$229 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

4 stars
400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
250 reviews
Quality all around

We had a wonderful time. The place was wonderful! The location was perfect, about half way between... See full review

  • Tom and Shannon
  • Jul 1, 2014
25 wedding anniversary

Couldnt have wished for a better place to spend our 25 wedding anniversary. The room was beautiful... See full review

  • Beattie
  • Jun 28, 2014
One of only 160 Forbes Four Star hotels in the U.S.

Prepare to be entranced. Monterey Plaza Hotel and Spa perches guests above scenic Monterey Bay in elegant, European-inspired style architecture and décor. Enjoy sweeping coastal views from the rooftop Vista Blue Spa or two oceanfront restaurants. Location, amenities, and service combine to earn Monterey Plaza the only Forbes Four Star award in Monterey, and one of only 160 hotels in the entire U.S.

Highlights
  • 2010 Forbes Four Star designation
  • Full service rooftop, oceanfront spa
  • Fitness center
Rooms

The 290 non-smoking deluxe guestrooms, including 10 spacious suites, are stylishly appointed with classic Biedermeier-style furniture, decorator fabrics, duvet bed coverings, a custom-designed refreshment center, and ceiling fan. Many rooms offer a private balcony with views of the ocean, hotel gardens, or Cannery Row. In-room entertainment includes a 27-inch flat screen television with On Command video system. A personal writing desk, coffee maker and complimentary coffee, wet bar and refrigerator complete the room.

 

Large marble bathrooms offer separate vanity area, plush terry robes, hairdryer, and complimentary Gilchrist & Soames personal bath amenities.

Features

Full-service Vista Blue Spa, located above tranquil Monterey Bay, takes its views from its rooftop setting. Spa treatments focus on comfort and relaxation, recharging the body, renewing the spirit, and reviving the senses. The spa's fitness center features Cybex aerobic and Keiser weight-lifting equipment and experienced trainers. A light spa lunch is available.

 

Varied dining options are available at two waterfront restaurants, Schooners Bistro on the Bay and the Duck Club Grill, as well as the European-style Café La Strada, and even the Vista Blue Spa. Schooners, winner of Monterey County's "Best Margarita" and "Best Specialty Drink," features indoor/outdoor seating year-round. Duck Club Grill offers innovative American cuisine and room service is available from its menu. Café La Strada is an oceanside pizza-style coffee house with indoor/outdoor seating.

 

Guests may enjoy a close encounter with local marine animals in the tide pools just outside the hotel, or enjoy a chance sighting of the seals, otters, and other sea creatures cavorting offshore.

Transportation
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport/ San Jose International Airport (108 mi/173.8 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Maritime Museum (0.8 mi/1.3km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center is staffed during the day offers computers, printers and high-speed Internet access
  • 10 conference rooms can accommodate up to 300
Policies and fees

  • Effective 09 September 2013, the resort fee will increase from $25 to $27.  This change will affect reservations booked 09 September 2013 onwards. The resort fee charge per room, per night includes valet parking with 24 hour in and out privileges, spa facility access for guests ages 18 and older and high-speed Internet access in the room.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

36.6123 -121.8982
Area served
Closest Public Transport:
Nearby airports
MRY -- Monterey Peninsula Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa Rooms

STANDARD - GUEST_ROOM
With a view of historic Cannery Row, the recreational trail or Crispo Terrace, this spacious 400 square foot guestroom features beautiful European style furnishings, a king size feather bed, high-speed internet, in-room movies, bathrobes, hairdryer, minibar, and Gilchrist & Soames bath products.
LUXURY - GUEST_ROOM
Enjoy spectacular views of Monterey Bay or the historic harbor from your picture window. This room also features beautiful European style furnishings, a king size or two queen size feather beds, high-speed internet, in-room movies, bathrobes, hairdryer, minibar, and Gilchrist & Soames bath products.
PREMIUM - GUEST_ROOM
Enjoy inspired views of Monterey Bay and the historic harbor. These luxurious rooms feature private balconies, perfect for enjoying Monterey's famous sea life. You will also enjoy beautiful European style furnishings, one king size feather bed, high-speed internet, in-room movies, bathrobes, hairdryer, minibar, and Gilchrist & Soames bath products.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Cafe La Strada
Our piazza-style oceanside cafe is the place to start your morning with the rich flavor of freshly roasted Peet's Coffee and artisan pastries. Enjoy specialty sandwiches, amazing desserts, gelato and more, all made daily on the premises. Outdoor seating at the Monterey Plaza Hotel's Dolphins fountain on the plaza offers a relaxed, friendly atmosphere with great service and stunning views of Monterey Bay and Mt. Toro. Open daily at 6:00AM
Schooners Coastal Kitchen and Bar
Schooners Coastal Kitchen and Bar, residing in the Monterey Plaza Hotel and Spa overlooking Monterey Bay, is a stunning restaurant featuring approachable, contemporary American coastal cuisine and sustainable seafood. Suspended over the waters of Monterey Bay, Schooners Coastal Kitchen and Bar is in the ideal location for celebrating the Central Coast and the spectacular ocean front region. Executive Chef Waller's commitment to fresh, high quality, sustainable seafood is reflected in the creative menu which features a variety of seafood options, both raw and cooked, as well as appetizers, soups, salads, large platters meant for sharing, entrees, wood-fired dishes, and selection of decadent desserts. A creative cocktail menu is served alongside an impressive wine list featuring Monterey County vintners, California wines and international vintages. The high-energy bar, bustling open kitchen, and crowded outdoor patio personifies a relaxed, fun and joyous atmosphere.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Monterey Plaza's ten conference and banquet rooms provide more than 17,000 square feet of indoor meeting space that can accommodate groups of 10 to 300 for meetings, conferences, banquets and private parties. In addition, the Hotel's Outdoor Plaza and Terrace, overlooking the Bay, can host groups up to 600.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (250)

Ratings and reviews for Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
250 out of 250
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fab
New York, NY
Jul 24, 2010

great value for money

Probably one of the best hotels we've been to, and for at least half the price of better known hotels. Staff is great and very helpful, for an extra 25$ (which I believe you need to pay), you get the valet service and unlimited internet in your room, as well as the spa and fitness center access. So not a rip off. If I get the chance, I will definitely return!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Feb 17, 2008

Great Romantic Getaway

We stayed in a room overlooking the ocean, with balcony, and gorgeous views of Monterey Bay. The service and staff were excellent. Restaurant on site is one of the best in the area. The hotel is expensive compared to other options in the area but well worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Monterey Bay Aquarium is nearby, shops on Cannery Row. Carmel only a short drive away.

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bay Area, California
Jun 1, 2010

Great hotel...fantastic location!

The hotel was great...right at the beginning of Cannery Row...perfect location to walk to the wharf or down the Row. The service was excellent and the hotel was beautiful. Every thing about the room was great. Schooner's restaurant is one of the only places on Cannery Row with a large outdoor patio, which was beautiful (and the fish & ships were delicious!). We will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bealamb
San Mateo
Jun 13, 2013

Simply Outstanding!

Customer service just couldn't be beat! From the moment we arrived and the valet helped us with the car and luggage to checkout, we were treated like royalty. We ordered room service for one of our dinners and one morning for breakfast, and while the cost was a bit pricey ( but what room service isn't) the meal was delicious, hot, and delivered quicker then expected. Such a wonderful experience! Hotel was spotless and the location was wonderful. You won't be disappointed staying here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of the stores close when the aquarium closes-around 6 pm.

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minnesota
Jul 29, 2010

WOW! It's even better than it sounds!

This hotel was fabulous -- and I am very particular. The service was exceptional. There is a shuttle service that is practically instantaneous -- in a Mercedes SUV, no less. The location is in the heart of all the best of Monterey. The only down side for our stay was the street noise because there happened to be a motorcycle event that weekend (July 23), but it settled down by 10:00. There is a $25/day resort fee that we didn't know about, but it included parking, valet, shuttle, and spa access (not special services, though)so we thought it was worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Myrtle Beach, NC
Sep 23, 2009

Simply the Best

Rooms right on beautiful Monterey Bay. Unsurpassed views, restaurants and services at a reasonable price. Very warm and inviting atmosphere. From decor to service to location, simply the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Jose, CA
May 16, 2011

Beautiful and in a wonderful location!

Checked in on a Saturday morning. Although check-in time is normally 4:00pm, the hotel accomodated our early arrival and had a room ready for us! We purchased Monterey Bay Aquarium tickets at the front desk and were please when the price was the same as the aquarium's adult price, but you get an extra consecutive day free! The aquarium is about a 10-15 minute walk from the hotel. The bed was very comfortable! I did not toss and turn all night like I usually do at other hotels. My boyfriend and I were amazed at the views from the hotel!!! We watched the sunset and were very content with our hotel selection, because that moment made it all worth it. Absolutely beautiful! Although Portola hotel is my favorite, I would stay here again next time I visit Moneterey, because of the location and amazing views. It is between Cannery Row and Fisherman's Wharf, so it is right in the middle of everything. Location and view wise, it doesn't get any better than this for the reasonable price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bistro Moulin is very close by (about a 15 minute walk). It is right next to the aquarium. It is a wonderful little French restaurant. Make reservations or else you will wait 45min-1hour!!!!

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
san francisco,ca
Dec 31, 2010

wonderful place to live in

the view of the hotel is really good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LKLC
Jonesboro AR
Jun 14, 2014

Beautiful and perfectly located

Everything I expected it to be. Staff was very helpful and pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Mission Ranch Restaurant is a must go location. Big Sur drive, 17 mile Drive, Carmel and Monterey are must see. BEAUTIFUL!

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Burlingame, CA
May 4, 2011

Excellent experience at Monterey Plaza

This hotel is the best on Cannery Row[...] I got a great rate. I upgraded to an ocean view for an additional $50, which was well worth it. Very beautiful hotel, lobby, etc. The view of Monterey Bay, and the sound of the ocean make for a very pleasant experience. The restaurant sits out over the water, where I had breakfast twice, which was very good also. The staff at the front desk was excellent. Very friendly and helpful. There is a $20 resort fee, which includes valet parking and free wi-fi connection.I stay here every time I can. During busy times or weekends the price can increase dramatically, so when I can get in for $200 a night, it is truly a bargain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top