$269 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

4 stars
400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
247 reviews
Quality all around

We had a wonderful time. The place was wonderful! The location was perfect, about half way between... See full review

  • Tom and Shannon
  • Jul 1, 2014
25 wedding anniversary

Couldnt have wished for a better place to spend our 25 wedding anniversary. The room was beautiful... See full review

  • Beattie
  • Jun 28, 2014
One of only 160 Forbes Four Star hotels in the U.S.

Prepare to be entranced. Monterey Plaza Hotel and Spa perches guests above scenic Monterey Bay in elegant, European-inspired style architecture and décor. Enjoy sweeping coastal views from the rooftop Vista Blue Spa or two oceanfront restaurants. Location, amenities, and service combine to earn Monterey Plaza the only Forbes Four Star award in Monterey, and one of only 160 hotels in the entire U.S.

Highlights
  • 2010 Forbes Four Star designation
  • Full service rooftop, oceanfront spa
  • Fitness center
Rooms

The 290 non-smoking deluxe guestrooms, including 10 spacious suites, are stylishly appointed with classic Biedermeier-style furniture, decorator fabrics, duvet bed coverings, a custom-designed refreshment center, and ceiling fan. Many rooms offer a private balcony with views of the ocean, hotel gardens, or Cannery Row. In-room entertainment includes a 27-inch flat screen television with On Command video system. A personal writing desk, coffee maker and complimentary coffee, wet bar and refrigerator complete the room.

 

Large marble bathrooms offer separate vanity area, plush terry robes, hairdryer, and complimentary Gilchrist & Soames personal bath amenities.

Features

Full-service Vista Blue Spa, located above tranquil Monterey Bay, takes its views from its rooftop setting. Spa treatments focus on comfort and relaxation, recharging the body, renewing the spirit, and reviving the senses. The spa's fitness center features Cybex aerobic and Keiser weight-lifting equipment and experienced trainers. A light spa lunch is available.

 

Varied dining options are available at two waterfront restaurants, Schooners Bistro on the Bay and the Duck Club Grill, as well as the European-style Café La Strada, and even the Vista Blue Spa. Schooners, winner of Monterey County's "Best Margarita" and "Best Specialty Drink," features indoor/outdoor seating year-round. Duck Club Grill offers innovative American cuisine and room service is available from its menu. Café La Strada is an oceanside pizza-style coffee house with indoor/outdoor seating.

 

Guests may enjoy a close encounter with local marine animals in the tide pools just outside the hotel, or enjoy a chance sighting of the seals, otters, and other sea creatures cavorting offshore.

Transportation
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport/ San Jose International Airport (108 mi/173.8 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Maritime Museum (0.8 mi/1.3km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center is staffed during the day offers computers, printers and high-speed Internet access
  • 10 conference rooms can accommodate up to 300
Policies and fees

  • Effective 09 September 2013, the resort fee will increase from $25 to $27.  This change will affect reservations booked 09 September 2013 onwards. The resort fee charge per room, per night includes valet parking with 24 hour in and out privileges, spa facility access for guests ages 18 and older and high-speed Internet access in the room.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa Rooms

STANDARD - GUEST_ROOM
With a view of historic Cannery Row, the recreational trail or Crispo Terrace, this spacious 400 square foot guestroom features beautiful European style furnishings, a king size feather bed, high-speed internet, in-room movies, bathrobes, hairdryer, minibar, and Gilchrist & Soames bath products.
LUXURY - GUEST_ROOM
Enjoy spectacular views of Monterey Bay or the historic harbor from your picture window. This room also features beautiful European style furnishings, a king size or two queen size feather beds, high-speed internet, in-room movies, bathrobes, hairdryer, minibar, and Gilchrist & Soames bath products.
PREMIUM - GUEST_ROOM
Enjoy inspired views of Monterey Bay and the historic harbor. These luxurious rooms feature private balconies, perfect for enjoying Monterey's famous sea life. You will also enjoy beautiful European style furnishings, one king size feather bed, high-speed internet, in-room movies, bathrobes, hairdryer, minibar, and Gilchrist & Soames bath products.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

36.6123 -121.8982
Area served
Closest Public Transport:
Nearby airports
MRY -- Monterey Peninsula Airport

Dining

Cafe La Strada
Our piazza-style oceanside cafe is the place to start your morning with the rich flavor of freshly roasted Peet's Coffee and artisan pastries. Enjoy specialty sandwiches, amazing desserts, gelato and more, all made daily on the premises. Outdoor seating at the Monterey Plaza Hotel's Dolphins fountain on the plaza offers a relaxed, friendly atmosphere with great service and stunning views of Monterey Bay and Mt. Toro. Open daily at 6:00AM
Schooners Coastal Kitchen and Bar
Schooners Coastal Kitchen and Bar, residing in the Monterey Plaza Hotel and Spa overlooking Monterey Bay, is a stunning restaurant featuring approachable, contemporary American coastal cuisine and sustainable seafood. Suspended over the waters of Monterey Bay, Schooners Coastal Kitchen and Bar is in the ideal location for celebrating the Central Coast and the spectacular ocean front region. Executive Chef Waller's commitment to fresh, high quality, sustainable seafood is reflected in the creative menu which features a variety of seafood options, both raw and cooked, as well as appetizers, soups, salads, large platters meant for sharing, entrees, wood-fired dishes, and selection of decadent desserts. A creative cocktail menu is served alongside an impressive wine list featuring Monterey County vintners, California wines and international vintages. The high-energy bar, bustling open kitchen, and crowded outdoor patio personifies a relaxed, fun and joyous atmosphere.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Monterey Plaza's ten conference and banquet rooms provide more than 17,000 square feet of indoor meeting space that can accommodate groups of 10 to 300 for meetings, conferences, banquets and private parties. In addition, the Hotel's Outdoor Plaza and Terrace, overlooking the Bay, can host groups up to 600.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (247)

Ratings and reviews for Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
247 out of 247
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ariana04
Tracy, California
Apr 19, 2013

Perfect

We had a awesome expirence, everyone was so nice and welcoming, the dinning the lower floor was awesome the staff was great. And the ocean view from are room was amazing. We would defananitly go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
VC traveler
Menlo Park, CA
Jun 2, 2014

Beware hidden fees

We booked this hotel for an anniversary getaway from the kids. Two issues. First, the hotel imposed a $27 additional "resort fee" that was never disclosed to us, so the quoted price is false. "No surprises! No fees at check-in." No truth. Second, no matter how great the view was, neither my wife nor I slept well on the bed. It just not very comfortable and both of has a restless night and an achy day the next day. Would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gaynol
Bainbridge Island, WA
Sep 14, 2011

Horrible Experience

This was a family trip for us to celebrate my mom's birthday. We were really looking forward to our time in Monterey and were excited to be staying at the Monterey Plaza Hotel. That's why it was so terribly disappointing to have our stay go so badly. Our first night, I have no complaints. Our rooms overlooked the dolphin plaza and out onto Monterey Bay. This is truly and beautiful view and we left our windows open all night so we could listen to the surf and the seals barking. Saturday night was a nightmare. There was a large wedding out on the plaza and we were quite relieved when the noise stopped and the participants moved inside. But that was just the beginning. Once the music started our rooms were turned into a dance club. The noise level was so high that we could here the disc jockey and every song they were playing. I kept calling down to the front desk and they kept promising to contact banquets and get them to reduce the volume but that never happened. As it got closer to 10pm and my calls were getting more irate the front desk switched to "well, the music will stop at 10." The music did stop at 10 but then the participants spilled back out on to the plaza and we were treated to screaming kids and drunks for the next several hours. Now, obviously, you can't blame people for enjoying their wedding and whopping it up. But I do blame the hotel for renting out those rooms over the banquet hall when they knew far in advanced that a wedding was booked directly below. We had such a short time in Monterey and I really feel that the hotel disregarded our concerns and certainly did not provided us with the experience that we payed for. I can't in good conscience recommend that anyone stay here. It's a beautiful building, and a wonderful location but if you're there when there is a party or convention, you're just going to have to live with noise. This hotel doesn't seem to value the individual traveler or family as much as it's banquet and convention business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cmattbeach
Windsor, california
Feb 28, 2012

Not what you would expect.

We spent over $500 for a room that had an ocean view with a balcony. The balcony had two chairs but it was so small you had to step over the table to sit in the second one. The ocean view was of the ocean between the hotel and the other brick wall. Yes you saw ocean but no you didn't see much of it. We also had a problem with the loud music all night. If this hotel was $200 a night maybe it would be worth it but at the price we paid I can't recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gaynol
Bainbridge Island, WA
Sep 14, 2011

Horrible Experience

This was a family trip for us to celebrate my mom's birthday. We were really looking forward to our time in Monterey and were excited to be staying at the Monterey Plaza Hotel. That's why it was so terribly disappointing to have our stay go so badly. Our first night, I have no complaints. Our rooms overlooked the dolphin plaza and out onto Monterey Bay. This is truly and beautiful view and we left our windows open all night so we could listen to the surf and the seals barking. Saturday night was a nightmare. There was a large wedding out on the plaza and we were quite relieved when the noise stopped and the participants moved inside. But that was just the beginning. Once the music started our rooms were turned into a dance club. The noise level was so high that we could here the disc jockey and every song they were playing. I kept calling down to the front desk and they kept promising to contact banquets and get them to reduce the volume but that never happened. As it got closer to 10pm and my calls were getting more irate the front desk switched to "well, the music will stop at 10." The music did stop at 10 but then the participants spilled back out on to the plaza and we were treated to screaming kids and drunks for the next several hours. Now, obviously, you can't blame people for enjoying their wedding and whopping it up. But I do blame the hotel for renting out those rooms over the banquet hall when they knew far in advanced that a wedding was booked directly below. We had such a short time in Monterey and I really feel that the hotel disregarded our concerns and certainly did not provided us with the experience that we payed for. I can't in good conscience recommend that anyone stay here. It's a beautiful building, and a wonderful location but if you're there when there is a party or convention, you're just going to have to live with noise. This hotel doesn't seem to value the individual traveler or family as much as it's banquet and convention business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
relegated
concord,ca
May 3, 2010

Not All That

I was more than a little disappointed to learn that our room was not in the hotel at all but across the street at what they call the "Executive building". So we were effectively relegated to an average room in a building with no view to speak of. In addition, the bed was way too soft. I could not sleep well at all because of the lack of support and woke up with an aching back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vacation Mom 816
Monterey, California
Aug 16, 2013

Hoped for something awesome

The hotel check-in, valet, amenities, restaurant, beds, outdoor plaza, etc. are very, very nice. And would have been definitely worth the premium price (and 2-night minimum) we paid. HOWEVER, although we paid for an ocean view room, we got a view of ocean water on the bay side, AND a view of a horribly run-down, smelly, vacant (except for the many birds perching on/around it) building next door. I will try to upload a picture of what they don't show you in their brochure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Scenic Route around the peninsula was so, so beautiful. We did this prior to doing the 17-Mile Drive and were very glad we did. We also enjoyed downtown Carmel very much.

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gaol
Eugene, Oregon
Mar 4, 2013

Description

I made a reservation for this hotel, and the room description is One King Bed Room. Actually, there is two small beds room when I got in. So, the fact does not correspond with the description. To be honest, it is not deserve for $270 per night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Surrey UK
Jan 2, 2010

A bit tired

The hotel was a little tired and outdated. Would not go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Paso Robles, CA
Jul 12, 2011

Disappointed

I generally spend around $100-$150 on a hotel room. It was my birthday and I had a travel bonus from work so I thought I'd splurge and get a real nice room. I was very disappointed. It was an average size room, clean and comfortable. Exactly like the rooms I pay $100-150 for. It wasn't anything special. It didn't have any view to speak of as we were put on the back side of the hotel. The bathroom had no window or exhaust fan making it ackward to share and by the time two showers were taken, the bathroom was a wet steam room. The staff was friendly, and valet was quick to retrieve our car, but I won't stay here again for the price I paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AquaImage
Business
Ventura, CA
Dec 23, 2013

Beautiful hotel, noisy room

The setting and public areas for this hotel are fantastic. I have stayed in many hotels in Monterey and the setting for this one is the nicest. However, the room furnishings had an old look to them - stuffy is how I would describe it. Not worn, but dated looking. My big gripe is the noise, room to room. How can you have a luxury hotel and be able to hear EVERYTHING in the next room? Even when the people are speaking in a normal tone of voice. I really don't understand this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Schooners Restaurant in the hotel is very good and a beautiful setting.

Back to menu Return to top