$195 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 10, 2014 Check-out: Sep 11, 2014

Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

4 stars
400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
175 reviews
Cannery Row Perfection

Very lovely property walking distance from the Aquarium. Beautiful views of the bay and of cannery... See full review

  • High Maintenance Mom
  • Aug 25, 2014
Fabulous for anyone!

We loved this hotel all around! The staff was amazing & helpful. Room was clean & comfy! See full review

  • Sake58
  • Aug 21, 2014
Relax on the water's edge at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. Dramatically perched over the Monterey Bay and located on historic Cannery Row, the Plaza is the perfect place to enjoy the gentle sounds of the surf, the fresh scent of sea air and all of the activities that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. The only Mobil Four Star rated hotel in Monterey, the Plaza welcomes you with its warm Mediterranean ambiance and its legendary personalized service. While here, enjoy our roof-top Vista Blue Spa, the European-style Cafe La Strada, and our newly renovated waterfront restaurants, Schooners Coastal Kitchen and Bar. Resort Fee: $25 resort fee charge per room, per night and includes valet parking with 24 hour in and out privileges, spa facility access guests ages 18 and older and high speed internet access in the room.

Hotel Map

36.6123 -121.8982
Area served
Closest Public Transport:
Nearby airports
MRY -- Monterey Peninsula Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa Rooms

STANDARD - GUEST_ROOM
With a view of historic Cannery Row, the recreational trail or Crispo Terrace, this spacious 400 square foot guestroom features beautiful European style furnishings, a king size feather bed, high-speed internet, in-room movies, bathrobes, hairdryer, minibar, and Gilchrist & Soames bath products.
LUXURY - GUEST_ROOM
Enjoy spectacular views of Monterey Bay or the historic harbor from your picture window. This room also features beautiful European style furnishings, a king size or two queen size feather beds, high-speed internet, in-room movies, bathrobes, hairdryer, minibar, and Gilchrist & Soames bath products.
PREMIUM - GUEST_ROOM
Enjoy inspired views of Monterey Bay and the historic harbor. These luxurious rooms feature private balconies, perfect for enjoying Monterey's famous sea life. You will also enjoy beautiful European style furnishings, one king size feather bed, high-speed internet, in-room movies, bathrobes, hairdryer, minibar, and Gilchrist & Soames bath products.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Cafe La Strada
Our piazza-style oceanside cafe is the place to start your morning with the rich flavor of freshly roasted Peet's Coffee and artisan pastries. Enjoy specialty sandwiches, amazing desserts, gelato and more, all made daily on the premises. Outdoor seating at the Monterey Plaza Hotel's Dolphins fountain on the plaza offers a relaxed, friendly atmosphere with great service and stunning views of Monterey Bay and Mt. Toro. Open daily at 6:00AM
Schooners Coastal Kitchen and Bar
Schooners Coastal Kitchen and Bar, residing in the Monterey Plaza Hotel and Spa overlooking Monterey Bay, is a stunning restaurant featuring approachable, contemporary American coastal cuisine and sustainable seafood. Suspended over the waters of Monterey Bay, Schooners Coastal Kitchen and Bar is in the ideal location for celebrating the Central Coast and the spectacular ocean front region. Executive Chef Waller's commitment to fresh, high quality, sustainable seafood is reflected in the creative menu which features a variety of seafood options, both raw and cooked, as well as appetizers, soups, salads, large platters meant for sharing, entrees, wood-fired dishes, and selection of decadent desserts. A creative cocktail menu is served alongside an impressive wine list featuring Monterey County vintners, California wines and international vintages. The high-energy bar, bustling open kitchen, and crowded outdoor patio personifies a relaxed, fun and joyous atmosphere.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Monterey Plaza's ten conference and banquet rooms provide more than 17,000 square feet of indoor meeting space that can accommodate groups of 10 to 300 for meetings, conferences, banquets and private parties. In addition, the Hotel's Outdoor Plaza and Terrace, overlooking the Bay, can host groups up to 600.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (175)

Ratings and reviews for Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
175 out of 175
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JinxIe
San Jose, CA, USA
Oct 31, 2011

Very nice hotel!

nice hotel to stay at Monterey with a great location. Will have to pay $25 resort fee, but that includes wi-fi and valet parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento, CA
Jan 30, 2011

Fabulous Couples weekend

We have stayed here before. We would say spend the extra money for a garden or ocean room. We stayed in basic town view and ended up on the backside against houses and there was a loud mariachi party going on..the hotel looked into and ended up moving us but where they moved us to was on the main street over the service entrance so we woke up to garbage trucks and people coming to work..but overall it is a great and comfortable hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

We went to Carmel by the Sea and went shopping and had a great time. small and quaint and nice walking around. The Carmel mission was okay but nothing fabulous as other missions...Lovers Point beautiful!

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA, USA
Apr 3, 2012

Well kept property in the midst of Cannery Row

nice hotel/resort in Monterey. Cannery Row was a bit too touristy for our tastes (catering to a mass audience with mediocre restaurants and shops) but this hotel attempts to offer a higher degree of accommodations and service and succeeds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

C Restaurant at the Intercontinental is an oasis in the honky tonk Cannery Row

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wendy Golfer
Fremont, CA
Jun 29, 2009

Weekend golf getaway

We enjoy golfing in the Monterey area and since we have tee times two days in a row we decided to spend the night at the Monterey Plaza even though our drive home is only about 1.5 hours. Since our stay was only for one night we booked a cheaper room with an inland (cannery row) view. Unfortunately the room does not have air conditioning and soon became very warm and stuffy. Our only solution is to open the sliding glass door to the balcony, but noise from the street forced us to close the door after a while and needless to say we did not have a comfortable night's sleep. The room itself was fine though nothing to write home about, but the service at the hotel and restaurant was great. Hotel is in an ideal location within walking distance of the wharf, aquarium, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Several four star restaurants within 1 to 20 miles, eg. Fresh Cream, Passion Fish, Marinus, L'Auberge Carmel, etc.

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Scotts Valley
Jan 7, 2011

Great Location

The Plaza is a beautiful hotel and in a great location. The staff were extremely helpful which just added to enjoyment of the trip. We were sorry the Duck Club was not open as we heard good things about the restaurant but there were many other places to choose from so all was not lost. Overall, we spent a great two days at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doublebak
San Francisco
Dec 10, 2010

Perfect location, friendly service

Just stayed one night, but it's perfect for a short stay in Monterey - on the water, near the Aquarium, friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Monterey Bay Aquarium

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe Golf
San Ramon, CA
Jul 5, 2014

The perfect Monterey Get-away

We love this hotel for it's great staff, super location and very nice rooms. Located on Cannery Row within walking distance to the Monterey Bay Aquarium and nearby shopping, the hotel provides fabulous access to the bay with alfresco dining options for morning coffee or afternoon tea. An incredible location for weddings and other celebrations. It's always like coming home when we visit here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Ask the bell captain for discount savings at local eateries and shops.

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, ca
Jan 10, 2011

Monterey getaway

We wish we could have stayed longer but the hotel and room were beautiful and we got a free upgrade!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dlepay
Business
Florida
Feb 5, 2010

Scenic, exquisite and comfortable…

The Monterey Plaza Hotel is a beautiful oceanfront hotel that has view, comfort, class with a friendly, helpful, and well-trained staff. It combines what we East Coasters look for in a CA resort hotel… chic laidback elegance delivered by a staff that genuinely seems to care about your stay. My check-out experience typifies the staff's training and care. The attendant that delivered my car to me asked if I needed directions and suggested a better route than my GPS had plotted for that time of the day. It is always the little things that make the difference from average to great. Having said the above I am disappointed that the hotel imposed an additional UNDISCLOSED $25.00 Resort Fee per night. [...] In fairness to the hotel the fee covers valet, internet and other fees up-charged by other hotels. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The seafood is excellent.

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco
Apr 25, 2010

Not ready for check in when promised

We were there for the Big Sur marathon so it was very busy and hectic in Monterey. This hotel is great--very very good service EXCEPT that we were told our room would be ready at 4pm when we checked in at 3pm and it wasn't ready until 4:20, so after a long drive we had to wait. Yes they offered us two free drinks at their restaurant, but how can a hotel that has a 12 noon check out not have rooms ready 4 hours later (plus we don't drink)?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: In Hotel

I didn't know that the resort fee includes valet parking so I wasted a few bucks on parking meters. Prepare to pay $25 for the resort fee. The gym is beautiful although the equipment is a little limited.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search