$269 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

4 stars
400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
248 reviews
Quality all around

We had a wonderful time. The place was wonderful! The location was perfect, about half way between... See full review

  • Tom and Shannon
  • Jul 1, 2014
25 wedding anniversary

Couldnt have wished for a better place to spend our 25 wedding anniversary. The room was beautiful... See full review

  • Beattie
  • Jun 28, 2014
One of only 160 Forbes Four Star hotels in the U.S.

Prepare to be entranced. Monterey Plaza Hotel and Spa perches guests above scenic Monterey Bay in elegant, European-inspired style architecture and décor. Enjoy sweeping coastal views from the rooftop Vista Blue Spa or two oceanfront restaurants. Location, amenities, and service combine to earn Monterey Plaza the only Forbes Four Star award in Monterey, and one of only 160 hotels in the entire U.S.

Highlights
  • 2010 Forbes Four Star designation
  • Full service rooftop, oceanfront spa
  • Fitness center
Rooms

The 290 non-smoking deluxe guestrooms, including 10 spacious suites, are stylishly appointed with classic Biedermeier-style furniture, decorator fabrics, duvet bed coverings, a custom-designed refreshment center, and ceiling fan. Many rooms offer a private balcony with views of the ocean, hotel gardens, or Cannery Row. In-room entertainment includes a 27-inch flat screen television with On Command video system. A personal writing desk, coffee maker and complimentary coffee, wet bar and refrigerator complete the room.

 

Large marble bathrooms offer separate vanity area, plush terry robes, hairdryer, and complimentary Gilchrist & Soames personal bath amenities.

Features

Full-service Vista Blue Spa, located above tranquil Monterey Bay, takes its views from its rooftop setting. Spa treatments focus on comfort and relaxation, recharging the body, renewing the spirit, and reviving the senses. The spa's fitness center features Cybex aerobic and Keiser weight-lifting equipment and experienced trainers. A light spa lunch is available.

 

Varied dining options are available at two waterfront restaurants, Schooners Bistro on the Bay and the Duck Club Grill, as well as the European-style Café La Strada, and even the Vista Blue Spa. Schooners, winner of Monterey County's "Best Margarita" and "Best Specialty Drink," features indoor/outdoor seating year-round. Duck Club Grill offers innovative American cuisine and room service is available from its menu. Café La Strada is an oceanside pizza-style coffee house with indoor/outdoor seating.

 

Guests may enjoy a close encounter with local marine animals in the tide pools just outside the hotel, or enjoy a chance sighting of the seals, otters, and other sea creatures cavorting offshore.

Transportation
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport/ San Jose International Airport (108 mi/173.8 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Maritime Museum (0.8 mi/1.3km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center is staffed during the day offers computers, printers and high-speed Internet access
  • 10 conference rooms can accommodate up to 300
Policies and fees

  • Effective 09 September 2013, the resort fee will increase from $25 to $27.  This change will affect reservations booked 09 September 2013 onwards. The resort fee charge per room, per night includes valet parking with 24 hour in and out privileges, spa facility access for guests ages 18 and older and high-speed Internet access in the room.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

36.6123 -121.8982
Area served
Closest Public Transport:
Nearby airports
MRY -- Monterey Peninsula Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa Rooms

STANDARD - GUEST_ROOM
With a view of historic Cannery Row, the recreational trail or Crispo Terrace, this spacious 400 square foot guestroom features beautiful European style furnishings, a king size feather bed, high-speed internet, in-room movies, bathrobes, hairdryer, minibar, and Gilchrist & Soames bath products.
LUXURY - GUEST_ROOM
Enjoy spectacular views of Monterey Bay or the historic harbor from your picture window. This room also features beautiful European style furnishings, a king size or two queen size feather beds, high-speed internet, in-room movies, bathrobes, hairdryer, minibar, and Gilchrist & Soames bath products.
PREMIUM - GUEST_ROOM
Enjoy inspired views of Monterey Bay and the historic harbor. These luxurious rooms feature private balconies, perfect for enjoying Monterey's famous sea life. You will also enjoy beautiful European style furnishings, one king size feather bed, high-speed internet, in-room movies, bathrobes, hairdryer, minibar, and Gilchrist & Soames bath products.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Monterey Plaza's ten conference and banquet rooms provide more than 17,000 square feet of indoor meeting space that can accommodate groups of 10 to 300 for meetings, conferences, banquets and private parties. In addition, the Hotel's Outdoor Plaza and Terrace, overlooking the Bay, can host groups up to 600.

Dining

Cafe La Strada
Our piazza-style oceanside cafe is the place to start your morning with the rich flavor of freshly roasted Peet's Coffee and artisan pastries. Enjoy specialty sandwiches, amazing desserts, gelato and more, all made daily on the premises. Outdoor seating at the Monterey Plaza Hotel's Dolphins fountain on the plaza offers a relaxed, friendly atmosphere with great service and stunning views of Monterey Bay and Mt. Toro. Open daily at 6:00AM
Schooners Coastal Kitchen and Bar
Schooners Coastal Kitchen and Bar, residing in the Monterey Plaza Hotel and Spa overlooking Monterey Bay, is a stunning restaurant featuring approachable, contemporary American coastal cuisine and sustainable seafood. Suspended over the waters of Monterey Bay, Schooners Coastal Kitchen and Bar is in the ideal location for celebrating the Central Coast and the spectacular ocean front region. Executive Chef Waller's commitment to fresh, high quality, sustainable seafood is reflected in the creative menu which features a variety of seafood options, both raw and cooked, as well as appetizers, soups, salads, large platters meant for sharing, entrees, wood-fired dishes, and selection of decadent desserts. A creative cocktail menu is served alongside an impressive wine list featuring Monterey County vintners, California wines and international vintages. The high-energy bar, bustling open kitchen, and crowded outdoor patio personifies a relaxed, fun and joyous atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (248)

Ratings and reviews for Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
248 out of 248
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Paso Robles, CA
Jul 12, 2011

Disappointed

I generally spend around $100-$150 on a hotel room. It was my birthday and I had a travel bonus from work so I thought I'd splurge and get a real nice room. I was very disappointed. It was an average size room, clean and comfortable. Exactly like the rooms I pay $100-150 for. It wasn't anything special. It didn't have any view to speak of as we were put on the back side of the hotel. The bathroom had no window or exhaust fan making it ackward to share and by the time two showers were taken, the bathroom was a wet steam room. The staff was friendly, and valet was quick to retrieve our car, but I won't stay here again for the price I paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Surrey UK
Jan 2, 2010

A bit tired

The hotel was a little tired and outdated. Would not go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Andrew DSJ.
San Jose, Ca
Nov 21, 2012

Average place. A little too expensive, but possibly the best choice for fist time in Monterey.

They have a $50 resort fee and a $200 incidental fee. If you have it on a debit card and you're running low on funds, it could hurt you like me. Other than the monetary stuff, it's a nice place. Right by the ocean, Rooms are a little small for the price but comfy and very clean. We got a room with our own little courtyard with about 8 other rooms which was really nice. Staff is very courteous and helpful. I rate it 3 stars as it is average and the hidden fees, but it's the nicest stay i've had in Monterey to date. So 3 stars for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Foothills
Northern California
Jul 24, 2010

Very Nice Hotel

We stayed at the Plaza Hotel for our 25th Anniversary. From the moment we arrived the staff from the parking attendants to the front desk staff were freindly and very helpful. We were upgraded due to the fact that our room wasn't ready and not charged. The front desk also had a baggage clerk take us to view the room. They young man was fantastic and gave us a history tour of the hotel on the way to the room. The room itself was very clean with a fantastic view of the Monterey Bay!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mohrle
Berkeley, California
Jan 15, 2013

Beautiful Escape

A beautiful place with minor flaws, e.g., no coffee lounge, no down pillows, very long walks from elevators (it took 2 to get to our room), shower heads that cannot be regulated, no computer room at no charge. But the location is perfect, the views beautiful, the service a 12 on a scale of 1-10!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The most beautiful walk on the Monterey Peninsula is along the Pacific in Pacific Grove. See the butterflies, too, from October to March, and eat at The Fishwife, on the road to Asilomar.

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marshall Lee Canyon
Manteca
Mar 18, 2014

One night family getaway on the Bay

Overall it is hard to complain. The sound of the ocean and the comfort of the room and the great staff. In my case, a little unique, I had a couple kids and grandkids and much to our dismay there was no pool nor mention that the hot tubs were off limit to under 18. Just not a family place. Very excellent for a romantic getaway, but again, the spa tubs and out door fireplace closes at 9PM. That's too early for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lizabeta
San Francisco, CA, USA
Apr 9, 2012

Great location and cozy place to stay

Staying at Monterey Plaza Hotel was a very pleasant experience! We had all our needs met when needed to request a crib for our two year old baby, a bottle warmer, extra blankets etc. Its rooms have a warm interior design and are very clean. The location is great and is very close to the bay aquarium and stores and restaurants. What makes the hotel unique is its big outdoor area with the fountain and wonderful views of the bay. It is great for its price and I would definitely suggest it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a great playing area for children called Dennis the Menace right next to s lake and it is definitely worth visiting if having children.

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco
Apr 25, 2010

Not ready for check in when promised

We were there for the Big Sur marathon so it was very busy and hectic in Monterey. This hotel is great--very very good service EXCEPT that we were told our room would be ready at 4pm when we checked in at 3pm and it wasn't ready until 4:20, so after a long drive we had to wait. Yes they offered us two free drinks at their restaurant, but how can a hotel that has a 12 noon check out not have rooms ready 4 hours later (plus we don't drink)?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: In Hotel

I didn't know that the resort fee includes valet parking so I wasted a few bucks on parking meters. Prepare to pay $25 for the resort fee. The gym is beautiful although the equipment is a little limited.

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
busy mom
Rowland Heights
Jul 25, 2010

Buisness and pleasure trip

Went to the aquarium and walked around Cannery row.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
xoxoxox
San Diego, CA
Oct 7, 2012

Beautiful Hotel

Greatly enjoyed the decor and views. The staff was very gracious and helpful. THe ocean views spectacular. Running path the best is all my travels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

ocean

Back to menu Return to top