint scrapes on the wall in several spots. A lampshade was cracked. There were no extra towels. The bathtub plug didn't work. One of the towels was damp from prior use( not from us ) and it had been used. There wa lipstick and makeup on the towel. The room was not in the condition you would expect ifor almost $200 a night. We never got the opportunity to use the Monterey Surf Inn

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Monterey Surf Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anncopie
old town fl
Jan 20, 2014

Okay but we probably wouldn't do it again

Clean but other than that it was not too great and we would not stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Monterey Surf Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Unhappy Wanderer
San Francisco, California
Jul 25, 2014

Misleading Motel Info: No Breakfast; No Room Service

This place was a disappointment. Despite some recent renovations, there was evidence everywhere of neglect and decay. The pool had visible broken concrete on the bottom. Free breakfast was advertised; it did not exist. Room service did not exist: just an ad for restaurants which would deliver there goods, for a price. After the 1st night, our room keys stopped working. This was treated as an ordinary thing. It was not. I did feel welcomed or well served. Its 3 stars should have been 2, maximum.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Cheap, cheap, cheap. Despite the inflated price, the money was not spent on the facility. The ice machine was old and noisy. There was a piece of broken concrete under part of the refrigerator, to attempt to balance it. And the TV had NO public TV stations!

Review of Monterey Surf Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tough Mudder2012
Central Valley
May 26, 2013

Just a room for the night

This is just a "Run if the mill" hotel. There was never anybody at the desk, you had to ring a bell. The room was very small. You took two steps into the room and you were on the bed. The bathroom door was spring loaded. Who does this? Don't even think about using the pool! It was dirty and right off the main road.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Monterey Surf Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Debmeister
Fresno, CA
Jan 13, 2014

Cheap and Clean

Checking in, the front desk girl had a very thick accent and broken English. I had difficultly understanding her. She did not know direction/distance of attractions in town, such as Cannery Row. Amenities? Soap and a tiny bottle of shampoo/conditioner combination (Pantene, which was good). The heating/cooling unit in the room was right against one of the beds, so I was in fear of leaving the heat on very long, lest it set the bedspread or curtains on fire. The TV remote didn't work. No coffee maker in the room.There was no Continental Breakfast as advertised on my confirmation receipt. The only reason I would stay there again is because it was very affordable, and very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Sardine Factory near Cannery Row. "Play Misty For Me" was partly filmed here. "Big Mike" the bartender has been there for 30 years. This place is worth seeing! David, the Piano Man, plays 5 nights a week, Tues. thru. Sat. Ask him to Play Misty for you.

Review of Monterey Surf Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MaryEB
Milwaukee, WI
Jun 28, 2013

Nothing to "write home about"

I liked the location as it was within walking distance (1.5 miles) of downtown, fisherman's wharf, etc. The guy at the desk said very few words to me...both when I arrived and when I checked out. There was a spot to put my key and when I put mine in, the guy didn't even look up or say anything. I said, I'm checking out, and he said "ok, thanks" but barely looked at me. I asked for a receipt and he gave me a carbon copy of the thing I filled out when I arrived...minimal effort on his part. The "free breakfast" was nothing at all - just coffee and donuts from what I can tell. The hotel offered the bare minimum in all categories...even the pool is very small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

farmers market on Tuesday night

Review of Monterey Surf Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PBAOA
Pacific Northwest
Mar 27, 2013

NO LAMPS?!!

Although the cleaning staff were hard-working women, and the rooms were pretty clean, the office area was filthy .. windows dirty, wet rags on the ground. The rooms have lights up in the ceiling but no floor lamps and NO BEDSIDE LAMPS so a person could lie in bed and read. In all my hundreds of stays in (even cheap grade) motels on three continents, I've never seen such a weird thing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Monterey Surf Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anncopie
old town fl
Jan 19, 2014

Most Importantly it was clean.

First stay and we would stay again and we appreciate being able to do this easily on line.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Monterey Surf Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
D.L.H.
Business
San Diego, CA
Dec 22, 2012

Good value for the Price.

Good location and price. Room was bare minimum but clean. Needs nicer blankets but overall if you are just looking for someplace to sleep and shower-it works.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top