$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 19, 2014

Monterey Downtown Travelodge

2 stars
675 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
73 reviews
Great place to Stay

It was in a great location. The room was comfortable and so were the beds. We had several choices... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Feb 23, 2011
Great place to Stay

It was in a great location. The room was comfortable and so were the beds. We had several choices... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Feb 23, 2011
A fresh look with economical downtown convenience
With a downtown locale at small-town prices, Monterey Downtown Travelodge sits just two blocks from the main drag, Alvarado Street. A retro, midcentury-style facade opens to a smoke-free hotel filled with new carpet and furnishings plus updated guest rooms with free Wi-Fi. Find a friendly staff at the only economy lodge in Downtown Monterey. Swim in the outdoor pool or stroll to Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Beach or Historic Plaza. Or follow the Monterey Recreation Trail to Monterey Bay Aquarium and Cannery Row after a free continental breakfast.
Highlights

  • Free expanded continental breakfast
  • Free in-room wireless Internet access
  • Outdoor swimming pool with sunning area at Monterey Downtown Travelodge
  • Economy-style lodging in downtown Monterey
  • Walk to attractions, restaurants and the conference center

Rooms
The 51 nonsmoking rooms at Monterey Downtown Travelodge offer one or two queen beds and a balcony, some of which face the swimming pool. Simmons pillow-top beds invite a comfortable night of rest, while cable TVs with HBO, ESPN and the Disney Channel entertain families. Modern colors and upbeat prints add a splash of personality to bed covers and curtains. Look for a massage showerhead, new furnishings and free Wi-Fi. Mini refrigerators may be available upon request at Monterey Downtown Travelodge.
Features
Just off Highway 1 and walking distance to the Monterey Conference Center, Monterey Downtown Travelodge offers free covered parking, newspapers, coffee, tea and a continental breakfast that stretches until 10 a.m. Restaurants begin across the street and continue for miles. Take a scenic drive to Carmel, Pacific Grove or Pebble Beach and its renowned golf links. Explore picturesque 17-Mile Drive or spend a day at Del Monte Shopping Center with its 13-screen, state-of-the-art Century Theatres. 
Transportation

  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • San Jose International Airport (72.1 mi/116 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (101 mi/163 km)

Attractions

  • Monterey Conference Center (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Dennis the Menace Playground at El Estero Park (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Cannery Row (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Carmel Mission Basilica (4.5 mi/7.3 km)
  • Pebble Beach Golf Course (5 mi/8.1 km)
  • Big Sur, Calif. (31.8 mi/51.2 km)
  • Santa Cruz (42.9 mi/69.1 km)
  • Hearst Castle (94.5 mi/152 km)

Business

  • Free Wi-Fi in guest rooms
  • Free incoming faxes

Hotel Map

36.5955 -121.8931
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Monterey Downtown Travelodge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Services
24 hour front desk
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Indoor parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (73)

Ratings and reviews for Monterey Downtown Travelodge

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monterey Downtown Travelodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
snookems
Gilroy, CA
Mar 1, 2010

Travelodge

Staying at the Travelodge was a very good experience. Before going, I read other reviews and I was hesitant on booking it. However, I'm glad I booked it! The location was excellent and everyone was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

About one mile from the hotel is Cannery Row. We taxied ourselves to Cannery Row and ate at Bubba Gumps. Very good experience! Cheap taxi ride and great food!

Review of Monterey Downtown Travelodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
snookems
Gilroy, CA
Mar 1, 2010

Travelodge

Staying at the Travelodge was a very good experience. Before going, I read other reviews and I was hesitant on booking it. However, I'm glad I booked it! The location was excellent and everyone was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

About one mile from the hotel is Cannery Row. We taxied ourselves to Cannery Row and ate at Bubba Gumps. Very good experience! Cheap taxi ride and great food!

Review of Monterey Downtown Travelodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Welganator
Reno, NV
Jan 5, 2010

Good value for the money

We stayed at this hotel because it was cheap, and close to the Monterey Bay Aquarium. It also turned out to be walking distance from fisherman's wharf, where they have plenty of shops and restaurants. (try the clam chowder). The only problem with the hotel was that the room smelled heavily of cleaning products. Well, at least it was clean. We didn't mind a whole lot because we didn't spend a lot of time in the room. We had a great time and wouldn't mind staying at this hotel again to do more of the activities they have in Monterey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Monterey Downtown Travelodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Welganator
Reno, NV
Jan 5, 2010

Good value for the money

We stayed at this hotel because it was cheap, and close to the Monterey Bay Aquarium. It also turned out to be walking distance from fisherman's wharf, where they have plenty of shops and restaurants. (try the clam chowder). The only problem with the hotel was that the room smelled heavily of cleaning products. Well, at least it was clean. We didn't mind a whole lot because we didn't spend a lot of time in the room. We had a great time and wouldn't mind staying at this hotel again to do more of the activities they have in Monterey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Monterey Downtown Travelodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Antelope, Ca
Dec 30, 2009

Would definetly stay again

Great service, and nice location. It is about 2 and a half miles from the aquarium though... so with young children we definitely had to drive. Besides the small bathrooms I would say the rooms were pretty nice. Much nicer than you might expect from a travelodge. We will stay there again next time for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Long walk to aquarium with children.

Review of Monterey Downtown Travelodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Antelope, Ca
Dec 30, 2009

Would definetly stay again

Great service, and nice location. It is about 2 and a half miles from the aquarium though... so with young children we definitely had to drive. Besides the small bathrooms I would say the rooms were pretty nice. Much nicer than you might expect from a travelodge. We will stay there again next time for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Long walk to aquarium with children.

Review of Monterey Downtown Travelodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BIKERFAM
TEHACHAPI ,CA
Nov 6, 2009

It was like sleeping on the AUTOBAHN !!

The hotel was clean, nicely decorated, comfortable mattress, newly remodeled. But super loud !! Cars , Sirens , People yelling !! It was not a restful night! Good location just take your earplugs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

FISH HOPPER WAS EXCELLENT

Review of Monterey Downtown Travelodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BIKERFAM
TEHACHAPI ,CA
Nov 6, 2009

It was like sleeping on the AUTOBAHN !!

The hotel was clean, nicely decorated, comfortable mattress, newly remodeled. But super loud !! Cars , Sirens , People yelling !! It was not a restful night! Good location just take your earplugs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

FISH HOPPER WAS EXCELLENT

Review of Monterey Downtown Travelodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cloude
Stockton,ca
Nov 2, 2009

Monterey is always perfect the room also

The room was pretty nice alot better then i would have thought, knowing we were staying at a travelodge. Monterey is great 1 of my fav places i've ever been to.Also everything you could need is within easy driving of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Monterey Downtown Travelodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cloude
Stockton,ca
Nov 2, 2009

Monterey is always perfect the room also

The room was pretty nice alot better then i would have thought, knowing we were staying at a travelodge. Monterey is great 1 of my fav places i've ever been to.Also everything you could need is within easy driving of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top