$208 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

4 stars
View map of 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
181 out of 181
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
thelittlecheese
Business
Palmdale, CA
Mar 29, 2014

Best Of Monterey

Couldn't be better. They treat everyone as they were someone important.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Singeryaya
Business
LA, California
Mar 29, 2014

Romantic Couple's Place

The view is extraordinary! I love the feeling of going to sleep with the music of the Sea. Great breakfast buffet in the morning, though very expensive restaurant. The only thing I think the hotel lacks is a swimming pool. My boyfriend and I are fully prepared with swimming suits and ready to swim in a pool with a nice view of the ocean, but there isn't any. The hotel claim that they have a Spa, but it is too small, unbelievably small… probably can only fit three people… That is a little disappointment for us. But overall, I recommend this hotel to families, couples, or even just friends. Great great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there is a fantastic sea food and steak restaurant close to this hotel, about 10-15 minutes walk by the ocean. The restaurant is called fisherman's grotto. You have to order Surf n Turf, which is a combination of a huge lobster and Filet. Great value, great taste, great view!

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Robertc638
Business
San Diego, California
Mar 24, 2014

Perfect romantic location.

Spent our 40th anniversery here. Best hotel we have been at in many years. Staff, room and atmosphere beyond description. Highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Happy hour entertainment very good. Wine tasting each night great.

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marshall Lee Canyon
Business
Manteca
Mar 18, 2014

One night family getaway on the Bay

Overall it is hard to complain. The sound of the ocean and the comfort of the room and the great staff. In my case, a little unique, I had a couple kids and grandkids and much to our dismay there was no pool nor mention that the hot tubs were off limit to under 18. Just not a family place. Very excellent for a romantic getaway, but again, the spa tubs and out door fireplace closes at 9PM. That's too early for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mk oc
Business
Oc
Mar 10, 2014

Wonderful stay

Wonderful stay altogether. We have stayed at this location many times and always enjoyed it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trish weekend excursion
Business
Simi Valley, California
Mar 9, 2014

Weekend getaway

Beautiful hotel with super friendly/helpful staff. The views are incredible. The aquarium, restaurants, and shops are all walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
yeeyeeman
Business
Ripon, CA
Mar 9, 2014

Very Nice

The hotel itself is very nice. the moment you walk in your set to have a good nice time. The room decor is my only gripe being that it felt a little stuffy and outdated. But besides that i really enjoyed the hotel and the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JDupree
Business
Modesto ca
Feb 18, 2014

Beautiful hotel! Amazing service

Best getaway in a very long time due to the quality of the location and service we received!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jw superman
Business
San Mateo, ca
Feb 18, 2014

Valentines day

Great view, great location, great experience. Best hotel in Monterey, hands down

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Russ the gambler
Business
San Francisco
Feb 17, 2014

Great mini vacation

Service was very helpful. Amenities offered by the hotel were great and it was within walking distance to both cannery row and the wharf.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top