$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

4 stars
400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
181 reviews
Weekend getaway

This is the best hotel in Monterey. Centrally located with great amenities and fantastic ocean... See full review

  • Dimi traveler
  • Dec 4, 2014
Bay Sounds

Room 1222 not only faces the water but is directly over the water, with great sunrises and views of... See full review

  • Pacific NW Traveler
  • Oct 26, 2014
One of only 160 Forbes Four Star hotels in the U.S.

Prepare to be entranced. Monterey Plaza Hotel and Spa perches guests above scenic Monterey Bay in elegant, European-inspired style architecture and décor. Enjoy sweeping coastal views from the rooftop Vista Blue Spa or two oceanfront restaurants. Location, amenities, and service combine to earn Monterey Plaza the only Forbes Four Star award in Monterey, and one of only 160 hotels in the entire U.S.

Highlights
  • 2010 Forbes Four Star designation
  • Full service rooftop, oceanfront spa
  • Fitness center
Rooms

The 290 non-smoking deluxe guestrooms, including 10 spacious suites, are stylishly appointed with classic Biedermeier-style furniture, decorator fabrics, duvet bed coverings, a custom-designed refreshment center, and ceiling fan. Many rooms offer a private balcony with views of the ocean, hotel gardens, or Cannery Row. In-room entertainment includes a 27-inch flat screen television with On Command video system. A personal writing desk, coffee maker and complimentary coffee, wet bar and refrigerator complete the room.

 

Large marble bathrooms offer separate vanity area, plush terry robes, hairdryer, and complimentary Gilchrist & Soames personal bath amenities.

Features

Full-service Vista Blue Spa, located above tranquil Monterey Bay, takes its views from its rooftop setting. Spa treatments focus on comfort and relaxation, recharging the body, renewing the spirit, and reviving the senses. The spa's fitness center features Cybex aerobic and Keiser weight-lifting equipment and experienced trainers. A light spa lunch is available.

 

Varied dining options are available at two waterfront restaurants, Schooners Bistro on the Bay and the Duck Club Grill, as well as the European-style Café La Strada, and even the Vista Blue Spa. Schooners, winner of Monterey County's "Best Margarita" and "Best Specialty Drink," features indoor/outdoor seating year-round. Duck Club Grill offers innovative American cuisine and room service is available from its menu. Café La Strada is an oceanside pizza-style coffee house with indoor/outdoor seating.

 

Guests may enjoy a close encounter with local marine animals in the tide pools just outside the hotel, or enjoy a chance sighting of the seals, otters, and other sea creatures cavorting offshore.

Transportation
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport/ San Jose International Airport (108 mi/173.8 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Maritime Museum (0.8 mi/1.3km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center is staffed during the day offers computers, printers and high-speed Internet access
  • 10 conference rooms can accommodate up to 300
Policies and fees

  • Effective 09 September 2013, the resort fee will increase from $25 to $27.  This change will affect reservations booked 09 September 2013 onwards. The resort fee charge per room, per night includes valet parking with 24 hour in and out privileges, spa facility access for guests ages 18 and older and high-speed Internet access in the room.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa Rooms

STANDARD - GUEST_ROOM
With a view of historic Cannery Row, the recreational trail or Crispo Terrace, this spacious 400 square foot guestroom features beautiful European style furnishings, a king size feather bed, high-speed internet, in-room movies, bathrobes, hairdryer, minibar, and Gilchrist & Soames bath products.
LUXURY - GUEST_ROOM
Enjoy spectacular views of Monterey Bay or the historic harbor from your picture window. This room also features beautiful European style furnishings, a king size or two queen size feather beds, high-speed internet, in-room movies, bathrobes, hairdryer, minibar, and Gilchrist & Soames bath products.
PREMIUM - GUEST_ROOM
Enjoy inspired views of Monterey Bay and the historic harbor. These luxurious rooms feature private balconies, perfect for enjoying Monterey's famous sea life. You will also enjoy beautiful European style furnishings, one king size feather bed, high-speed internet, in-room movies, bathrobes, hairdryer, minibar, and Gilchrist & Soames bath products.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Monterey Plaza's ten conference and banquet rooms provide more than 17,000 square feet of indoor meeting space that can accommodate groups of 10 to 300 for meetings, conferences, banquets and private parties. In addition, the Hotel's Outdoor Plaza and Terrace, overlooking the Bay, can host groups up to 600.

Dining

Cafe La Strada
Our piazza-style oceanside cafe is the place to start your morning with the rich flavor of freshly roasted Peet's Coffee and artisan pastries. Enjoy specialty sandwiches, amazing desserts, gelato and more, all made daily on the premises. Outdoor seating at the Monterey Plaza Hotel's Dolphins fountain on the plaza offers a relaxed, friendly atmosphere with great service and stunning views of Monterey Bay and Mt. Toro. Open daily at 6:00AM
Schooners Coastal Kitchen and Bar
Schooners Coastal Kitchen and Bar, residing in the Monterey Plaza Hotel and Spa overlooking Monterey Bay, is a stunning restaurant featuring approachable, contemporary American coastal cuisine and sustainable seafood. Suspended over the waters of Monterey Bay, Schooners Coastal Kitchen and Bar is in the ideal location for celebrating the Central Coast and the spectacular ocean front region. Executive Chef Waller's commitment to fresh, high quality, sustainable seafood is reflected in the creative menu which features a variety of seafood options, both raw and cooked, as well as appetizers, soups, salads, large platters meant for sharing, entrees, wood-fired dishes, and selection of decadent desserts. A creative cocktail menu is served alongside an impressive wine list featuring Monterey County vintners, California wines and international vintages. The high-energy bar, bustling open kitchen, and crowded outdoor patio personifies a relaxed, fun and joyous atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (181)

Ratings and reviews for Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
181 out of 181
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
USA
Dec 27, 2008

Our paradise

The Monterey Plaza Hotel has been our escape for the past 5 years and we love the atmosphere and the staff. We always feel special and are spoiled and it makes it so much easier to go back home to deal with the daily stress and strain of every day life. The location is perfect and in walking distance of all the shops and entertainment as well as having their own place to dine and bar to relax and to top it off an spa for relaxation and rest. We recommend the Plaza to anyone who is looking for a place to have fun, relax and get spoiled.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Location is close to places to eat and entertainment as well as tons of shops as well along with the Monterey Aquarium all in short walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ma & Papa
Business
Mountain View, CA
May 25, 2009

Wonderful weekend in Monterey

The hotel was beautiful, clean and comfortable...right on the edge of Monterey Bay and the views were spectacular. Everything was within 5 to 10 minutes walking distance. Loved the complimentary Peet's Coffee before 10am. We opted to pay for a garden view room which looked over Cannery Row and we could go right outside our room on the other side if we wanted to relax on the deck which looked out on Monterey Bay. It was perfect. We would stay there again in an instant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Monterey Bay Aquarium is just a short 10 min. walk down Cannery Row from the hotel. It's been years since I've been there and my favorite was the sea horse exhibit. There was something for everyone of any age. Get there before 10am because it gets crowded by noon.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DeeDeeDeen
Business
Berkeley CA
Apr 26, 2010

Monterey Plaza Hotel

My trip was too short to truely enjoy all the hotel had to offer. I will definitely go back to enjoy the place more when I have more time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Isabel @ Fisherman's Wharf

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bay Area, California
Jun 1, 2010

Great hotel...fantastic location!

The hotel was great...right at the beginning of Cannery Row...perfect location to walk to the wharf or down the Row. The service was excellent and the hotel was beautiful. Every thing about the room was great. Schooner's restaurant is one of the only places on Cannery Row with a large outdoor patio, which was beautiful (and the fish & ships were delicious!). We will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dan L 89736
Business
Walnut Creek, CA, USA
Aug 18, 2011

Fantastic hotel!!!

I've never stayed in this hotel before, but I'm so glad I did. I happened to be on business, but I'll be going back very soon for a getaway weekend with my wife

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dringer
Business
Paso Robles
Oct 29, 2011

What a View!

I am used to looking out the window to check out the view in a hotel. Not here! The view was down over the balcony, and only by a few feet. Waves crashing on the black rock of Big Sur, right under us! I could have stayed on the balcony all night. The rest of the hotel was also wonderful -- great service in the dining room, valet parking, etc. The location was perfect, right across from Cannery Row. Even so, we managed to get lost fining our way to the aquarium - only a few blocks away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
breakslimit
Business
east bay, ca
Nov 1, 2011

great weekend getaway

It's a nice weekend getaway location. We stayed overnight from our visit to Big Sur. The staffs were very friendly. The room was super clean and comfortable. It's next to the beach so we had a stroll down to the beach. The only drawback was by 9pm or so, everything closed around town. We were craving for some desserts but couldn't find any place nearby. Overall, the experience was awesome. Although the price was on the expensive side, but it was worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the Duck Club grill is a great breakfast place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nascimento
Business
Hilmar, CA
Jan 4, 2012

Amazing Trip

We had a great experience here at this hotel. From first encounter with Valet to leaving the hotel everyone was so friendly and kind. The room was beautiful and clean and the food was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
amand
Business
ca
Feb 16, 2012

Great time!!

Loved everything but the location and view are amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
amand
Business
ca
Feb 27, 2012

Awesome family

We had a blast. Beautiful hotel! RIght on the water--looks just like the photos.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top