$209 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 8, 2015 Check-out: Jun 10, 2015

Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

4 stars
View map of 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
196 out of 196
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katmomma
Business
USA
May 15, 2014

Fantastic stay

We stayed 1 night while visiting area-very enjoyable trip. Hotel is beautiful as expected. Location perfect-visited the aquarium using passes purchased at hotel for convenience and value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk the Monterey Bay Coastal Trial early in the day-it's beautiful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Picachu999
Business
San francisco
Apr 21, 2014

Comfort

Pretty good, room is clean and staff are nice and helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rachael from Cali
Business
California
Apr 19, 2014

AMAZING HOTEL

The location was awesome right on Cannery Row near tourist attractions and it's right on the ocean.beautiful view.the staff were all very nice and accommodating.I liked how the resort fee included free valet parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Buy yourwhale watching tickets through the hotel to try to get a good price. There are a few companies that do whale watching though.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Violet1214
Business
Dublin, CA
Apr 14, 2014

Beautiful Views Great Service!

We celebrated my boyfriend's 40th birthday here, the spa was fantastic, our room had a beautiful view, and the service was excellent! We would definitely come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roland dad
Business
fort worth tx
Apr 7, 2014

Great vacation

We had a blast! It's hard to not love a vacation to this place. Between the scenery, the weather and the proximity of everything it was great. It was me and my wife and I recommend this to anyone. Food is incredibly expensive but it didn't ruin our time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Whale watching tour is a must!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Christi E
Business
Monterey, California
Apr 5, 2014

Awesome experience

This hotel was amazing! Views were spectacular and the staff went out of way to help and pamper you! Would definitely stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bayou Visitor
Business
Houston
Mar 31, 2014

Great views

Accommodations were good, and front desk staff extremely helpful. Avoid the restaurant. Food is mediocre and hostess acts like she is doing you a favor to let you in a nearly empty restaurant. .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
thelittlecheese
Business
Palmdale, CA
Mar 29, 2014

Best Of Monterey

Couldn't be better. They treat everyone as they were someone important.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Singeryaya
Business
LA, California
Mar 29, 2014

Romantic Couple's Place

The view is extraordinary! I love the feeling of going to sleep with the music of the Sea. Great breakfast buffet in the morning, though very expensive restaurant. The only thing I think the hotel lacks is a swimming pool. My boyfriend and I are fully prepared with swimming suits and ready to swim in a pool with a nice view of the ocean, but there isn't any. The hotel claim that they have a Spa, but it is too small, unbelievably small… probably can only fit three people… That is a little disappointment for us. But overall, I recommend this hotel to families, couples, or even just friends. Great great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there is a fantastic sea food and steak restaurant close to this hotel, about 10-15 minutes walk by the ocean. The restaurant is called fisherman's grotto. You have to order Surf n Turf, which is a combination of a huge lobster and Filet. Great value, great taste, great view!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Robertc638
Business
San Diego, California
Mar 24, 2014

Perfect romantic location.

Spent our 40th anniversery here. Best hotel we have been at in many years. Staff, room and atmosphere beyond description. Highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Happy hour entertainment very good. Wine tasting each night great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top