$289 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 20, 2015 Check-out: Aug 22, 2015

Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

4 stars
View map of 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
180 out of 180
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ariana04
Tracy, California
Apr 19, 2013

Perfect

We had a awesome expirence, everyone was so nice and welcoming, the dinning the lower floor was awesome the staff was great. And the ocean view from are room was amazing. We would defananitly go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Jul 15, 2011

Clean rooms with view

Clean, spacious rooms with ocean view. Right on the edge of cannery row, therefore one can walk to all the interesting attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Paso Robles, CA
Jul 12, 2011

Disappointed

I generally spend around $100-$150 on a hotel room. It was my birthday and I had a travel bonus from work so I thought I'd splurge and get a real nice room. I was very disappointed. It was an average size room, clean and comfortable. Exactly like the rooms I pay $100-150 for. It wasn't anything special. It didn't have any view to speak of as we were put on the back side of the hotel. The bathroom had no window or exhaust fan making it ackward to share and by the time two showers were taken, the bathroom was a wet steam room. The staff was friendly, and valet was quick to retrieve our car, but I won't stay here again for the price I paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orcutt, CA
Jul 5, 2011

Amazing stay

We had a wonderful time from the moment we pulled up to valet, they were friendly, social and attentive. In fact all staff we encountered were super friendly and helpful. The plaza is in the perfect location, within walking distance to aquarium, cannery row, plenty of restaurant's, Starbuck's, Peet's and the fisherman's wharf if you mind a little longer walk. They also have a free shuttle, just make sure to call and make arrangements ahead of time to ensure your ride. There is no pool... but as my kids said, "the ocean is our swimming pool" small area of beach access where you can go kayaking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
San Jose Explorer
Business
San Jose
Jul 5, 2011

Great Hotel

The location is wonderful, right near the cannery row. Most attractions within walking distance. Definitely a 5 star hotel. Great service, valet parking included (which is needed in prime time Monterey, like the 4th of Julyy holiday) Staff was helpful and prompt. We did two days of bike riding. Rode north 10 miles the first day, rode south to Carmel the second. Defiintely the Prettiest coastline in the United states.. Easy ride but the scenery cannot be beat.. Watch the head winds when riding back from Carmel!! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Get a bike and ride... the locale cannot be beat anywhere

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sunnyvale
Jul 2, 2011

great hotel

good food, service, atmosphere

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chill traveler
Business
Salt Lake city area
Jun 28, 2011

Unbeatable locatio, even better spa!

Monterey Plaza is a fantastic base for traveling the breath taking coast. The hotel staff is plentiful, helpful, friendly and run the hotel at a top notch standard. Our ocean view room (upgraded for free!) made sleeping with the waves peaceful and otter watching enjoyable with binoculars in the room to aid. The most enjoyable part was the spa. There is a $25 per day charge automatically billed to your rooms so be sure to take a steam shower and hot tub in the out door deck with breath taking ocean views.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Passion fish is a must for seafood lovers.

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, Florida
Jun 27, 2011

Perfect Place to Relax

Romms were large and clean, food was fantastic, staff was courteous and very helpful. The location was great. Dining on the water and just relaxing on the patios overlooking the water were enjoyable. The hotel offered free wine and cheese on the patio one evening and a live band the next. We took our parents and they loved the hotel so much it was hard to get them to leave!! The spa facilities were great, but a little expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Monterey Bay Aquarium

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kunkdunk
Business
mesa, az
Jun 12, 2011

Monterey Plaza Hotel and Spa

Amazing views from ocean view room. People were so nice and accommodating. Beautiful hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, Wa
Jun 10, 2011

mid week get away

Great hotel. Very nice staff. close to cannery row and fishermans pier. Great for couple get away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
May 16, 2011

Beautiful and in a wonderful location!

Checked in on a Saturday morning. Although check-in time is normally 4:00pm, the hotel accomodated our early arrival and had a room ready for us! We purchased Monterey Bay Aquarium tickets at the front desk and were please when the price was the same as the aquarium's adult price, but you get an extra consecutive day free! The aquarium is about a 10-15 minute walk from the hotel. The bed was very comfortable! I did not toss and turn all night like I usually do at other hotels. My boyfriend and I were amazed at the views from the hotel!!! We watched the sunset and were very content with our hotel selection, because that moment made it all worth it. Absolutely beautiful! Although Portola hotel is my favorite, I would stay here again next time I visit Moneterey, because of the location and amazing views. It is between Cannery Row and Fisherman's Wharf, so it is right in the middle of everything. Location and view wise, it doesn't get any better than this for the reasonable price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bistro Moulin is very close by (about a 15 minute walk). It is right next to the aquarium. It is a wonderful little French restaurant. Make reservations or else you will wait 45min-1hour!!!!

Back to menu Return to top