$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2015 Check-out: Aug 28, 2015

Monterey Marriott

4 stars
View map of 350 Calle Principal, 350 CALLE PRINCIPAL, Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
41 reviews
We'll be coming back

The staff was extremely friendly. We stayed for one night with our 2 kids (3 and 1). The room was... See full review

  • Larnnauti Family
  • Oct 23, 2014
Great hotel in great location

Perfect hotel, just a walk away from fisherman's wharf and downtown monterey. Also, has a great... See full review

  • MnishanB
  • Feb 18, 2014

Explore Monterey Peninsula by foot, bike and car from the beautifully maintained Monterey Marriott in the heart of historic downtown. Two on-site restaurants and a day spa distinguish this hotel from others in the area. Lounge by the heated outdoor pool and whirlpool in the courtyard, stop by the fitness center that is open 24 hours or walk to restaurants, shops and nightlife. Take a short walk to Fisherman's Wharf or a longer stroll to Monterey Bay Aquarium. The hotel connects to the convention center for business convenience.

Rooms
Artwork of area beaches and cypress trees join a carnival of crisp stripes and warm colors at the Monterey Marriott. Choose from 319 guest rooms or upgrade to a standard, junior, presidential or executive suite. Fully renovated, smoke-free rooms with pillow-top mattresses and duvets face the courtyard swimming pool, the city or look out to the bay. Balcony rooms may be available upon request. Guests at Monterey Marriott find convenience in a desk with wired Internet access (fees apply), pay-per-view movies, video checkout, a coffee-maker and room service.
Property features
Contemporary artwork by a local artist adds to the classy factor at Monterey Marriott. Take advantage of valet or off-site parking (fees apply), free newspapers and an ATM. In the fitness center, cardiovascular equipment offers personal LCD screens. Book a pedicure, massage or scrub at on-site Escape Day Spa. Once fully refreshed, spend a day at the beach, on the golf course, biking, horseback riding, shopping, boating or wine tasting, all within several miles.
Highlights

  • Free Wi-Fi in the lobby at Monterey Marriott
  • Two restaurants and a lobby coffee bar serving Starbucks coffee
  • Heated outdoor pool, whirlpool, on-site day spa and 24/7 fitness center
  • Extensive meeting space and connected to the Monterey Convention Center

Nearby attractions

  • Monterey Conference Center (across the street)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Dennis the Menace Playground at El Estero Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Cannery Row (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Carmel Mission Basilica (4.9 mi/7.8 km)
  • Pebble Beach Golf Course (5.3 mi/8.6 km)
  • Big Sur, Calif. (31 mi/49.8 km)
  • Santa Cruz (43.3 mi/69.7 km)
  • Hearst Castle (93.7 mi/151 km)

Business

  • Wi-Fi in lobby and some other public areas, wired Internet access in guest rooms (fees apply)
  • Full-service business center
  • Offers 27 meeting rooms with more than 50,000 square feet of space to accommodate up to 1,000 people

Transportation

  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (3.7 mi/5.9 km)
  • San Jose International Airport (72.5 mi/117 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (101 mi/163 km)

Policies
The hotel is currently undergoing renovation of guestroom bathrooms from October 28, 2012 to January 22, 2013. Construction is scheduled from 8AM to 6PM daily.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Monterey Marriott also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Dining

Three Flags Cafe
Enjoy dining in Monterey at this casual all-American restaurant. Three Flags Café serves breakfast a la carte as well as a cook-to-order breakfast buffet. The restaurant is also open for lunch Monday through Friday.
Characters Sports Bar & Grill
Our Monterey, CA restaurant's charming sports bar atmosphere makes it the perfect spot for a casual dinner and cocktails.
Lobby Coffee Bar
Our Lobby Coffee Bar serves Starbucks specialty coffees, pastries and fruits for those looking for grab-and-go Monterey dining options.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Monterey Marriott

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.5

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monterey Marriott

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monterey Bay, CA
Jun 27, 2011

Save your money,

Towels with rips and strings hanging off of them, was supposed to be close to bay and was over two miles away, was to have bay view and weather was hazy and overcast with no view, snack shop off of lobby was no longer there, had to walk down the block. Over-priced and rooms were less than Marriott Courtyard quality! Expected so much more!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monterey Marriott

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MVCalifornia
Business
California, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Go elsewhere in Monterey

Upon arriving at the hotel, was greeted by a less than courteous desk staff that informed us that the only way they would give us a king size bed is if we paid another 50% to upgrade rooms. Watch out if you book here for this trick. The doormen were nice, although they often realized they should open doors after I had already opened them for my significant other. Valet parking ($20) is the only option unless you want to park two blocks away. The valet staff was nice however the "windshield washing" left a thick residue that was with us for our 30 minute drive home. Pass on this. The beds were less than comfortable especially given the double bed instead of a king size. Nowhere near something like a heavenly. Location is great if you want to be close to downtown. If you want to be closer to Cannery Row, just know this is close but still a short drive. Overall for the price, there are better options out there. We are two very easy-going people but came away thinking "never again" for this price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monterey Marriott

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nffffffffffffffffffffffff
Business
CA
Oct 5, 2012

The rooms are ok, but for the price payed...

The rooms are ok, but for the price payed... WiFi is not included local phone calls - $5 no parking, only valet or a payed parking two blocks away the hotel is hosting meetings and conferences, so if you try to get to your room at the 6th floor during a lunch break time - you will wait for an elevator for 10 mins no water in a lobby for the exhibition rooms - projector/screen settings cut slides on their edges (yes, I prep my ppt taking this in account, but it's disappointing to find a "professional" conference venue in such a poor shape) - a projector in the largest auditorium screws colors to an unreadable bleached mess and eliminates fine details as chart axes - air conditioning is poorly regulated - can be desert-hot in the morning and then freezing in the afternoon this was my first review for the hotel, but now I have a few things to add. 1. they have charge me for water that we did not use. I talked to my colleagues, and they had been charged too. 2. My credit card was used for some I-net purchases, and the only time I left it in my bag unattended was in the hotel. Bottom lines: - Marriott amenities are very poor for the price they charge - check well their charges - things might be added - watch your credit cards and documents, don't trust the staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monterey Marriott

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jeanlelu
Business
Monterey
Dec 31, 2012

construction in the hotel

Room was small and there was work / construction in our floor,,, Loud music from working crew was disturbing. Not too happy with our stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monterey Marriott

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nevada city, ca
Aug 24, 2009

"the good, the bad, the ugly"

Great location, but not informative. Did not know they had wine tasting on the Friday we were there. Had to ask twice for movie tickets that were part of package. Asked twice for towels, ect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monterey Marriott

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
yoyi
Business
monterey
Dec 1, 2013

ehhh

Ok but good pool.big don't think I will stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Uh

Review of Monterey Marriott

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
OSCAR A
Business
SACRAMENTO, CA
Sep 16, 2009

NICE, BUT BATHROOM DIDN'T WORK.

THE HOTEL WAS NICE AND THE LOCATION WAS CENTRAL SINCE IT WAS CLOSE TO THE PEER AND SEVERAL RESTAURANTS, BUT TOILET DIDN'T WORK PROPERLY AND OVERFLOWED 3 TIMES. THE FRONT MANAGER DID NOT EVEN APOLOGIZE FOR THE INCONVENIENCE OR OFFER AN UPGRADE. BESIDES THAT WE HAD A WONDERFUL TIME. THE IRONIC PART WAS THAT THE PARKING VALET, BELL BOYS, AND CUSTODIAN WERE THE MOST PROFESSIONAL AND I WAS IMPRESSED WITH THEIR SERVICE, BUT THE FRONT DESK PEOPLE WERE LACKING PEOPLE SKILLS AND WERE A LITTLE POMPUS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monterey Marriott

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madera
Aug 8, 2011

Less than impressed

The hotel was nice. The staff out front were fantastic. That is where the compliments end. The staff at check in appeared to be to busy for any amount of a personal touch. My room was supposed to have a waterfront view. It was a partial view at best and the ice machine and mechanical room were very loud and distracting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

1833 was a fantastic place to eat and a very short walk from the hotel

Review of Monterey Marriott

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Apr 8, 2010

monterey trip

The hotel looked far different from what it looked in the pictures. The furniture was old and so were the beddings and the linens. We paid extra for the view and when we complained we were compensated with free breakfast but we still felt 200 dollars a night was too much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monterey Marriott

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
paiankur
Business
Fremont, California
Jul 7, 2014

Premium price average service

The day we checked in, we had to call house keeping 2 times: mini fridge wasnt working, no coffee in the room and no coffee cups. Next day again they forgot to replace coffee cups. Also, in room dining had very limited options due to some power outage. Rooms were nice and clean, and once we asked for stuff, they complied immediately: gave us a new fridge and everything in < 15 mins. Staff and valet were very nice and polite. But for a premium price that we paid we did not feel like we got enough!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top