$239 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2015 Check-out: Sep 16, 2015

Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

4 stars
View map of 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
183 out of 183
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Christi E
Friends
Monterey, California
Apr 5, 2014

Awesome experience

This hotel was amazing! Views were spectacular and the staff went out of way to help and pamper you! Would definitely stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bayou Visitor
Family
Houston
Mar 31, 2014

Great views

Accommodations were good, and front desk staff extremely helpful. Avoid the restaurant. Food is mediocre and hostess acts like she is doing you a favor to let you in a nearly empty restaurant. .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
thelittlecheese
Couples
Palmdale, CA
Mar 29, 2014

Best Of Monterey

Couldn't be better. They treat everyone as they were someone important.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Singeryaya
Couples
LA, California
Mar 29, 2014

Romantic Couple's Place

The view is extraordinary! I love the feeling of going to sleep with the music of the Sea. Great breakfast buffet in the morning, though very expensive restaurant. The only thing I think the hotel lacks is a swimming pool. My boyfriend and I are fully prepared with swimming suits and ready to swim in a pool with a nice view of the ocean, but there isn't any. The hotel claim that they have a Spa, but it is too small, unbelievably small… probably can only fit three people… That is a little disappointment for us. But overall, I recommend this hotel to families, couples, or even just friends. Great great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there is a fantastic sea food and steak restaurant close to this hotel, about 10-15 minutes walk by the ocean. The restaurant is called fisherman's grotto. You have to order Surf n Turf, which is a combination of a huge lobster and Filet. Great value, great taste, great view!

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Robertc638
Couples
San Diego, California
Mar 24, 2014

Perfect romantic location.

Spent our 40th anniversery here. Best hotel we have been at in many years. Staff, room and atmosphere beyond description. Highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Happy hour entertainment very good. Wine tasting each night great.

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marshall Lee Canyon
Family
Manteca
Mar 18, 2014

One night family getaway on the Bay

Overall it is hard to complain. The sound of the ocean and the comfort of the room and the great staff. In my case, a little unique, I had a couple kids and grandkids and much to our dismay there was no pool nor mention that the hot tubs were off limit to under 18. Just not a family place. Very excellent for a romantic getaway, but again, the spa tubs and out door fireplace closes at 9PM. That's too early for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mk oc
Couples
Oc
Mar 10, 2014

Wonderful stay

Wonderful stay altogether. We have stayed at this location many times and always enjoyed it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trish weekend excursion
Couples
Simi Valley, California
Mar 9, 2014

Weekend getaway

Beautiful hotel with super friendly/helpful staff. The views are incredible. The aquarium, restaurants, and shops are all walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
yeeyeeman
Couples
Ripon, CA
Mar 9, 2014

Very Nice

The hotel itself is very nice. the moment you walk in your set to have a good nice time. The room decor is my only gripe being that it felt a little stuffy and outdated. But besides that i really enjoyed the hotel and the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JDupree
Couples
Modesto ca
Feb 18, 2014

Beautiful hotel! Amazing service

Best getaway in a very long time due to the quality of the location and service we received!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top