$199 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

4 stars
View map of 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
187 out of 187
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
May 12, 2011

Relaxing getaway

Very attentive, friendly service. Very comfortable rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Burlingame, CA
May 4, 2011

Excellent experience at Monterey Plaza

This hotel is the best on Cannery Row[...] I got a great rate. I upgraded to an ocean view for an additional $50, which was well worth it. Very beautiful hotel, lobby, etc. The view of Monterey Bay, and the sound of the ocean make for a very pleasant experience. The restaurant sits out over the water, where I had breakfast twice, which was very good also. The staff at the front desk was excellent. Very friendly and helpful. There is a $20 resort fee, which includes valet parking and free wi-fi connection.I stay here every time I can. During busy times or weekends the price can increase dramatically, so when I can get in for $200 a night, it is truly a bargain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Lake City, Utah
Apr 22, 2011

Great Hotel

Very nice hotel. Beautiful location overlooking the water. Loved the binoculars in the room for watching the sea lions. Close to Cannery Row and the Aquarium. Only complaint was that the hot tub closed at 8pm and is not open for kids under 18yrs. We were looking forward to relaxing in the hot tub at night with the kids but could not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Cannery Row and the Aquarium

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Napa
Apr 19, 2011

Romantic place

Simply beatiful, good location. Staff was very helpful and respect!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
plaid player
Business
Sacramento CA
Feb 12, 2011

blissfull

The hotel employees were very helpful throughout our stay. From the evening knock o the door for extra towels to the good moring from the staff in the lobby. We just enjoyed the good weather and beautiful ocean views. Breakfast was wonderful out side of the hotel just beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The wonderful breakfast was just the right start to a beautiful day. We stayed for our 36th wedding anniversary. It was very romantic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pleasanton, CA
Jan 30, 2011

Great Time

Wonderful. Everyone was friendly and very helpful. Not one bad thing to say.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jan 30, 2011

Fabulous Couples weekend

We have stayed here before. We would say spend the extra money for a garden or ocean room. We stayed in basic town view and ended up on the backside against houses and there was a loud mariachi party going on..the hotel looked into and ended up moving us but where they moved us to was on the main street over the service entrance so we woke up to garbage trucks and people coming to work..but overall it is a great and comfortable hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

We went to Carmel by the Sea and went shopping and had a great time. small and quaint and nice walking around. The Carmel mission was okay but nothing fabulous as other missions...Lovers Point beautiful!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Petaluma, CA
Jan 29, 2011

40th Anniversary

It was close to everything. You can walk to Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, downtown and the coastline.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to everything, dining, shopping and relaxing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jan 23, 2011

Beautiful hotel, great location

The location of the hotel is ideal for visits to Monterey Bay Aquarium, shopping on Cannery Row and Pacific Grove, and Fisherman's Wharf. We went on a whale watching cruise and it was a beautiful day! We will definitely return and make use of the spa and restaurants on the decks overlooking the sea. The hotel itself is first class. Beautifully decorated and comfortable, large rooms with all the amenities. All staff were very helpful and courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Charthouse next door. Excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, ca
Jan 10, 2011

Monterey getaway

We wish we could have stayed longer but the hotel and room were beautiful and we got a free upgrade!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top