$199 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 2, 2014

Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

4 stars
400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
180 reviews
Bay Sounds

Room 1222 not only faces the water but is directly over the water, with great sunrises and views of... See full review

  • Pacific NW Traveler
  • Oct 26, 2014
Cannery Row Perfection

Very lovely property walking distance from the Aquarium. Beautiful views of the bay and of cannery... See full review

  • High Maintenance Mom
  • Aug 25, 2014
Relax on the water's edge at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. Dramatically perched over the Monterey Bay and located on historic Cannery Row, the Plaza is the perfect place to enjoy the gentle sounds of the surf, the fresh scent of sea air and all of the activities that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. The only Mobil Four Star rated hotel in Monterey, the Plaza welcomes you with its warm Mediterranean ambiance and its legendary personalized service. While here, enjoy our roof-top Vista Blue Spa, the European-style Cafe La Strada, and our newly renovated waterfront restaurants, Schooners Coastal Kitchen and Bar. Resort Fee: $25 resort fee charge per room, per night and includes valet parking with 24 hour in and out privileges, spa facility access guests ages 18 and older and high speed internet access in the room.

Hotel Map

36.6123 -121.8982
Area served
Closest Public Transport:
Nearby airports
MRY -- Monterey Peninsula Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa Rooms

STANDARD - GUEST_ROOM
With a view of historic Cannery Row, the recreational trail or Crispo Terrace, this spacious 400 square foot guestroom features beautiful European style furnishings, a king size feather bed, high-speed internet, in-room movies, bathrobes, hairdryer, minibar, and Gilchrist & Soames bath products.
LUXURY - GUEST_ROOM
Enjoy spectacular views of Monterey Bay or the historic harbor from your picture window. This room also features beautiful European style furnishings, a king size or two queen size feather beds, high-speed internet, in-room movies, bathrobes, hairdryer, minibar, and Gilchrist & Soames bath products.
PREMIUM - GUEST_ROOM
Enjoy inspired views of Monterey Bay and the historic harbor. These luxurious rooms feature private balconies, perfect for enjoying Monterey's famous sea life. You will also enjoy beautiful European style furnishings, one king size feather bed, high-speed internet, in-room movies, bathrobes, hairdryer, minibar, and Gilchrist & Soames bath products.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Monterey Plaza's ten conference and banquet rooms provide more than 17,000 square feet of indoor meeting space that can accommodate groups of 10 to 300 for meetings, conferences, banquets and private parties. In addition, the Hotel's Outdoor Plaza and Terrace, overlooking the Bay, can host groups up to 600.

Dining

Cafe La Strada
Our piazza-style oceanside cafe is the place to start your morning with the rich flavor of freshly roasted Peet's Coffee and artisan pastries. Enjoy specialty sandwiches, amazing desserts, gelato and more, all made daily on the premises. Outdoor seating at the Monterey Plaza Hotel's Dolphins fountain on the plaza offers a relaxed, friendly atmosphere with great service and stunning views of Monterey Bay and Mt. Toro. Open daily at 6:00AM
Schooners Coastal Kitchen and Bar
Schooners Coastal Kitchen and Bar, residing in the Monterey Plaza Hotel and Spa overlooking Monterey Bay, is a stunning restaurant featuring approachable, contemporary American coastal cuisine and sustainable seafood. Suspended over the waters of Monterey Bay, Schooners Coastal Kitchen and Bar is in the ideal location for celebrating the Central Coast and the spectacular ocean front region. Executive Chef Waller's commitment to fresh, high quality, sustainable seafood is reflected in the creative menu which features a variety of seafood options, both raw and cooked, as well as appetizers, soups, salads, large platters meant for sharing, entrees, wood-fired dishes, and selection of decadent desserts. A creative cocktail menu is served alongside an impressive wine list featuring Monterey County vintners, California wines and international vintages. The high-energy bar, bustling open kitchen, and crowded outdoor patio personifies a relaxed, fun and joyous atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (180)

Ratings and reviews for Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
180 out of 180
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Car26
Business
San Joseph
Jan 20, 2013

Fantastic weekend getaway

My husband and I had a great time at this hotel. The staff is amazing and the ambiance of the hotel is first class all the way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sancho45
Business
San Diego Ca
Jan 18, 2013

Monterey getaway

We were treated like gold. Are room was right on the ocean , at night we could here the dolphins ,seals and otters talking to each other. we were right in middile of every thing and in walking distance to all the shops and bars. The staff was very helpfull and friendly and help us with directions anyplace we wanted to go Wine Country . Montery Plaza Hotel & Spa will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the wine country

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mohrle
Business
Berkeley, California
Jan 15, 2013

Beautiful Escape

A beautiful place with minor flaws, e.g., no coffee lounge, no down pillows, very long walks from elevators (it took 2 to get to our room), shower heads that cannot be regulated, no computer room at no charge. But the location is perfect, the views beautiful, the service a 12 on a scale of 1-10!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The most beautiful walk on the Monterey Peninsula is along the Pacific in Pacific Grove. See the butterflies, too, from October to March, and eat at The Fishwife, on the road to Asilomar.

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MCaren
Business
Sunland, CA
Jan 15, 2013

Beautiful!

The hotel matches its location. Friendly hotel staff, easy check in and check out. Grounds are very well kept and beautiful. Close to everything. Perfect getaway!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Memphis Traveler
Business
Memphis, TN
Jan 2, 2013

Perfect spot

The hotel was conveniently located on Cannery Row. The view from the restaurant looked over Monterey Bay which was great for watching seals, otters, and dolphins at breakfast. Valet parking was included in the room price. The bar and restaurant were good including good coffee with room service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go early and beat the crowd at the Aquarium.

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SouthernTransplant
Business
LA, CA
Jan 1, 2013

Perk Search

A great hotel but be warned that the walk between the "newer" building and the check-in desk is substantial. The bell desk frequently seems overwhelmed so offered no help in finding my room. Additionally, there was a shuttle service provided by the hotel that my restaurant told me about - no one at the hotel informed me about when I asked for a cab. It would behoove you to be your own advocate at this otherwise fine hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
snortypugs
Business
San Jose, CA
Dec 24, 2012

Wonderful hotel!

We had such an amazing weekend at this hotel. We have a six-year-old son, and I was a bit concerned that it wouldn't be kid friendly, but I was pleasantly surprised to see that there were many children there who were having a great time and were also well behaved. The staff is unbelievably attentive and friendly. We loved all of the different outdoor viewing areas and the rate that we got on our ocean view balcony room was unbelievable. We liked Schooners (the downstairs restaurant) so much that we ate dinner there both nights and it was fabulous! I cannot rave enough about the Christmas special Beef Wellington that I had at their restaurant. It was truly phenominal. I would love ot go back again if I find a rate that is a good deal. The location was perfect and if the weather had been cooperating, we would have walked to cannery row and the aquarium with ease. Wonderful trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Definitely eat dinner at this restaurant!

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Robininfresno
Business
Monterey
Dec 24, 2012

Beautiful hotel

The only reason I did not give this 5 stars across the board is we could easily hear the neighboring room and we woke up to the noise a couple of times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CJ03
Business
Los Angeles
Dec 2, 2012

Nice hotel and nice location

Staff was friendly, hotel is beautiful and sits right on the water, so the views are beautiful as well. Hotel restaurant was good, but a little pricey ($16 dollars for fish and chips and $7 for a bowl of clam chowder) the chowder was especially delicious. The aquarium is probably a 8-10 minute walk from the hotel. But only about 5 minutes to the north part of the main canary row area with all the restaurants and shops (the aquarium is at the end of that street). The only thing to be aware of is the $25 dollar per night resort fee (tax) in addition to the booking price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Aquarium is about a 8-10 minute walk away.

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mario kova
Business
bay area
Nov 29, 2012

great location

exelent.................................................................................................................

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top