$239 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2015 Check-out: Sep 16, 2015

Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

4 stars
View map of 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
183 out of 183
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sake58
Couples
Columbia, SC
Aug 21, 2014

Fabulous for anyone!

We loved this hotel all around! The staff was amazing & helpful. Room was clean & comfy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Outstanding!

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Will the Adventurer
Business
Laguna Beach, Taylor MS
Jul 19, 2014

Memorable view and location

Good place for small conference or wedding. Good coffee shop on court yard. Fun music outside in Sckooner

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Crystal Fish is great local secret. Incredible Sushi

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jtyler23
Family
Fairfax, VA
Jul 14, 2014

Thelma & Louise Trip

This hotel was in a nice, convenient location and our room was very comfortable & clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RMLF
Family
St. Louis, MO
Jul 8, 2014

Great family getaway

Great hotel! Room with beatiful views overlooking bay (2213). Free bikes to ride scenic trail. Great restaurant at hotel (I recommend the stuffed lobster and filet for two), $85, but well worth it. A little noisy in the morning outside room setting up for a conference breakfest (6am). Overall, I would recommend this hotel and stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe Golf
Family
San Ramon, CA
Jul 5, 2014

The perfect Monterey Get-away

We love this hotel for it's great staff, super location and very nice rooms. Located on Cannery Row within walking distance to the Monterey Bay Aquarium and nearby shopping, the hotel provides fabulous access to the bay with alfresco dining options for morning coffee or afternoon tea. An incredible location for weddings and other celebrations. It's always like coming home when we visit here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Ask the bell captain for discount savings at local eateries and shops.

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jrock99
Couples
Chico, ca
Jul 2, 2014

Romantic getaway

Beautiful location, great views and within walking distance to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tom and Shannon
Couples
Akron, OH, USA
Jul 1, 2014

Quality all around

We had a wonderful time. The place was wonderful! The location was perfect, about half way between the Fisherman's Wharf/Old Monterey and the Aquarium/Cannery Row making both very walkable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beattie
Couples
Uk
Jun 28, 2014

25 wedding anniversary

Couldnt have wished for a better place to spend our 25 wedding anniversary. The room was beautiful the hotel was excellent as were the staff. The food in Schooners was fantastic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
maaritaan
Couples
San Francisco, CA
Jun 24, 2014

Royal, old school hotel. Falling back in time.

We didn't realize that this hotel would be a very old, traditional royal type of hotel until we got there. Many of the people staying were oer 40 and being a couple in the late twenties, we felt out of place.. We were very excited about going to the spa (jacuzzi), but that didn't happen. It was packed with the over 40s people mingling and talking to each other. We couldn't get the quiet spa moment we were excited for. The hotel rooms were very clean and amenities were good. There are only 2 restaurants/cafes in the hotel. The views of the ocean and waters from the plaza is outstanding if you are in luck with the weather. I highly recommend going to the nearby local restaurants than going to the ones in the hotel. Of course, as always, those places are overpriced!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mt View
Friends
Mountain View, CA
Jun 23, 2014

Beautiful location!

Went here for a girls getaway weekend and had a fabulous time. The rooms were clean and tastefully appointed. We really enjoyed the hot tubs on the spa deck as well as the Vista Blue spa....both made for a relaxing experience. Our brunch at Schooners (onsite restaurant) was also very tasty!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Restaurant 1833 was amazing and certainly much better than our expectations! It had a hipper vibe than we expected, the food was delicious and the service was truly top notch. Would definitely dine there again!

Back to menu Return to top