$289 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 30, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

4 stars
View map of 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
195 out of 195
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MCaren
Business
Sunland, CA
Jan 15, 2013

Beautiful!

The hotel matches its location. Friendly hotel staff, easy check in and check out. Grounds are very well kept and beautiful. Close to everything. Perfect getaway!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Memphis Traveler
Business
Memphis, TN
Jan 2, 2013

Perfect spot

The hotel was conveniently located on Cannery Row. The view from the restaurant looked over Monterey Bay which was great for watching seals, otters, and dolphins at breakfast. Valet parking was included in the room price. The bar and restaurant were good including good coffee with room service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go early and beat the crowd at the Aquarium.

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SouthernTransplant
Business
LA, CA
Jan 1, 2013

Perk Search

A great hotel but be warned that the walk between the "newer" building and the check-in desk is substantial. The bell desk frequently seems overwhelmed so offered no help in finding my room. Additionally, there was a shuttle service provided by the hotel that my restaurant told me about - no one at the hotel informed me about when I asked for a cab. It would behoove you to be your own advocate at this otherwise fine hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
snortypugs
Business
San Jose, CA
Dec 24, 2012

Wonderful hotel!

We had such an amazing weekend at this hotel. We have a six-year-old son, and I was a bit concerned that it wouldn't be kid friendly, but I was pleasantly surprised to see that there were many children there who were having a great time and were also well behaved. The staff is unbelievably attentive and friendly. We loved all of the different outdoor viewing areas and the rate that we got on our ocean view balcony room was unbelievable. We liked Schooners (the downstairs restaurant) so much that we ate dinner there both nights and it was fabulous! I cannot rave enough about the Christmas special Beef Wellington that I had at their restaurant. It was truly phenominal. I would love ot go back again if I find a rate that is a good deal. The location was perfect and if the weather had been cooperating, we would have walked to cannery row and the aquarium with ease. Wonderful trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Definitely eat dinner at this restaurant!

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Robininfresno
Business
Monterey
Dec 24, 2012

Beautiful hotel

The only reason I did not give this 5 stars across the board is we could easily hear the neighboring room and we woke up to the noise a couple of times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CJ03
Business
Los Angeles
Dec 2, 2012

Nice hotel and nice location

Staff was friendly, hotel is beautiful and sits right on the water, so the views are beautiful as well. Hotel restaurant was good, but a little pricey ($16 dollars for fish and chips and $7 for a bowl of clam chowder) the chowder was especially delicious. The aquarium is probably a 8-10 minute walk from the hotel. But only about 5 minutes to the north part of the main canary row area with all the restaurants and shops (the aquarium is at the end of that street). The only thing to be aware of is the $25 dollar per night resort fee (tax) in addition to the booking price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Aquarium is about a 8-10 minute walk away.

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mario kova
Business
bay area
Nov 29, 2012

great location

exelent.................................................................................................................

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Andrew DSJ.
Business
San Jose, Ca
Nov 21, 2012

Average place. A little too expensive, but possibly the best choice for fist time in Monterey.

They have a $50 resort fee and a $200 incidental fee. If you have it on a debit card and you're running low on funds, it could hurt you like me. Other than the monetary stuff, it's a nice place. Right by the ocean, Rooms are a little small for the price but comfy and very clean. We got a room with our own little courtyard with about 8 other rooms which was really nice. Staff is very courteous and helpful. I rate it 3 stars as it is average and the hidden fees, but it's the nicest stay i've had in Monterey to date. So 3 stars for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
brainupgraded
Business
Tempe, AZ
Nov 13, 2012

Perfect

I visited Monterey with my cousin and booked this hotel because I saw so many positive (and good) reviews about this hotel. Well, no disappointment at all. Location is perfect, the view is amazing, and the room was very nice. What can I expect more in Monterey? There is a store selling almonds (mostly covered with sth sweet), and the lady at the store was super nice, so it made our trip more lovely. This hotel is close to two great restaurants in Monterey as well. We had lunch at "Sea harvest". Not as crowded as the restaurant right by the sea (you would know what I say when you visit), and fried calamari was good. Not the best clam chowder though (but it was good). We had dinner at Monterey Fish House. It was my second visit, and every time, food is amazing (try oak-grilled baby octopus, cioppino, and raw oysters). Hope many of you love this hotel as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Monterey Fish House.

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rob916
Business
Sacramento, California
Nov 5, 2012

Perfect Quick Getaway From Sacramento

We just had one night, didn't want to drive far and needed to see the ocean. The hotel is larger than I thought and the views were very nice. The sound of the ocean's waves and tourist distant laughs from canery row were a surprisingly pleasant combination with the windows open. Kind of felt European. Clean, nice furniture, great staff and near lots of activities we hit real quick before running back to Sacramento.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top