$239 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2015 Check-out: Sep 16, 2015

Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

4 stars
View map of 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
183 out of 183
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vacation Mom 816
Family
Monterey, California
Aug 16, 2013

Hoped for something awesome

The hotel check-in, valet, amenities, restaurant, beds, outdoor plaza, etc. are very, very nice. And would have been definitely worth the premium price (and 2-night minimum) we paid. HOWEVER, although we paid for an ocean view room, we got a view of ocean water on the bay side, AND a view of a horribly run-down, smelly, vacant (except for the many birds perching on/around it) building next door. I will try to upload a picture of what they don't show you in their brochure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Scenic Route around the peninsula was so, so beautiful. We did this prior to doing the 17-Mile Drive and were very glad we did. We also enjoyed downtown Carmel very much.

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Belgium
Family
Boston, MA
Jul 12, 2013

Husband and wife get away 25 years

Room extremely comfortable and clean. Comfortable restaurant in hotel, staff most of all helpful, professional and friendly. Would highly recommended. Only lost item was a pool for swimming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Loulous for lunch or dinner small diner like but food fabulous on Wharf 2 For out of towners cooler than I expected jacket and long pants you may bring

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roadside Traveler
Couples
San Francisco, cA
Jun 24, 2013

Good hotel in Monterey

The location is prime. Cannery Row is just a few minutes away and the Aquarium is within walking distance as well. My favorite part about the hotel is the spa on top of the building where you can get panoramic views sitting in a Jacuzzi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bealamb
Couples
San Mateo
Jun 13, 2013

Simply Outstanding!

Customer service just couldn't be beat! From the moment we arrived and the valet helped us with the car and luggage to checkout, we were treated like royalty. We ordered room service for one of our dinners and one morning for breakfast, and while the cost was a bit pricey ( but what room service isn't) the meal was delicious, hot, and delivered quicker then expected. Such a wonderful experience! Hotel was spotless and the location was wonderful. You won't be disappointed staying here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of the stores close when the aquarium closes-around 6 pm.

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jmeyer
Family
East bay
Jun 10, 2013

Great weekend getaway

Great staff and excellent service. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant inside hotel was awesome right on the water and very family friendly

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Highway 1 Traveler
Couples
Evanston, IL
Jun 8, 2013

well located, beautiful views

We enjoyed our brief stay here. There are beautiful views and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JD LOVEOCEAN
Couples
Chandler, Az
May 7, 2013

excellent weekend getaway

We spent the weekend in Monterery, it was our first time. Everything about the trip was amazing. We were greeted promptly at airport with the complimentary shuttle service and check in was a breeze with no lines. They checked our luggage because we arrived in the morning and called us as soon as our room was ready. The rooms were clean, We had a ocean balcony room which had a great view. The beds and pillows were so comfortable and we enjoyed the gym in the mornings which was located on the top floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Schooners was excellent!!!!!

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Will bosco
Business
Moorpark
May 3, 2013

Monterey my 2nd home

Spa was great. Room was clean & comfortable Staff was great. No complaints , no worries . As advertise .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sardine factory , abalone bisque best in the world!

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ariana04
Couples
Tracy, California
Apr 19, 2013

Perfect

We had a awesome expirence, everyone was so nice and welcoming, the dinning the lower floor was awesome the staff was great. And the ocean view from are room was amazing. We would defananitly go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fatmessi
Couples
Mexico city
Feb 21, 2013

Good romántico getaway

It was satisfactory , nice view, near restaurante and acuarium.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top