$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 18, 2014 Check-out: Dec 19, 2014

Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

4 stars
400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
180 reviews
Weekend getaway

This is the best hotel in Monterey. Centrally located with great amenities and fantastic ocean... See full review

  • Dimi traveler
  • Dec 4, 2014
Bay Sounds

Room 1222 not only faces the water but is directly over the water, with great sunrises and views of... See full review

  • Pacific NW Traveler
  • Oct 26, 2014
One of only 160 Forbes Four Star hotels in the U.S.

Prepare to be entranced. Monterey Plaza Hotel and Spa perches guests above scenic Monterey Bay in elegant, European-inspired style architecture and décor. Enjoy sweeping coastal views from the rooftop Vista Blue Spa or two oceanfront restaurants. Location, amenities, and service combine to earn Monterey Plaza the only Forbes Four Star award in Monterey, and one of only 160 hotels in the entire U.S.

Highlights
  • 2010 Forbes Four Star designation
  • Full service rooftop, oceanfront spa
  • Fitness center
Rooms

The 290 non-smoking deluxe guestrooms, including 10 spacious suites, are stylishly appointed with classic Biedermeier-style furniture, decorator fabrics, duvet bed coverings, a custom-designed refreshment center, and ceiling fan. Many rooms offer a private balcony with views of the ocean, hotel gardens, or Cannery Row. In-room entertainment includes a 27-inch flat screen television with On Command video system. A personal writing desk, coffee maker and complimentary coffee, wet bar and refrigerator complete the room.

 

Large marble bathrooms offer separate vanity area, plush terry robes, hairdryer, and complimentary Gilchrist & Soames personal bath amenities.

Features

Full-service Vista Blue Spa, located above tranquil Monterey Bay, takes its views from its rooftop setting. Spa treatments focus on comfort and relaxation, recharging the body, renewing the spirit, and reviving the senses. The spa's fitness center features Cybex aerobic and Keiser weight-lifting equipment and experienced trainers. A light spa lunch is available.

 

Varied dining options are available at two waterfront restaurants, Schooners Bistro on the Bay and the Duck Club Grill, as well as the European-style Café La Strada, and even the Vista Blue Spa. Schooners, winner of Monterey County's "Best Margarita" and "Best Specialty Drink," features indoor/outdoor seating year-round. Duck Club Grill offers innovative American cuisine and room service is available from its menu. Café La Strada is an oceanside pizza-style coffee house with indoor/outdoor seating.

 

Guests may enjoy a close encounter with local marine animals in the tide pools just outside the hotel, or enjoy a chance sighting of the seals, otters, and other sea creatures cavorting offshore.

Transportation
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport/ San Jose International Airport (108 mi/173.8 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Maritime Museum (0.8 mi/1.3km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center is staffed during the day offers computers, printers and high-speed Internet access
  • 10 conference rooms can accommodate up to 300
Policies and fees

  • Effective 09 September 2013, the resort fee will increase from $25 to $27.  This change will affect reservations booked 09 September 2013 onwards. The resort fee charge per room, per night includes valet parking with 24 hour in and out privileges, spa facility access for guests ages 18 and older and high-speed Internet access in the room.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa Rooms

STANDARD - GUEST_ROOM
With a view of historic Cannery Row, the recreational trail or Crispo Terrace, this spacious 400 square foot guestroom features beautiful European style furnishings, a king size feather bed, high-speed internet, in-room movies, bathrobes, hairdryer, minibar, and Gilchrist & Soames bath products.
LUXURY - GUEST_ROOM
Enjoy spectacular views of Monterey Bay or the historic harbor from your picture window. This room also features beautiful European style furnishings, a king size or two queen size feather beds, high-speed internet, in-room movies, bathrobes, hairdryer, minibar, and Gilchrist & Soames bath products.
PREMIUM - GUEST_ROOM
Enjoy inspired views of Monterey Bay and the historic harbor. These luxurious rooms feature private balconies, perfect for enjoying Monterey's famous sea life. You will also enjoy beautiful European style furnishings, one king size feather bed, high-speed internet, in-room movies, bathrobes, hairdryer, minibar, and Gilchrist & Soames bath products.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Cafe La Strada
Our piazza-style oceanside cafe is the place to start your morning with the rich flavor of freshly roasted Peet's Coffee and artisan pastries. Enjoy specialty sandwiches, amazing desserts, gelato and more, all made daily on the premises. Outdoor seating at the Monterey Plaza Hotel's Dolphins fountain on the plaza offers a relaxed, friendly atmosphere with great service and stunning views of Monterey Bay and Mt. Toro. Open daily at 6:00AM
Schooners Coastal Kitchen and Bar
Schooners Coastal Kitchen and Bar, residing in the Monterey Plaza Hotel and Spa overlooking Monterey Bay, is a stunning restaurant featuring approachable, contemporary American coastal cuisine and sustainable seafood. Suspended over the waters of Monterey Bay, Schooners Coastal Kitchen and Bar is in the ideal location for celebrating the Central Coast and the spectacular ocean front region. Executive Chef Waller's commitment to fresh, high quality, sustainable seafood is reflected in the creative menu which features a variety of seafood options, both raw and cooked, as well as appetizers, soups, salads, large platters meant for sharing, entrees, wood-fired dishes, and selection of decadent desserts. A creative cocktail menu is served alongside an impressive wine list featuring Monterey County vintners, California wines and international vintages. The high-energy bar, bustling open kitchen, and crowded outdoor patio personifies a relaxed, fun and joyous atmosphere.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Monterey Plaza's ten conference and banquet rooms provide more than 17,000 square feet of indoor meeting space that can accommodate groups of 10 to 300 for meetings, conferences, banquets and private parties. In addition, the Hotel's Outdoor Plaza and Terrace, overlooking the Bay, can host groups up to 600.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (180)

Ratings and reviews for Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
180 out of 180
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Southern California
May 8, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Wonderful Location. We had a great time!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Foothills
Business
Northern California
Jul 24, 2010

Very Nice Hotel

We stayed at the Plaza Hotel for our 25th Anniversary. From the moment we arrived the staff from the parking attendants to the front desk staff were freindly and very helpful. We were upgraded due to the fact that our room wasn't ready and not charged. The front desk also had a baggage clerk take us to view the room. They young man was fantastic and gave us a history tour of the hotel on the way to the room. The room itself was very clean with a fantastic view of the Monterey Bay!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
AZ
Aug 10, 2009

Beautiful hotel with large price tag

Do not get a massage at the spa. I frequent many different spa locations often and find the therapists to be inexperienced. The prices are on the high end for the service you receive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, Wa
Jun 10, 2011

mid week get away

Great hotel. Very nice staff. close to cannery row and fishermans pier. Great for couple get away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doublebak
Business
San Francisco
Dec 10, 2010

Perfect location, friendly service

Just stayed one night, but it's perfect for a short stay in Monterey - on the water, near the Aquarium, friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Monterey Bay Aquarium

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vista CA.
Jan 26, 2010

Elegant furnishings.

We visited many of the shops and tourist sites which where easy to access because of the location. The atomoshere and friendly staff helped us feel welcomed. Maybe the only thing we did not use was the spa area, mainly because we were not sure of what we could use and what was available but other than that we had a very enjoyable experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Iowa
Jul 17, 2011

In-Between

We spent one week at the Monterey Plaza Hotel and Spa. We were very pleased with the beauty of the lobby, the setting on the ocean, and the size and cleanliness of the room. We found two exellent,nearby breakfast spots within an easy walk: the Trail Side which gives a full breakfast menu, beautiful view, and delicous food and La Strada - excellent pastries and coffees. TWO NEGATIVES: the Plaza is situated away from all the shops & restaurants of Carmel so we were always getting into our car which required a call ahead for the valet to bring up our car. Also, the concierge service is terrible, almost non-existent. The young people at the valet desk are friendly and try to help, but a hotel of this nature and expense needs to provide better service. We felt we missed some of the special areas because of this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
maaritaan
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 24, 2014

Royal, old school hotel. Falling back in time.

We didn't realize that this hotel would be a very old, traditional royal type of hotel until we got there. Many of the people staying were oer 40 and being a couple in the late twenties, we felt out of place.. We were very excited about going to the spa (jacuzzi), but that didn't happen. It was packed with the over 40s people mingling and talking to each other. We couldn't get the quiet spa moment we were excited for. The hotel rooms were very clean and amenities were good. There are only 2 restaurants/cafes in the hotel. The views of the ocean and waters from the plaza is outstanding if you are in luck with the weather. I highly recommend going to the nearby local restaurants than going to the ones in the hotel. Of course, as always, those places are overpriced!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mt View
Business
Mountain View, CA
Jun 23, 2014

Beautiful location!

Went here for a girls getaway weekend and had a fabulous time. The rooms were clean and tastefully appointed. We really enjoyed the hot tubs on the spa deck as well as the Vista Blue spa....both made for a relaxing experience. Our brunch at Schooners (onsite restaurant) was also very tasty!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Restaurant 1833 was amazing and certainly much better than our expectations! It had a hipper vibe than we expected, the food was delicious and the service was truly top notch. Would definitely dine there again!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jrock99
Business
Chico, ca
Jul 2, 2014

Romantic getaway

Beautiful location, great views and within walking distance to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top