Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

4 stars
View map of 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
181 reviews
Beautiful

This hotel was beautiful. I enjoyed every aspect of this hotel to include the spa and hot tub. See full review

  • Aunt Whitney
  • Jul 27, 2015
Oversized Rooms

I was pleasantly surprised that the room I stayed in was quite large! Not the average sized room :0) See full review

  • wendy d.
  • Jul 16, 2015

Prepare to be entranced. Monterey Plaza Hotel and Spa perches guests above scenic Monterey Bay in elegant, European-inspired style architecture and décor. Enjoy sweeping coastal views from the rooftop Vista Blue Spa or two oceanfront restaurants. Location, amenities, and service combine to earn Monterey Plaza the only Forbes Four Star award in Monterey, and one of only 160 hotels in the entire U.S.

Rooms

The 290 non-smoking deluxe guestrooms, including 10 spacious suites, are stylishly appointed with classic Biedermeier-style furniture, decorator fabrics, duvet bed coverings, a custom-designed refreshment center, and ceiling fan. Many rooms offer a private balcony with views of the ocean, hotel gardens, or Cannery Row. In-room entertainment includes a 27-inch flat screen television with On Command video system. A personal writing desk, coffee maker and complimentary coffee and refrigerator complete the room.

 

Large marble bathrooms offer separate vanity area, plush terry robes, hairdryer, and complimentary Gilchrist & Soames personal bath amenities.

Property features

Full-service Vista Blue Spa, located above tranquil Monterey Bay, takes its views from its rooftop setting. Spa treatments focus on comfort and relaxation, recharging the body, renewing the spirit, and reviving the senses. The spa's fitness center features Cybex aerobic and Keiser weight-lifting equipment and experienced trainers. A light spa lunch is available.

 

Varied dining options are available at two waterfront restaurants, Schooners Coastal Kitchen and Bar, as well as the European-style Cafe La Strada, and even the Vista Blue Spa. Schooners, winner of Monterey County's "Best Margarita" and "Best Specialty Drink," features indoor/outdoor seating year-round. Schooners Coastal Kitchen and Bar offers innovative American cuisine and room service is available from its menu. Cafe La Strada is an oceanside pizza-style coffee house with indoor/outdoor seating.

 

Guests may enjoy a close encounter with local marine animals in the tide pools just outside the hotel, or enjoy a chance sighting of the seals, otters, and other sea creatures cavorting offshore.

Highlights
  • 2010 - 2014 Forbes Four Star designation
  • Full service rooftop, oceanfront spa
  • Fitness center
Nearby attractions
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Maritime Museum (0.8 mi/1.3km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center offers computers, printers and high-speed Internet access
  • 10 conference rooms can accommodate up to 300
Transportation
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport/ San Jose International Airport (108 mi/173.8 km)
Policies
  • The resort fee costs $27 USD per room, per night includes valet parking with 24 hour in and out privileges, spa facility access for guests ages 18 and older and high-speed Internet access in the room.
  • The Spa Sundeck will be closed from 8 Sep 2015 until 6 Oct 2015 for renovation. The completion date is subject to change as this project is weather dependent.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa Rooms

STANDARD - GUEST_ROOM
With a view of historic Cannery Row, the recreational trail or Crispo Terrace, this spacious 400 square foot guestroom features beautiful European style furnishings, a king size feather bed, high-speed internet, in-room movies, bathrobes, hairdryer, minibar, and Gilchrist & Soames bath products.
LUXURY - GUEST_ROOM
Enjoy spectacular views of Monterey Bay or the historic harbor from your picture window. This room also features beautiful European style furnishings, a king size or two queen size feather beds, high-speed internet, in-room movies, bathrobes, hairdryer, minibar, and Gilchrist & Soames bath products.
PREMIUM - GUEST_ROOM
Enjoy inspired views of Monterey Bay and the historic harbor. These luxurious rooms feature private balconies, perfect for enjoying Monterey's famous sea life. You will also enjoy beautiful European style furnishings, one king size feather bed, high-speed internet, in-room movies, bathrobes, hairdryer, minibar, and Gilchrist & Soames bath products.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Hotel Map

36.6123 -121.8982
Area served
Closest Public Transport:
Nearby airports
MRY -- Monterey Peninsula Airport

Dining

Cafe La Strada
Our piazza-style oceanside cafe is the place to start your morning with the rich flavor of freshly roasted Peet's Coffee and artisan pastries. Enjoy specialty sandwiches, amazing desserts, gelato and more, all made daily on the premises. Outdoor seating at the Monterey Plaza Hotel's Dolphins fountain on the plaza offers a relaxed, friendly atmosphere with great service and stunning views of Monterey Bay and Mt. Toro. Open daily at 6:00AM
Schooners Coastal Kitchen and Bar
Schooners Coastal Kitchen and Bar, residing in the Monterey Plaza Hotel and Spa overlooking Monterey Bay, is a stunning restaurant featuring approachable, contemporary American coastal cuisine and sustainable seafood. Suspended over the waters of Monterey Bay, Schooners Coastal Kitchen and Bar is in the ideal location for celebrating the Central Coast and the spectacular ocean front region. Executive Chef Waller's commitment to fresh, high quality, sustainable seafood is reflected in the creative menu which features a variety of seafood options, both raw and cooked, as well as appetizers, soups, salads, large platters meant for sharing, entrees, wood-fired dishes, and selection of decadent desserts. A creative cocktail menu is served alongside an impressive wine list featuring Monterey County vintners, California wines and international vintages. The high-energy bar, bustling open kitchen, and crowded outdoor patio personifies a relaxed, fun and joyous atmosphere.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Monterey Plaza's ten conference and banquet rooms provide more than 17,000 square feet of indoor meeting space that can accommodate groups of 10 to 300 for meetings, conferences, banquets and private parties. In addition, the Hotel's Outdoor Plaza and Terrace, overlooking the Bay, can host groups up to 600.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 AM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (181)

Ratings and reviews for Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
181 out of 181
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mohrle
Business
Berkeley, California
Jan 15, 2013

Beautiful Escape

A beautiful place with minor flaws, e.g., no coffee lounge, no down pillows, very long walks from elevators (it took 2 to get to our room), shower heads that cannot be regulated, no computer room at no charge. But the location is perfect, the views beautiful, the service a 12 on a scale of 1-10!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The most beautiful walk on the Monterey Peninsula is along the Pacific in Pacific Grove. See the butterflies, too, from October to March, and eat at The Fishwife, on the road to Asilomar.

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MCaren
Business
Sunland, CA
Jan 15, 2013

Beautiful!

The hotel matches its location. Friendly hotel staff, easy check in and check out. Grounds are very well kept and beautiful. Close to everything. Perfect getaway!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Memphis Traveler
Business
Memphis, TN
Jan 2, 2013

Perfect spot

The hotel was conveniently located on Cannery Row. The view from the restaurant looked over Monterey Bay which was great for watching seals, otters, and dolphins at breakfast. Valet parking was included in the room price. The bar and restaurant were good including good coffee with room service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go early and beat the crowd at the Aquarium.

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SouthernTransplant
Business
LA, CA
Jan 1, 2013

Perk Search

A great hotel but be warned that the walk between the "newer" building and the check-in desk is substantial. The bell desk frequently seems overwhelmed so offered no help in finding my room. Additionally, there was a shuttle service provided by the hotel that my restaurant told me about - no one at the hotel informed me about when I asked for a cab. It would behoove you to be your own advocate at this otherwise fine hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
snortypugs
Business
San Jose, CA
Dec 24, 2012

Wonderful hotel!

We had such an amazing weekend at this hotel. We have a six-year-old son, and I was a bit concerned that it wouldn't be kid friendly, but I was pleasantly surprised to see that there were many children there who were having a great time and were also well behaved. The staff is unbelievably attentive and friendly. We loved all of the different outdoor viewing areas and the rate that we got on our ocean view balcony room was unbelievable. We liked Schooners (the downstairs restaurant) so much that we ate dinner there both nights and it was fabulous! I cannot rave enough about the Christmas special Beef Wellington that I had at their restaurant. It was truly phenominal. I would love ot go back again if I find a rate that is a good deal. The location was perfect and if the weather had been cooperating, we would have walked to cannery row and the aquarium with ease. Wonderful trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Definitely eat dinner at this restaurant!

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Robininfresno
Business
Monterey
Dec 24, 2012

Beautiful hotel

The only reason I did not give this 5 stars across the board is we could easily hear the neighboring room and we woke up to the noise a couple of times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CJ03
Business
Los Angeles
Dec 2, 2012

Nice hotel and nice location

Staff was friendly, hotel is beautiful and sits right on the water, so the views are beautiful as well. Hotel restaurant was good, but a little pricey ($16 dollars for fish and chips and $7 for a bowl of clam chowder) the chowder was especially delicious. The aquarium is probably a 8-10 minute walk from the hotel. But only about 5 minutes to the north part of the main canary row area with all the restaurants and shops (the aquarium is at the end of that street). The only thing to be aware of is the $25 dollar per night resort fee (tax) in addition to the booking price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Aquarium is about a 8-10 minute walk away.

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mario kova
Business
bay area
Nov 29, 2012

great location

exelent.................................................................................................................

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Andrew DSJ.
Business
San Jose, Ca
Nov 21, 2012

Average place. A little too expensive, but possibly the best choice for fist time in Monterey.

They have a $50 resort fee and a $200 incidental fee. If you have it on a debit card and you're running low on funds, it could hurt you like me. Other than the monetary stuff, it's a nice place. Right by the ocean, Rooms are a little small for the price but comfy and very clean. We got a room with our own little courtyard with about 8 other rooms which was really nice. Staff is very courteous and helpful. I rate it 3 stars as it is average and the hidden fees, but it's the nicest stay i've had in Monterey to date. So 3 stars for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
brainupgraded
Business
Tempe, AZ
Nov 13, 2012

Perfect

I visited Monterey with my cousin and booked this hotel because I saw so many positive (and good) reviews about this hotel. Well, no disappointment at all. Location is perfect, the view is amazing, and the room was very nice. What can I expect more in Monterey? There is a store selling almonds (mostly covered with sth sweet), and the lady at the store was super nice, so it made our trip more lovely. This hotel is close to two great restaurants in Monterey as well. We had lunch at "Sea harvest". Not as crowded as the restaurant right by the sea (you would know what I say when you visit), and fried calamari was good. Not the best clam chowder though (but it was good). We had dinner at Monterey Fish House. It was my second visit, and every time, food is amazing (try oak-grilled baby octopus, cioppino, and raw oysters). Hope many of you love this hotel as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Monterey Fish House.

Back to menu Return to top