Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

4 stars
400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
247 reviews
Quality all around

We had a wonderful time. The place was wonderful! The location was perfect, about half way between... See full review

  • Tom and Shannon
  • Jul 1, 2014
25 wedding anniversary

Couldnt have wished for a better place to spend our 25 wedding anniversary. The room was beautiful... See full review

  • Beattie
  • Jun 28, 2014
One of only 160 Forbes Four Star hotels in the U.S.

Prepare to be entranced. Monterey Plaza Hotel and Spa perches guests above scenic Monterey Bay in elegant, European-inspired style architecture and décor. Enjoy sweeping coastal views from the rooftop Vista Blue Spa or two oceanfront restaurants. Location, amenities, and service combine to earn Monterey Plaza the only Forbes Four Star award in Monterey, and one of only 160 hotels in the entire U.S.

Highlights
  • 2010 Forbes Four Star designation
  • Full service rooftop, oceanfront spa
  • Fitness center
Rooms

The 290 non-smoking deluxe guestrooms, including 10 spacious suites, are stylishly appointed with classic Biedermeier-style furniture, decorator fabrics, duvet bed coverings, a custom-designed refreshment center, and ceiling fan. Many rooms offer a private balcony with views of the ocean, hotel gardens, or Cannery Row. In-room entertainment includes a 27-inch flat screen television with On Command video system. A personal writing desk, coffee maker and complimentary coffee, wet bar and refrigerator complete the room.

 

Large marble bathrooms offer separate vanity area, plush terry robes, hairdryer, and complimentary Gilchrist & Soames personal bath amenities.

Features

Full-service Vista Blue Spa, located above tranquil Monterey Bay, takes its views from its rooftop setting. Spa treatments focus on comfort and relaxation, recharging the body, renewing the spirit, and reviving the senses. The spa's fitness center features Cybex aerobic and Keiser weight-lifting equipment and experienced trainers. A light spa lunch is available.

 

Varied dining options are available at two waterfront restaurants, Schooners Bistro on the Bay and the Duck Club Grill, as well as the European-style Café La Strada, and even the Vista Blue Spa. Schooners, winner of Monterey County's "Best Margarita" and "Best Specialty Drink," features indoor/outdoor seating year-round. Duck Club Grill offers innovative American cuisine and room service is available from its menu. Café La Strada is an oceanside pizza-style coffee house with indoor/outdoor seating.

 

Guests may enjoy a close encounter with local marine animals in the tide pools just outside the hotel, or enjoy a chance sighting of the seals, otters, and other sea creatures cavorting offshore.

Transportation
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport/ San Jose International Airport (108 mi/173.8 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Maritime Museum (0.8 mi/1.3km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center is staffed during the day offers computers, printers and high-speed Internet access
  • 10 conference rooms can accommodate up to 300
Policies and fees

  • Effective 09 September 2013, the resort fee will increase from $25 to $27.  This change will affect reservations booked 09 September 2013 onwards. The resort fee charge per room, per night includes valet parking with 24 hour in and out privileges, spa facility access for guests ages 18 and older and high-speed Internet access in the room.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa Rooms

STANDARD - GUEST_ROOM
With a view of historic Cannery Row, the recreational trail or Crispo Terrace, this spacious 400 square foot guestroom features beautiful European style furnishings, a king size feather bed, high-speed internet, in-room movies, bathrobes, hairdryer, minibar, and Gilchrist & Soames bath products.
LUXURY - GUEST_ROOM
Enjoy spectacular views of Monterey Bay or the historic harbor from your picture window. This room also features beautiful European style furnishings, a king size or two queen size feather beds, high-speed internet, in-room movies, bathrobes, hairdryer, minibar, and Gilchrist & Soames bath products.
PREMIUM - GUEST_ROOM
Enjoy inspired views of Monterey Bay and the historic harbor. These luxurious rooms feature private balconies, perfect for enjoying Monterey's famous sea life. You will also enjoy beautiful European style furnishings, one king size feather bed, high-speed internet, in-room movies, bathrobes, hairdryer, minibar, and Gilchrist & Soames bath products.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

36.6123 -121.8982
Area served
Closest Public Transport:
Nearby airports
MRY -- Monterey Peninsula Airport

Dining

Cafe La Strada
Our piazza-style oceanside cafe is the place to start your morning with the rich flavor of freshly roasted Peet's Coffee and artisan pastries. Enjoy specialty sandwiches, amazing desserts, gelato and more, all made daily on the premises. Outdoor seating at the Monterey Plaza Hotel's Dolphins fountain on the plaza offers a relaxed, friendly atmosphere with great service and stunning views of Monterey Bay and Mt. Toro. Open daily at 6:00AM
Schooners Coastal Kitchen and Bar
Schooners Coastal Kitchen and Bar, residing in the Monterey Plaza Hotel and Spa overlooking Monterey Bay, is a stunning restaurant featuring approachable, contemporary American coastal cuisine and sustainable seafood. Suspended over the waters of Monterey Bay, Schooners Coastal Kitchen and Bar is in the ideal location for celebrating the Central Coast and the spectacular ocean front region. Executive Chef Waller's commitment to fresh, high quality, sustainable seafood is reflected in the creative menu which features a variety of seafood options, both raw and cooked, as well as appetizers, soups, salads, large platters meant for sharing, entrees, wood-fired dishes, and selection of decadent desserts. A creative cocktail menu is served alongside an impressive wine list featuring Monterey County vintners, California wines and international vintages. The high-energy bar, bustling open kitchen, and crowded outdoor patio personifies a relaxed, fun and joyous atmosphere.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Monterey Plaza's ten conference and banquet rooms provide more than 17,000 square feet of indoor meeting space that can accommodate groups of 10 to 300 for meetings, conferences, banquets and private parties. In addition, the Hotel's Outdoor Plaza and Terrace, overlooking the Bay, can host groups up to 600.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (247)

Ratings and reviews for Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
247 out of 247
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brooke's mommy
Central coast
Feb 1, 2014

Beautiful!

Fantastic! Wonderful staff, beautiful hotel and perfect location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JohnBesta
Tustin, CA
Jan 26, 2014

January 2014

This was our first time staying at this property and we were more than pleased. The customer service compared with other top hotels in the US.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
norfolk lover
Monterey,Ca
Jan 15, 2014

The place to stay in Monterey

Can't say enough about this place. From the beautifully appointed rooms to the staff anticipating our needs to the fabulous food, I would come back here in a heartbeat. The only reason I did not give this hotel five stars is because they were painting the whole hotel while we were there,and they just happened to be in our hallway,but we did not spend time in the room during the day anyway. Wonderful ambiance,warm,welcoming staff and unparalleled views make this place perfect. We already plan on returning here.The hotel is so central to everything,only three blocks from the fantastic aquarium and sanctuary,close to the famous 17-mile drive through Carmel and Pebble Beach,and just a short hop to drive to Big Sur.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Do NOT miss the Monterey Bay Aquarium! I just cannot describe it,but four hours did not even come close to exploring all there was. Also,breakfast at Schooner's in the hotel is a delight,overlooking the water. Watching the sun rise on Monterey Bay to a fresh cup of coffee is heavenly! I highly recommend the cinnamon French toast with the fruit compote.

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bad back Blake
Mountain View, CA
Jan 2, 2014

so-so

The staff and service were excellent. The view is wonderful. The room itself was relatively small, the bathroom had a shower only, no bath tub. the water pressure in the shower was virtually non existent. The king size bed had a very soft mattress. Not very comfortable for somebody with a bad back. The pillows too were too soft. the room fridge was empty. There was an extra charge of about $25 to stock it. I was expecting a more comfortable room for the price I paid. The food in the hotel restaurant was ,medium quality and overpriced for what was offered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AquaImage
Business
Ventura, CA
Dec 23, 2013

Beautiful hotel, noisy room

The setting and public areas for this hotel are fantastic. I have stayed in many hotels in Monterey and the setting for this one is the nicest. However, the room furnishings had an old look to them - stuffy is how I would describe it. Not worn, but dated looking. My big gripe is the noise, room to room. How can you have a luxury hotel and be able to hear EVERYTHING in the next room? Even when the people are speaking in a normal tone of voice. I really don't understand this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Schooners Restaurant in the hotel is very good and a beautiful setting.

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nell abugauch
Fort mcmurray, alberta
Dec 15, 2013

Beautiful hotel

Everything was beyond my expectations! Staff and accommodations were excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Soso super lady
San Jose
Dec 4, 2013

Very nice and cozy hotel to stay in

I really recommend this hotel for nice and cozy stays.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
saitosan
San Francisco, CA
Dec 2, 2013

Impressive for the price

very impressive for the price, rooms are very pretty and classy, ideal for my anniversary weekend trip with my girlfriend. Nothing to say about this place, everything was perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vacation Mom 816
Monterey, California
Aug 16, 2013

Hoped for something awesome

The hotel check-in, valet, amenities, restaurant, beds, outdoor plaza, etc. are very, very nice. And would have been definitely worth the premium price (and 2-night minimum) we paid. HOWEVER, although we paid for an ocean view room, we got a view of ocean water on the bay side, AND a view of a horribly run-down, smelly, vacant (except for the many birds perching on/around it) building next door. I will try to upload a picture of what they don't show you in their brochure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Scenic Route around the peninsula was so, so beautiful. We did this prior to doing the 17-Mile Drive and were very glad we did. We also enjoyed downtown Carmel very much.

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Belgium
Boston, MA
Jul 12, 2013

Husband and wife get away 25 years

Room extremely comfortable and clean. Comfortable restaurant in hotel, staff most of all helpful, professional and friendly. Would highly recommended. Only lost item was a pool for swimming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Loulous for lunch or dinner small diner like but food fabulous on Wharf 2 For out of towners cooler than I expected jacket and long pants you may bring

Back to menu Return to top