$199 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

4 stars
View map of 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
187 out of 187
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Apr 3, 2012

Well kept property in the midst of Cannery Row

nice hotel/resort in Monterey. Cannery Row was a bit too touristy for our tastes (catering to a mass audience with mediocre restaurants and shops) but this hotel attempts to offer a higher degree of accommodations and service and succeeds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

C Restaurant at the Intercontinental is an oasis in the honky tonk Cannery Row

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
5 dogs
Business
Chico
Mar 5, 2012

Beautiful and comfortable

Incredibly helpful staff and beautiful location. Do not need to leave the premises for a wonderful vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Spa carries a great brand of hair care

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cmattbeach
Business
Windsor, california
Feb 28, 2012

Not what you would expect.

We spent over $500 for a room that had an ocean view with a balcony. The balcony had two chairs but it was so small you had to step over the table to sit in the second one. The ocean view was of the ocean between the hotel and the other brick wall. Yes you saw ocean but no you didn't see much of it. We also had a problem with the loud music all night. If this hotel was $200 a night maybe it would be worth it but at the price we paid I can't recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
amand
Business
ca
Feb 27, 2012

Awesome family

We had a blast. Beautiful hotel! RIght on the water--looks just like the photos.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
amand
Business
ca
Feb 16, 2012

Great time!!

Loved everything but the location and view are amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nascimento
Business
Hilmar, CA
Jan 4, 2012

Amazing Trip

We had a great experience here at this hotel. From first encounter with Valet to leaving the hotel everyone was so friendly and kind. The room was beautiful and clean and the food was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Divertido
Business
Palo Alto, CA, USA
Dec 29, 2011

Great for a romantic getaway

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights. Great location with access to cannery row shops and restaurants. Room was very comfortable and served as an excellent home base for our day trip to big sur and surrounding areas. Only complaint was the "Resort Fees." I was under the impression I had paid in full and then was charged additional daily fees when I didn't use any of the resort facilities. I think such a fee should be based on actual use of a service; since I didn't gain any benefit from these amenities, I don't think I should have to pay for them. Thanks for a great stay overall though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
breakslimit
Business
east bay, ca
Nov 1, 2011

great weekend getaway

It's a nice weekend getaway location. We stayed overnight from our visit to Big Sur. The staffs were very friendly. The room was super clean and comfortable. It's next to the beach so we had a stroll down to the beach. The only drawback was by 9pm or so, everything closed around town. We were craving for some desserts but couldn't find any place nearby. Overall, the experience was awesome. Although the price was on the expensive side, but it was worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the Duck Club grill is a great breakfast place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JinxIe
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Oct 31, 2011

Very nice hotel!

nice hotel to stay at Monterey with a great location. Will have to pay $25 resort fee, but that includes wi-fi and valet parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dringer
Business
Paso Robles
Oct 29, 2011

What a View!

I am used to looking out the window to check out the view in a hotel. Not here! The view was down over the balcony, and only by a few feet. Waves crashing on the black rock of Big Sur, right under us! I could have stayed on the balcony all night. The rest of the hotel was also wonderful -- great service in the dining room, valet parking, etc. The location was perfect, right across from Cannery Row. Even so, we managed to get lost fining our way to the aquarium - only a few blocks away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top