$209 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 8, 2015 Check-out: Jun 10, 2015

Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

4 stars
View map of 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
195 reviews
Road trip

Great location. We will be back again to enjoy this very nice hotel. See full review

  • Dean H.
  • May 20, 2015
Quick Trip

My boyfriend and I drove up the coast for a little getaway and we loved this hotel. Great spot.... See full review

  • Jill S.
  • Apr 6, 2015
One of only 160 Forbes Four Star hotels in the U.S.

Prepare to be entranced. Monterey Plaza Hotel and Spa perches guests above scenic Monterey Bay in elegant, European-inspired style architecture and décor. Enjoy sweeping coastal views from the rooftop Vista Blue Spa or two oceanfront restaurants. Location, amenities, and service combine to earn Monterey Plaza the only Forbes Four Star award in Monterey, and one of only 160 hotels in the entire U.S.

Highlights
  • 2010 - 2014 Forbes Four Star designation
  • Full service rooftop, oceanfront spa
  • Fitness center
Rooms

The 290 non-smoking deluxe guestrooms, including 10 spacious suites, are stylishly appointed with classic Biedermeier-style furniture, decorator fabrics, duvet bed coverings, a custom-designed refreshment center, and ceiling fan. Many rooms offer a private balcony with views of the ocean, hotel gardens, or Cannery Row. In-room entertainment includes a 27-inch flat screen television with On Command video system. A personal writing desk, coffee maker and complimentary coffee and refrigerator complete the room.


Large marble bathrooms offer separate vanity area, plush terry robes, hairdryer, and complimentary Gilchrist & Soames personal bath amenities.

Features

Full-service Vista Blue Spa, located above tranquil Monterey Bay, takes its views from its rooftop setting. Spa treatments focus on comfort and relaxation, recharging the body, renewing the spirit, and reviving the senses. The spa's fitness center features Cybex aerobic and Keiser weight-lifting equipment and experienced trainers. A light spa lunch is available.

 

Varied dining options are available at two waterfront restaurants, Schooners Coastal Kitchen and Bar, as well as the European-style Cafe La Strada, and even the Vista Blue Spa. Schooners, winner of Monterey County's "Best Margarita" and "Best Specialty Drink," features indoor/outdoor seating year-round. Schooners Coastal Kitchen and Bar offers innovative American cuisine and room service is available from its menu. Cafe La Strada is an oceanside pizza-style coffee house with indoor/outdoor seating.

 

Guests may enjoy a close encounter with local marine animals in the tide pools just outside the hotel, or enjoy a chance sighting of the seals, otters, and other sea creatures cavorting offshore.

Transportation
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport/ San Jose International Airport (108 mi/173.8 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Maritime Museum (0.8 mi/1.3km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center offers computers, printers and high-speed Internet access
  • 10 conference rooms can accommodate up to 300
Policies and fees

  • The resort fee costs $27 USD per room, per night includes valet parking with 24 hour in and out privileges, spa facility access for guests ages 18 and older and high-speed Internet access in the room.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa Rooms

STANDARD - GUEST_ROOM
With a view of historic Cannery Row, the recreational trail or Crispo Terrace, this spacious 400 square foot guestroom features beautiful European style furnishings, a king size feather bed, high-speed internet, in-room movies, bathrobes, hairdryer, minibar, and Gilchrist & Soames bath products.
LUXURY - GUEST_ROOM
Enjoy spectacular views of Monterey Bay or the historic harbor from your picture window. This room also features beautiful European style furnishings, a king size or two queen size feather beds, high-speed internet, in-room movies, bathrobes, hairdryer, minibar, and Gilchrist & Soames bath products.
PREMIUM - GUEST_ROOM
Enjoy inspired views of Monterey Bay and the historic harbor. These luxurious rooms feature private balconies, perfect for enjoying Monterey's famous sea life. You will also enjoy beautiful European style furnishings, one king size feather bed, high-speed internet, in-room movies, bathrobes, hairdryer, minibar, and Gilchrist & Soames bath products.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Monterey Plaza's ten conference and banquet rooms provide more than 17,000 square feet of indoor meeting space that can accommodate groups of 10 to 300 for meetings, conferences, banquets and private parties. In addition, the Hotel's Outdoor Plaza and Terrace, overlooking the Bay, can host groups up to 600.

Dining

Cafe La Strada
Our piazza-style oceanside cafe is the place to start your morning with the rich flavor of freshly roasted Peet's Coffee and artisan pastries. Enjoy specialty sandwiches, amazing desserts, gelato and more, all made daily on the premises. Outdoor seating at the Monterey Plaza Hotel's Dolphins fountain on the plaza offers a relaxed, friendly atmosphere with great service and stunning views of Monterey Bay and Mt. Toro. Open daily at 6:00AM
Schooners Coastal Kitchen and Bar
Schooners Coastal Kitchen and Bar, residing in the Monterey Plaza Hotel and Spa overlooking Monterey Bay, is a stunning restaurant featuring approachable, contemporary American coastal cuisine and sustainable seafood. Suspended over the waters of Monterey Bay, Schooners Coastal Kitchen and Bar is in the ideal location for celebrating the Central Coast and the spectacular ocean front region. Executive Chef Waller's commitment to fresh, high quality, sustainable seafood is reflected in the creative menu which features a variety of seafood options, both raw and cooked, as well as appetizers, soups, salads, large platters meant for sharing, entrees, wood-fired dishes, and selection of decadent desserts. A creative cocktail menu is served alongside an impressive wine list featuring Monterey County vintners, California wines and international vintages. The high-energy bar, bustling open kitchen, and crowded outdoor patio personifies a relaxed, fun and joyous atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 AM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
120 out of 195
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cmattbeach
Business
Windsor, california
Feb 28, 2012

Not what you would expect.

We spent over $500 for a room that had an ocean view with a balcony. The balcony had two chairs but it was so small you had to step over the table to sit in the second one. The ocean view was of the ocean between the hotel and the other brick wall. Yes you saw ocean but no you didn't see much of it. We also had a problem with the loud music all night. If this hotel was $200 a night maybe it would be worth it but at the price we paid I can't recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
VC traveler
Business
Menlo Park, CA
Jun 2, 2014

Beware hidden fees

We booked this hotel for an anniversary getaway from the kids. Two issues. First, the hotel imposed a $27 additional "resort fee" that was never disclosed to us, so the quoted price is false. "No surprises! No fees at check-in." No truth. Second, no matter how great the view was, neither my wife nor I slept well on the bed. It just not very comfortable and both of has a restless night and an achy day the next day. Would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
relegated
Business
concord,ca
May 3, 2010

Not All That

I was more than a little disappointed to learn that our room was not in the hotel at all but across the street at what they call the "Executive building". So we were effectively relegated to an average room in a building with no view to speak of. In addition, the bed was way too soft. I could not sleep well at all because of the lack of support and woke up with an aching back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
relegated
Business
concord,ca
May 3, 2010

Not All That

I was more than a little disappointed to learn that our room was not in the hotel at all but across the street at what they call the "Executive building". So we were effectively relegated to an average room in a building with no view to speak of. In addition, the bed was way too soft. I could not sleep well at all because of the lack of support and woke up with an aching back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Andrew DSJ.
Business
San Jose, Ca
Nov 21, 2012

Average place. A little too expensive, but possibly the best choice for fist time in Monterey.

They have a $50 resort fee and a $200 incidental fee. If you have it on a debit card and you're running low on funds, it could hurt you like me. Other than the monetary stuff, it's a nice place. Right by the ocean, Rooms are a little small for the price but comfy and very clean. We got a room with our own little courtyard with about 8 other rooms which was really nice. Staff is very courteous and helpful. I rate it 3 stars as it is average and the hidden fees, but it's the nicest stay i've had in Monterey to date. So 3 stars for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Surrey UK
Jan 2, 2010

A bit tired

The hotel was a little tired and outdated. Would not go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Paso Robles, CA
Jul 12, 2011

Disappointed

I generally spend around $100-$150 on a hotel room. It was my birthday and I had a travel bonus from work so I thought I'd splurge and get a real nice room. I was very disappointed. It was an average size room, clean and comfortable. Exactly like the rooms I pay $100-150 for. It wasn't anything special. It didn't have any view to speak of as we were put on the back side of the hotel. The bathroom had no window or exhaust fan making it ackward to share and by the time two showers were taken, the bathroom was a wet steam room. The staff was friendly, and valet was quick to retrieve our car, but I won't stay here again for the price I paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Just Fun Early 30s
Business
Huntington Beach, California
Sep 26, 2014

Location dictates price, not hotel

wasn't too impressed by the services or amenities the hotel had to offer (for the price we paid). but the location was unbeatable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bad back Blake
Business
Mountain View, CA
Jan 2, 2014

so-so

The staff and service were excellent. The view is wonderful. The room itself was relatively small, the bathroom had a shower only, no bath tub. the water pressure in the shower was virtually non existent. The king size bed had a very soft mattress. Not very comfortable for somebody with a bad back. The pillows too were too soft. the room fridge was empty. There was an extra charge of about $25 to stock it. I was expecting a more comfortable room for the price I paid. The food in the hotel restaurant was ,medium quality and overpriced for what was offered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JohnBesta
Business
Tustin, CA
Jan 26, 2014

January 2014

This was our first time staying at this property and we were more than pleased. The customer service compared with other top hotels in the US.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top