$239 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2015 Check-out: Sep 16, 2015

Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

4 stars
View map of 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
183 out of 183
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MacJinKC
Couples
Kansas City, MO, USA
Apr 13, 2012

Enjoyed the stay, but prefer a more modern hotel

This is a very formal, old school hotel with nice amenities and an incredible staff. Although we prefer a more modern hotel, this place will be loved by those who prefer a classical hotel ambience. The location is nice--right on the water. We could see otters playing below while eating at the hotel restuarant, Schooner's. Our meal at Schooner's was the highlight of our stay--the angry prawns were excellently prepared and the service was 5-star. Great ambience and view as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cal97
Family
San Mateo, CA
Apr 9, 2012

Great Family Vacation

We took our little ones, two and four, to Monterey for the weekend and this was the perfect place. Good location, nice restaurant, and good value for the price of the room. Then even sold Aquarium tickets in the lobby, so it made it so much easier. We will definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lizabeta
Family
San Francisco, CA, USA
Apr 9, 2012

Great location and cozy place to stay

Staying at Monterey Plaza Hotel was a very pleasant experience! We had all our needs met when needed to request a crib for our two year old baby, a bottle warmer, extra blankets etc. Its rooms have a warm interior design and are very clean. The location is great and is very close to the bay aquarium and stores and restaurants. What makes the hotel unique is its big outdoor area with the fountain and wonderful views of the bay. It is great for its price and I would definitely suggest it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a great playing area for children called Dennis the Menace right next to s lake and it is definitely worth visiting if having children.

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Boston, MA, USA
Apr 3, 2012

Well kept property in the midst of Cannery Row

nice hotel/resort in Monterey. Cannery Row was a bit too touristy for our tastes (catering to a mass audience with mediocre restaurants and shops) but this hotel attempts to offer a higher degree of accommodations and service and succeeds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

C Restaurant at the Intercontinental is an oasis in the honky tonk Cannery Row

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
5 dogs
Couples
Chico
Mar 5, 2012

Beautiful and comfortable

Incredibly helpful staff and beautiful location. Do not need to leave the premises for a wonderful vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Spa carries a great brand of hair care

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cmattbeach
Couples
Windsor, california
Feb 28, 2012

Not what you would expect.

We spent over $500 for a room that had an ocean view with a balcony. The balcony had two chairs but it was so small you had to step over the table to sit in the second one. The ocean view was of the ocean between the hotel and the other brick wall. Yes you saw ocean but no you didn't see much of it. We also had a problem with the loud music all night. If this hotel was $200 a night maybe it would be worth it but at the price we paid I can't recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
amand
Family
ca
Feb 27, 2012

Awesome family

We had a blast. Beautiful hotel! RIght on the water--looks just like the photos.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
amand
Family
ca
Feb 16, 2012

Great time!!

Loved everything but the location and view are amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nascimento
Family
Hilmar, CA
Jan 4, 2012

Amazing Trip

We had a great experience here at this hotel. From first encounter with Valet to leaving the hotel everyone was so friendly and kind. The room was beautiful and clean and the food was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Divertido
Couples
Palo Alto, CA, USA
Dec 29, 2011

Great for a romantic getaway

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights. Great location with access to cannery row shops and restaurants. Room was very comfortable and served as an excellent home base for our day trip to big sur and surrounding areas. Only complaint was the "Resort Fees." I was under the impression I had paid in full and then was charged additional daily fees when I didn't use any of the resort facilities. I think such a fee should be based on actual use of a service; since I didn't gain any benefit from these amenities, I don't think I should have to pay for them. Thanks for a great stay overall though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top