$209 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

4 stars
View map of 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
183 out of 183
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ariana04
Tracy, California
Apr 19, 2013

Perfect

We had a awesome expirence, everyone was so nice and welcoming, the dinning the lower floor was awesome the staff was great. And the ocean view from are room was amazing. We would defananitly go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Robininfresno
Business
Monterey
Dec 24, 2012

Beautiful hotel

The only reason I did not give this 5 stars across the board is we could easily hear the neighboring room and we woke up to the noise a couple of times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CJ03
Business
Los Angeles
Dec 2, 2012

Nice hotel and nice location

Staff was friendly, hotel is beautiful and sits right on the water, so the views are beautiful as well. Hotel restaurant was good, but a little pricey ($16 dollars for fish and chips and $7 for a bowl of clam chowder) the chowder was especially delicious. The aquarium is probably a 8-10 minute walk from the hotel. But only about 5 minutes to the north part of the main canary row area with all the restaurants and shops (the aquarium is at the end of that street). The only thing to be aware of is the $25 dollar per night resort fee (tax) in addition to the booking price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Aquarium is about a 8-10 minute walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mario kova
Business
bay area
Nov 29, 2012

great location

exelent.................................................................................................................

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Andrew DSJ.
Business
San Jose, Ca
Nov 21, 2012

Average place. A little too expensive, but possibly the best choice for fist time in Monterey.

They have a $50 resort fee and a $200 incidental fee. If you have it on a debit card and you're running low on funds, it could hurt you like me. Other than the monetary stuff, it's a nice place. Right by the ocean, Rooms are a little small for the price but comfy and very clean. We got a room with our own little courtyard with about 8 other rooms which was really nice. Staff is very courteous and helpful. I rate it 3 stars as it is average and the hidden fees, but it's the nicest stay i've had in Monterey to date. So 3 stars for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
brainupgraded
Business
Tempe, AZ
Nov 13, 2012

Perfect

I visited Monterey with my cousin and booked this hotel because I saw so many positive (and good) reviews about this hotel. Well, no disappointment at all. Location is perfect, the view is amazing, and the room was very nice. What can I expect more in Monterey? There is a store selling almonds (mostly covered with sth sweet), and the lady at the store was super nice, so it made our trip more lovely. This hotel is close to two great restaurants in Monterey as well. We had lunch at "Sea harvest". Not as crowded as the restaurant right by the sea (you would know what I say when you visit), and fried calamari was good. Not the best clam chowder though (but it was good). We had dinner at Monterey Fish House. It was my second visit, and every time, food is amazing (try oak-grilled baby octopus, cioppino, and raw oysters). Hope many of you love this hotel as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Monterey Fish House.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rob916
Business
Sacramento, California
Nov 5, 2012

Perfect Quick Getaway From Sacramento

We just had one night, didn't want to drive far and needed to see the ocean. The hotel is larger than I thought and the views were very nice. The sound of the ocean's waves and tourist distant laughs from canery row were a surprisingly pleasant combination with the windows open. Kind of felt European. Clean, nice furniture, great staff and near lots of activities we hit real quick before running back to Sacramento.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Matty7575
Business
Fresno, CA
Oct 29, 2012

Best of Monterey

My wife and I had a fantastic experience at the Plaza. Every interaction with a staff member was purely delightful. From Susan answering questions over the phone, to Christopher delivering our luggage...no room for improvement. The say you only get what you pay for, at the Plaza... you get much more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay away from Bubba Gump's, Sly McFly's, and El Torito. Trailside Cafe is just up Beach steet, and has wonderful breakfasts and coffee!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karen Soccer Mom
Business
Long Beach, CA
Oct 29, 2012

CSUMB Campus Visit Weekend

We enjoyed the hotel, but found the value for the total weekend cost was not worth the fantastic location. Hotel staff were average and didn't make us feel that overly welcome. Next time we'll try somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Cannery Row and the Monterey Aquarium were within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
xoxoxox
Business
San Diego, CA
Oct 7, 2012

Beautiful Hotel

Greatly enjoyed the decor and views. The staff was very gracious and helpful. THe ocean views spectacular. Running path the best is all my travels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

ocean

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sksambo
Business
Fresno California
Oct 4, 2012

It doesn't get any better

The Plaza is the perfect place to stay. It's at the end of cannery row, close enough for a nice walk to the shops & restaurants , yet away from the hustle & bustle. An ocean side view room is worth the extra! The full moon rising over the bay was breathtaking!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top