$49 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 1, 2014 Check-out: Oct 2, 2014

Monterey Surf Inn

3 stars
1200 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
35 reviews
Great room for a low price!

This was a really great, cute room near all the Monterey attractions. Very clean room and a great... See full review

  • Erkel on Vacation
  • Jul 8, 2014
Great location

Easy access. Clean. Overall good deal. Close to mall. See full review

  • kayitatraveler
  • Jul 1, 2014
Monterey hotel with an seasonal outdoor Heated pool.Fisherman's Wharf nearby Situated in Monterey, this hotel is close to Monterey Museum of Art-Pacific Street, Fisherman's Wharf, and Dennis the Menace Park. Also nearby are Maritime Museum and Monterey Museum of Art-La Mirada. Outdoor pool. In addition to complimentary high-speed (wired) Internet access, Monterey Surf Inn provides complimentary wireless Internet access, laundry facilities, and free parking. Desks, ergonomic chairs All guestrooms feature beds with pillow-top mattresses, microwaves, and refrigerators. Other amenities include air conditioning and ergonomic chairs. Amenity - Smoke Free Hotel.

Hotel Map

36.5884 -121.8987
Area served
Monterey.
Nearby airports
San Jose International Airport (SJC)
Area description
Situated in Monterey, this hotel is close to Monterey Museum of Art-Pacific Street, Fisherman's Wharf, and Dennis the Menace Park. Also nearby are Maritime Museum and Monterey Museum of Art-La Mirada.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Monterey Surf Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Monterey Surf Inn Rooms

One King Bed Non Smoking
One King Bed Non Smoking with king bed includes Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator, Room service and Telephone. Room Size: 240 square feet / 22 square meters.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Room service
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (35)

Ratings and reviews for Monterey Surf Inn

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 35
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.7

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monterey Surf Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dudley001ca
Victoria, BC, Canada
Dec 6, 2013

Just Average.

Room was clean, water volume limiters on faucets and no plug for a bath. Water Awareness Signs. Stay was just OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Surf Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tmack9
concord
Dec 2, 2013

comfortable experience

good location near downtown Monterey. Single story motel meant no one above disturbing our rest. Was surprised to wake up the next day and find out a family of 4 was right next to us yet we didn't hear a thing. For the money, a great and peaceful value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Patiesseree coffee house next to the Monterey Post Office is well worth the morning walk for coffee.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Surf Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Margaret Tavare
Business
Monterey, CA
Nov 6, 2013

Simple but Nice

I stayed at the Monterey Surf Inn for two nights. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Quiet, clean and adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Surf Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
fall trip 2013
Los Angeles
Nov 4, 2013

OK for the good location

Ok for the price. Frig had a leak that was absorbed by a towel underneath. No coffee pot in room. A bit of a dangerous step down from parking area to room. A very convenient location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Surf Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Barbie3012
Monterey ca.
Sep 8, 2013

Good for price!!!

Close to cannery row! Clean and quiet! Not much customer service but overall I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Surf Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MaryEB
Milwaukee, WI
Jul 28, 2013

not very friendly

the place was mediocre at best and the guy behind the desk was not very engaging...hardly said a word when I checked in and didn't even look up from his reading materials when I checked out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice resale/consignment shop near by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Surf Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MaryEB
Milwaukee, WI
Jun 28, 2013

Nothing to "write home about"

I liked the location as it was within walking distance (1.5 miles) of downtown, fisherman's wharf, etc. The guy at the desk said very few words to me...both when I arrived and when I checked out. There was a spot to put my key and when I put mine in, the guy didn't even look up or say anything. I said, I'm checking out, and he said "ok, thanks" but barely looked at me. I asked for a receipt and he gave me a carbon copy of the thing I filled out when I arrived...minimal effort on his part. The "free breakfast" was nothing at all - just coffee and donuts from what I can tell. The hotel offered the bare minimum in all categories...even the pool is very small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

farmers market on Tuesday night

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Surf Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tough Mudder2012
Central Valley
May 26, 2013

Just a room for the night

This is just a "Run if the mill" hotel. There was never anybody at the desk, you had to ring a bell. The room was very small. You took two steps into the room and you were on the bed. The bathroom door was spring loaded. Who does this? Don't even think about using the pool! It was dirty and right off the main road.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Surf Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
adri51289
Stockton, Ca
May 17, 2013

Great room at a great price!

Booked this hotel for one night. Very close to shopping and all the places we wanted to go. Room was very clean. Clearly the room had been recently remodeled which was nice. Only thing that made me give this place a four instead of a five was that the lady at the front desk asked me for my credit card. When I gave it to her I specifically asked if she would be putting a hold on it, to which she replied no. Well, when I walked out of the front office I immediately received a chase alert on my phone saying she had charged me $20. So I went back and asked her about it and she said yes they authorize $20 for security reasons but it would come off in two days. It's not the $20 that bothered me it's the fact that I asked if she was going to authorize funds on my card and she said no. But anyway, overall very good place to stay. They even have some breakfast snacks you can eat in the morning which really was a life saver for me because I woke up feeling sick, but once I got some food in my system though, I was ready for the day! Would stay here again, definitely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a very nice shopping mall called Del Monte shopping center within walking distance of this hotel. About one block away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Surf Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
love2bike
Davis, CA
Apr 8, 2013

A weekend away

Hotel was very plain, and the amenities were the bare minimum. Staff was not welcoming, but short and to the point. Good location, but I expected a bit more for the price I paid, and i could have gotten more at other places for the price I paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search