$229 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2015 Check-out: Apr 21, 2015

Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

4 stars
View map of 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
186 out of 186
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fatmessi
Business
Mexico city
Feb 21, 2013

Good romántico getaway

It was satisfactory , nice view, near restaurante and acuarium.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Belgium
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 12, 2013

Husband and wife get away 25 years

Room extremely comfortable and clean. Comfortable restaurant in hotel, staff most of all helpful, professional and friendly. Would highly recommended. Only lost item was a pool for swimming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Loulous for lunch or dinner small diner like but food fabulous on Wharf 2 For out of towners cooler than I expected jacket and long pants you may bring

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jmeyer
Business
East bay
Jun 10, 2013

Great weekend getaway

Great staff and excellent service. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant inside hotel was awesome right on the water and very family friendly

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Highway 1 Traveler
Business
Evanston, IL
Jun 8, 2013

well located, beautiful views

We enjoyed our brief stay here. There are beautiful views and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Soso super lady
Business
San Jose
Dec 4, 2013

Very nice and cozy hotel to stay in

I really recommend this hotel for nice and cozy stays.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bigjack65
Business
San Antonio, Texas
May 29, 2014

Perfect Monterey Stay

All the staff was helpful and polite, room was roomy and comfortable....food at schooners was great and the views from this hotel are incredible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Carmel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NickiB and co
Business
Australia
May 28, 2014

Great hotel - shame about resort fee

We had a wonderful stay with our 2 kids, aged 5 and 8. They were warmly welcomed by the staff, provided a gift bag and made to feel very much at home in this lovely hotel. The location was great for visiting the aquarium and the views from the patio area were divine. My only complaint is the Resort Fee at $27. This is not a resort but chooses to charge guests for services. Sure we used the parking, but we did not use the phone and were not even allowed to visit the spa with kids, so it seemed a bit unfair to me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Log onto Yelp and claim a free pastry with your coffee each morning from the coffee shop next door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dlepay
Business
Florida
Feb 5, 2010

Scenic, exquisite and comfortable…

The Monterey Plaza Hotel is a beautiful oceanfront hotel that has view, comfort, class with a friendly, helpful, and well-trained staff. It combines what we East Coasters look for in a CA resort hotel… chic laidback elegance delivered by a staff that genuinely seems to care about your stay. My check-out experience typifies the staff's training and care. The attendant that delivered my car to me asked if I needed directions and suggested a better route than my GPS had plotted for that time of the day. It is always the little things that make the difference from average to great. Having said the above I am disappointed that the hotel imposed an additional UNDISCLOSED $25.00 Resort Fee per night. [...] In fairness to the hotel the fee covers valet, internet and other fees up-charged by other hotels. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The seafood is excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
US Open fan
Business
Santa Barbara
Jun 22, 2010

Weekend in Monterey

Great staff. Nice restaurant. Location, location, location. Walk to all Monterey has to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kamuela, Hawaii
Oct 18, 2010

Monterey plaza hotel

We had a wonderful trip. We had a seminar in Carmel so we could of spent more time in Monterey. Fantastic location! A bit on the expensive side but very good service at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top