$199 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

4 stars
View map of 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
187 out of 187
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dringer
Business
Paso Robles
Oct 29, 2011

What a View!

I am used to looking out the window to check out the view in a hotel. Not here! The view was down over the balcony, and only by a few feet. Waves crashing on the black rock of Big Sur, right under us! I could have stayed on the balcony all night. The rest of the hotel was also wonderful -- great service in the dining room, valet parking, etc. The location was perfect, right across from Cannery Row. Even so, we managed to get lost fining our way to the aquarium - only a few blocks away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gaynol
Business
Bainbridge Island, WA
Sep 14, 2011

Horrible Experience

This was a family trip for us to celebrate my mom's birthday. We were really looking forward to our time in Monterey and were excited to be staying at the Monterey Plaza Hotel. That's why it was so terribly disappointing to have our stay go so badly. Our first night, I have no complaints. Our rooms overlooked the dolphin plaza and out onto Monterey Bay. This is truly and beautiful view and we left our windows open all night so we could listen to the surf and the seals barking. Saturday night was a nightmare. There was a large wedding out on the plaza and we were quite relieved when the noise stopped and the participants moved inside. But that was just the beginning. Once the music started our rooms were turned into a dance club. The noise level was so high that we could here the disc jockey and every song they were playing. I kept calling down to the front desk and they kept promising to contact banquets and get them to reduce the volume but that never happened. As it got closer to 10pm and my calls were getting more irate the front desk switched to "well, the music will stop at 10." The music did stop at 10 but then the participants spilled back out on to the plaza and we were treated to screaming kids and drunks for the next several hours. Now, obviously, you can't blame people for enjoying their wedding and whopping it up. But I do blame the hotel for renting out those rooms over the banquet hall when they knew far in advanced that a wedding was booked directly below. We had such a short time in Monterey and I really feel that the hotel disregarded our concerns and certainly did not provided us with the experience that we payed for. I can't in good conscience recommend that anyone stay here. It's a beautiful building, and a wonderful location but if you're there when there is a party or convention, you're just going to have to live with noise. This hotel doesn't seem to value the individual traveler or family as much as it's banquet and convention business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
movace
Business
Warsaw, Poland
Sep 6, 2011

Good room, but leave the kids at homr

We only stayed here one night with our 2 young kids. The location is perfect and if you get an oceanview even better. The rooms are very spacious. Carpets are very nice, beds very comfortable. Room has all the amenities you could want. The one thing was that the hotel does not have a pool and no breakfast was included in our not-so-low price we paid. I am always surprised that the cheaper places include brakfast while more expensive places don't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss the aquarium. It is great!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
alfaromeo1968
Business
Santa Barbara, CA, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Fantastic!!!

We were there for Concours D'elagance over this weekend so the whole town was packed as well as this hotel. Staff was very friendly, Valet was very kind and quick despite enormous amount of cars they had to shuffle. Rooms were clean and location was close to everything. Definitely will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dan L 89736
Business
Walnut Creek, CA, USA
Aug 18, 2011

Fantastic hotel!!!

I've never stayed in this hotel before, but I'm so glad I did. I happened to be on business, but I'll be going back very soon for a getaway weekend with my wife

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dan L 89736
Business
Walnut Creek, CA, USA
Aug 18, 2011

Fantastic hotel!!!

I've never stayed in this hotel before, but I'm so glad I did. I happened to be on business, but I'll be going back very soon for a getaway weekend with my wife

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

For $25, you get free valet parking and wireless Internet for your whole stay

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Professional tourist
Business
Palo Alto, CA, USA
Aug 17, 2011

Great Hotel but....

The reception and the service at the hotel were outstanding and very professional. The only desapointment was when we declined an offer for a room upgrade (for an extra $100/night) I felt that we were deliberately "pusnished" by gettting what must be the worst room in the hotel (right on the main street, second floor, small and very noisy). Still the room was very comfortable, with all the conveniences, woking appliances and internet, and perfectly well serviced. So no major complaints. Again virtually perfect service from the entire staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Barbara CA
Jul 27, 2011

Great trip to the Races

Every year I speen a few day in Monterey to go to the US MotoGP races. This year the hole family came with me. We had a great stay at the Plaza. The staff was friendly and helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maysville, Ga
Jul 26, 2011

Perfect service

It was a beautiful hotel and the staff was perfectly helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restuarant in the hotel was the best in the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Iowa
Jul 17, 2011

In-Between

We spent one week at the Monterey Plaza Hotel and Spa. We were very pleased with the beauty of the lobby, the setting on the ocean, and the size and cleanliness of the room. We found two exellent,nearby breakfast spots within an easy walk: the Trail Side which gives a full breakfast menu, beautiful view, and delicous food and La Strada - excellent pastries and coffees. TWO NEGATIVES: the Plaza is situated away from all the shops & restaurants of Carmel so we were always getting into our car which required a call ahead for the valet to bring up our car. Also, the concierge service is terrible, almost non-existent. The young people at the valet desk are friendly and try to help, but a hotel of this nature and expense needs to provide better service. We felt we missed some of the special areas because of this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top