$39 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 8, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

Monterey Surf Inn

3 stars
1200 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
41 reviews
Excellent Affordable Option

The room was perfect and location was ideal, really great choice for an excellent price! See full review

  • Gerry 51
  • Nov 3, 2014
Nice getaway.

We were very please at this motel. Nice, clean and we were surprise with the wood flooring. It... See full review

  • Bluebird10
  • Sep 30, 2014
Monterey hotel with an seasonal outdoor Heated pool.Fisherman's Wharf nearby Situated in Monterey, this hotel is close to Monterey Museum of Art-Pacific Street, Fisherman's Wharf, and Dennis the Menace Park. Also nearby are Maritime Museum and Monterey Museum of Art-La Mirada. Outdoor pool. In addition to complimentary high-speed (wired) Internet access, Monterey Surf Inn provides complimentary wireless Internet access, laundry facilities, and free parking. Desks, ergonomic chairs All guestrooms feature beds with pillow-top mattresses, microwaves, and refrigerators. Other amenities include air conditioning and ergonomic chairs. Amenity - Smoke Free Hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Monterey Surf Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Monterey Surf Inn Rooms

One King Bed Non Smoking
One King Bed Non Smoking with king bed includes Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Modem / data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator, Room service and Telephone. Room Size: 240 square feet / 22 square meters.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Room service
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (41)

Ratings and reviews for Monterey Surf Inn

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monterey Surf Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
265 Troon Way, Half Moon Bay, CA 94019
Jul 21, 2014

Place not prepared for guest

We came to Monterey to attend a wedding . We called in advance to arrange early check-in. But never received a return call. When we arrived we arrived our room wasn't ready. We asked to use a bathroom or some space we could change for the wedding. The person at the hotel said we could go to the motel next door. They had rooms available at the same price. We made a quick check of the other room and agreed to take the room. We were in a hurry to change and get to the wedding. The replacement room was missing pillow cases. We changed quickly and left.i When we returned to the room we started to notice the condition of the room. There were paint scrapes on the wall in several spots. A lampshade was cracked. There were no extra towels. The bathtub plug didn't work. One of the towels was damp from prior use( not from us ) and it had been used. There wa lipstick and makeup on the towel. The room was not in the condition you would expect ifor almost $200 a night. We never got the opportunity to use the Monterey Surf Inn

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Surf Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Erkel on Vacation
Business
Orange, CA
Jul 8, 2014

Great room for a low price!

This was a really great, cute room near all the Monterey attractions. Very clean room and a great experience overall. We'll be back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Surf Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kayitatraveler
Business
San leandro
Jul 1, 2014

Great location

Easy access. Clean. Overall good deal. Close to mall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Surf Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Roger O.
Business
Santa Cruz, CA
Jun 13, 2014

Good location with clean rooms

Very nice place to stay near the water and shopping centers. Good value and would stay again without question.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Surf Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
I am biz traveller
Business
San Diego, CA
Jun 13, 2014

last minute biz trip

Perfect accommodation for my purpose. Arrived late in the evening, the room was comfortable, clean, conveniently located, and quiet. I was surprised to find such a nice and inexpensive accommodation to be had in Monterey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Surf Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RVSystems
Business
Laguna Beach, CA
Jun 3, 2014

Comfortable Hotel, Staff needs work

Easy check in, but no receipt provided. Staff gruff, but convened all necessary info (no smoking, no pets). Room had been recently renovated, hardwood floors and tile in bath. Okay stay no extras however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Surf Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nhey
Business
san jose, ca
Apr 26, 2014

Great value

- The room was comfortable. - Wifi was decent and free. - The location close to the main attractions (wharfs, Aquarium, malls, restaurants, freeways), short driving distance to all of them. - Setting was not loud from neighbors or traffic - Parking was sufficient. Didn't get to check out the swimming pool. Would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Surf Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hacker
Business
Manteca, CA.
Mar 28, 2014

Over night stay

The room was decent, and clean, though the shower curtain was close to falling off the wall. It met my needs for one night. Would have liked to have a coffee maker in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

It's easy to get to and from all the local attractions in Monterey and the surrounding area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Surf Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Montereyan
Business
Monterey California
Mar 15, 2014

loss some extra's

Place is the same as in 2009 but no more continental breakfast. Tea and coffee only. Could use some better tv channels too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Shopping mall just about next door. Other type shopping not far away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Surf Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
soccer8701
Business
Oakley, Ca
Feb 22, 2014

Decent place and decent stay

Decent place to stay and nothing to complain about. Would stay again to get a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top