$209 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

4 stars
400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
180 reviews
Quality all around

We had a wonderful time. The place was wonderful! The location was perfect, about half way between... See full review

  • Tom and Shannon
  • Jul 1, 2014
25 wedding anniversary

Couldnt have wished for a better place to spend our 25 wedding anniversary. The room was beautiful... See full review

  • Beattie
  • Jun 28, 2014
One of only 160 Forbes Four Star hotels in the U.S.

Prepare to be entranced. Monterey Plaza Hotel and Spa perches guests above scenic Monterey Bay in elegant, European-inspired style architecture and décor. Enjoy sweeping coastal views from the rooftop Vista Blue Spa or two oceanfront restaurants. Location, amenities, and service combine to earn Monterey Plaza the only Forbes Four Star award in Monterey, and one of only 160 hotels in the entire U.S.

Highlights
  • 2010 Forbes Four Star designation
  • Full service rooftop, oceanfront spa
  • Fitness center
Rooms

The 290 non-smoking deluxe guestrooms, including 10 spacious suites, are stylishly appointed with classic Biedermeier-style furniture, decorator fabrics, duvet bed coverings, a custom-designed refreshment center, and ceiling fan. Many rooms offer a private balcony with views of the ocean, hotel gardens, or Cannery Row. In-room entertainment includes a 27-inch flat screen television with On Command video system. A personal writing desk, coffee maker and complimentary coffee, wet bar and refrigerator complete the room.

 

Large marble bathrooms offer separate vanity area, plush terry robes, hairdryer, and complimentary Gilchrist & Soames personal bath amenities.

Features

Full-service Vista Blue Spa, located above tranquil Monterey Bay, takes its views from its rooftop setting. Spa treatments focus on comfort and relaxation, recharging the body, renewing the spirit, and reviving the senses. The spa's fitness center features Cybex aerobic and Keiser weight-lifting equipment and experienced trainers. A light spa lunch is available.

 

Varied dining options are available at two waterfront restaurants, Schooners Bistro on the Bay and the Duck Club Grill, as well as the European-style Café La Strada, and even the Vista Blue Spa. Schooners, winner of Monterey County's "Best Margarita" and "Best Specialty Drink," features indoor/outdoor seating year-round. Duck Club Grill offers innovative American cuisine and room service is available from its menu. Café La Strada is an oceanside pizza-style coffee house with indoor/outdoor seating.

 

Guests may enjoy a close encounter with local marine animals in the tide pools just outside the hotel, or enjoy a chance sighting of the seals, otters, and other sea creatures cavorting offshore.

Transportation
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport/ San Jose International Airport (108 mi/173.8 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Maritime Museum (0.8 mi/1.3km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center is staffed during the day offers computers, printers and high-speed Internet access
  • 10 conference rooms can accommodate up to 300
Policies and fees

  • Effective 09 September 2013, the resort fee will increase from $25 to $27.  This change will affect reservations booked 09 September 2013 onwards. The resort fee charge per room, per night includes valet parking with 24 hour in and out privileges, spa facility access for guests ages 18 and older and high-speed Internet access in the room.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

36.6123 -121.8982
Area served
Closest Public Transport:
Nearby airports
MRY -- Monterey Peninsula Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa Rooms

STANDARD - GUEST_ROOM
With a view of historic Cannery Row, the recreational trail or Crispo Terrace, this spacious 400 square foot guestroom features beautiful European style furnishings, a king size feather bed, high-speed internet, in-room movies, bathrobes, hairdryer, minibar, and Gilchrist & Soames bath products.
LUXURY - GUEST_ROOM
Enjoy spectacular views of Monterey Bay or the historic harbor from your picture window. This room also features beautiful European style furnishings, a king size or two queen size feather beds, high-speed internet, in-room movies, bathrobes, hairdryer, minibar, and Gilchrist & Soames bath products.
PREMIUM - GUEST_ROOM
Enjoy inspired views of Monterey Bay and the historic harbor. These luxurious rooms feature private balconies, perfect for enjoying Monterey's famous sea life. You will also enjoy beautiful European style furnishings, one king size feather bed, high-speed internet, in-room movies, bathrobes, hairdryer, minibar, and Gilchrist & Soames bath products.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Cafe La Strada
Our piazza-style oceanside cafe is the place to start your morning with the rich flavor of freshly roasted Peet's Coffee and artisan pastries. Enjoy specialty sandwiches, amazing desserts, gelato and more, all made daily on the premises. Outdoor seating at the Monterey Plaza Hotel's Dolphins fountain on the plaza offers a relaxed, friendly atmosphere with great service and stunning views of Monterey Bay and Mt. Toro. Open daily at 6:00AM
Schooners Coastal Kitchen and Bar
Schooners Coastal Kitchen and Bar, residing in the Monterey Plaza Hotel and Spa overlooking Monterey Bay, is a stunning restaurant featuring approachable, contemporary American coastal cuisine and sustainable seafood. Suspended over the waters of Monterey Bay, Schooners Coastal Kitchen and Bar is in the ideal location for celebrating the Central Coast and the spectacular ocean front region. Executive Chef Waller's commitment to fresh, high quality, sustainable seafood is reflected in the creative menu which features a variety of seafood options, both raw and cooked, as well as appetizers, soups, salads, large platters meant for sharing, entrees, wood-fired dishes, and selection of decadent desserts. A creative cocktail menu is served alongside an impressive wine list featuring Monterey County vintners, California wines and international vintages. The high-energy bar, bustling open kitchen, and crowded outdoor patio personifies a relaxed, fun and joyous atmosphere.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Monterey Plaza's ten conference and banquet rooms provide more than 17,000 square feet of indoor meeting space that can accommodate groups of 10 to 300 for meetings, conferences, banquets and private parties. In addition, the Hotel's Outdoor Plaza and Terrace, overlooking the Bay, can host groups up to 600.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (180)

Ratings and reviews for Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
180 out of 180
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dringer
Paso Robles
Oct 29, 2011

What a View!

I am used to looking out the window to check out the view in a hotel. Not here! The view was down over the balcony, and only by a few feet. Waves crashing on the black rock of Big Sur, right under us! I could have stayed on the balcony all night. The rest of the hotel was also wonderful -- great service in the dining room, valet parking, etc. The location was perfect, right across from Cannery Row. Even so, we managed to get lost fining our way to the aquarium - only a few blocks away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gaynol
Bainbridge Island, WA
Sep 14, 2011

Horrible Experience

This was a family trip for us to celebrate my mom's birthday. We were really looking forward to our time in Monterey and were excited to be staying at the Monterey Plaza Hotel. That's why it was so terribly disappointing to have our stay go so badly. Our first night, I have no complaints. Our rooms overlooked the dolphin plaza and out onto Monterey Bay. This is truly and beautiful view and we left our windows open all night so we could listen to the surf and the seals barking. Saturday night was a nightmare. There was a large wedding out on the plaza and we were quite relieved when the noise stopped and the participants moved inside. But that was just the beginning. Once the music started our rooms were turned into a dance club. The noise level was so high that we could here the disc jockey and every song they were playing. I kept calling down to the front desk and they kept promising to contact banquets and get them to reduce the volume but that never happened. As it got closer to 10pm and my calls were getting more irate the front desk switched to "well, the music will stop at 10." The music did stop at 10 but then the participants spilled back out on to the plaza and we were treated to screaming kids and drunks for the next several hours. Now, obviously, you can't blame people for enjoying their wedding and whopping it up. But I do blame the hotel for renting out those rooms over the banquet hall when they knew far in advanced that a wedding was booked directly below. We had such a short time in Monterey and I really feel that the hotel disregarded our concerns and certainly did not provided us with the experience that we payed for. I can't in good conscience recommend that anyone stay here. It's a beautiful building, and a wonderful location but if you're there when there is a party or convention, you're just going to have to live with noise. This hotel doesn't seem to value the individual traveler or family as much as it's banquet and convention business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
movace
Warsaw, Poland
Sep 6, 2011

Good room, but leave the kids at homr

We only stayed here one night with our 2 young kids. The location is perfect and if you get an oceanview even better. The rooms are very spacious. Carpets are very nice, beds very comfortable. Room has all the amenities you could want. The one thing was that the hotel does not have a pool and no breakfast was included in our not-so-low price we paid. I am always surprised that the cheaper places include brakfast while more expensive places don't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss the aquarium. It is great!!!

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
alfaromeo1968
Santa Barbara, CA, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Fantastic!!!

We were there for Concours D'elagance over this weekend so the whole town was packed as well as this hotel. Staff was very friendly, Valet was very kind and quick despite enormous amount of cars they had to shuffle. Rooms were clean and location was close to everything. Definitely will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dan L 89736
Walnut Creek, CA, USA
Aug 18, 2011

Fantastic hotel!!!

I've never stayed in this hotel before, but I'm so glad I did. I happened to be on business, but I'll be going back very soon for a getaway weekend with my wife

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Professional tourist
Palo Alto, CA, USA
Aug 17, 2011

Great Hotel but....

The reception and the service at the hotel were outstanding and very professional. The only desapointment was when we declined an offer for a room upgrade (for an extra $100/night) I felt that we were deliberately "pusnished" by gettting what must be the worst room in the hotel (right on the main street, second floor, small and very noisy). Still the room was very comfortable, with all the conveniences, woking appliances and internet, and perfectly well serviced. So no major complaints. Again virtually perfect service from the entire staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Santa Barbara CA
Jul 27, 2011

Great trip to the Races

Every year I speen a few day in Monterey to go to the US MotoGP races. This year the hole family came with me. We had a great stay at the Plaza. The staff was friendly and helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Maysville, Ga
Jul 26, 2011

Perfect service

It was a beautiful hotel and the staff was perfectly helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The restuarant in the hotel was the best in the area.

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Iowa
Jul 17, 2011

In-Between

We spent one week at the Monterey Plaza Hotel and Spa. We were very pleased with the beauty of the lobby, the setting on the ocean, and the size and cleanliness of the room. We found two exellent,nearby breakfast spots within an easy walk: the Trail Side which gives a full breakfast menu, beautiful view, and delicous food and La Strada - excellent pastries and coffees. TWO NEGATIVES: the Plaza is situated away from all the shops & restaurants of Carmel so we were always getting into our car which required a call ahead for the valet to bring up our car. Also, the concierge service is terrible, almost non-existent. The young people at the valet desk are friendly and try to help, but a hotel of this nature and expense needs to provide better service. We felt we missed some of the special areas because of this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco
Jul 15, 2011

Clean rooms with view

Clean, spacious rooms with ocean view. Right on the edge of cannery row, therefore one can walk to all the interesting attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search