$239 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2015 Check-out: Sep 16, 2015

Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

4 stars
View map of 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
183 out of 183
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rob916
Couples
Sacramento, California
Nov 5, 2012

Perfect Quick Getaway From Sacramento

We just had one night, didn't want to drive far and needed to see the ocean. The hotel is larger than I thought and the views were very nice. The sound of the ocean's waves and tourist distant laughs from canery row were a surprisingly pleasant combination with the windows open. Kind of felt European. Clean, nice furniture, great staff and near lots of activities we hit real quick before running back to Sacramento.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CJ03
Family
Los Angeles
Dec 2, 2012

Nice hotel and nice location

Staff was friendly, hotel is beautiful and sits right on the water, so the views are beautiful as well. Hotel restaurant was good, but a little pricey ($16 dollars for fish and chips and $7 for a bowl of clam chowder) the chowder was especially delicious. The aquarium is probably a 8-10 minute walk from the hotel. But only about 5 minutes to the north part of the main canary row area with all the restaurants and shops (the aquarium is at the end of that street). The only thing to be aware of is the $25 dollar per night resort fee (tax) in addition to the booking price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Aquarium is about a 8-10 minute walk away.

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Robininfresno
Couples
Monterey
Dec 24, 2012

Beautiful hotel

The only reason I did not give this 5 stars across the board is we could easily hear the neighboring room and we woke up to the noise a couple of times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SouthernTransplant
Single
LA, CA
Jan 1, 2013

Perk Search

A great hotel but be warned that the walk between the "newer" building and the check-in desk is substantial. The bell desk frequently seems overwhelmed so offered no help in finding my room. Additionally, there was a shuttle service provided by the hotel that my restaurant told me about - no one at the hotel informed me about when I asked for a cab. It would behoove you to be your own advocate at this otherwise fine hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Memphis Traveler
Couples
Memphis, TN
Jan 2, 2013

Perfect spot

The hotel was conveniently located on Cannery Row. The view from the restaurant looked over Monterey Bay which was great for watching seals, otters, and dolphins at breakfast. Valet parking was included in the room price. The bar and restaurant were good including good coffee with room service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go early and beat the crowd at the Aquarium.

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mohrle
Couples
Berkeley, California
Jan 15, 2013

Beautiful Escape

A beautiful place with minor flaws, e.g., no coffee lounge, no down pillows, very long walks from elevators (it took 2 to get to our room), shower heads that cannot be regulated, no computer room at no charge. But the location is perfect, the views beautiful, the service a 12 on a scale of 1-10!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The most beautiful walk on the Monterey Peninsula is along the Pacific in Pacific Grove. See the butterflies, too, from October to March, and eat at The Fishwife, on the road to Asilomar.

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fatmessi
Couples
Mexico city
Feb 21, 2013

Good romántico getaway

It was satisfactory , nice view, near restaurante and acuarium.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Belgium
Family
Boston, MA
Jul 12, 2013

Husband and wife get away 25 years

Room extremely comfortable and clean. Comfortable restaurant in hotel, staff most of all helpful, professional and friendly. Would highly recommended. Only lost item was a pool for swimming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Loulous for lunch or dinner small diner like but food fabulous on Wharf 2 For out of towners cooler than I expected jacket and long pants you may bring

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jmeyer
Family
East bay
Jun 10, 2013

Great weekend getaway

Great staff and excellent service. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant inside hotel was awesome right on the water and very family friendly

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Highway 1 Traveler
Couples
Evanston, IL
Jun 8, 2013

well located, beautiful views

We enjoyed our brief stay here. There are beautiful views and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top