Monterey Downtown Travelodge

2 stars
675 Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
43 reviews
Perfect location

I had a good experience at this hotel. The room was clean and comfotable and the staff was very... See full review

  • Ritzler
  • Sep 4, 2014
Great place to Stay

It was in a great location. The room was comfortable and so were the beds. We had several choices... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Feb 23, 2011
A fresh look with economical downtown convenience
With a downtown locale at small-town prices, Monterey Downtown Travelodge sits just two blocks from the main drag, Alvarado Street. A retro, midcentury-style facade opens to a smoke-free hotel filled with new carpet and furnishings plus updated guest rooms with free Wi-Fi. Find a friendly staff at the only economy lodge in Downtown Monterey. Swim in the outdoor pool or stroll to Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Beach or Historic Plaza. Or follow the Monterey Recreation Trail to Monterey Bay Aquarium and Cannery Row after a free continental breakfast.
Highlights

  • Free expanded continental breakfast
  • Free in-room wireless Internet access
  • Outdoor swimming pool with sunning area at Monterey Downtown Travelodge
  • Economy-style lodging in downtown Monterey
  • Walk to attractions, restaurants and the conference center

Rooms
The 51 nonsmoking rooms at Monterey Downtown Travelodge offer one or two queen beds and a balcony, some of which face the swimming pool. Simmons pillow-top beds invite a comfortable night of rest, while cable TVs with HBO, ESPN and the Disney Channel entertain families. Modern colors and upbeat prints add a splash of personality to bed covers and curtains. Look for a massage showerhead, new furnishings and free Wi-Fi. Mini refrigerators may be available upon request at Monterey Downtown Travelodge.
Features
Just off Highway 1 and walking distance to the Monterey Conference Center, Monterey Downtown Travelodge offers free covered parking, newspapers, coffee, tea and a continental breakfast that stretches until 10 a.m. Restaurants begin across the street and continue for miles. Take a scenic drive to Carmel, Pacific Grove or Pebble Beach and its renowned golf links. Explore picturesque 17-Mile Drive or spend a day at Del Monte Shopping Center with its 13-screen, state-of-the-art Century Theatres. 
Transportation

  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • San Jose International Airport (72.1 mi/116 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (101 mi/163 km)

Attractions

  • Monterey Conference Center (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Dennis the Menace Playground at El Estero Park (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Cannery Row (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Carmel Mission Basilica (4.5 mi/7.3 km)
  • Pebble Beach Golf Course (5 mi/8.1 km)
  • Big Sur, Calif. (31.8 mi/51.2 km)
  • Santa Cruz (42.9 mi/69.1 km)
  • Hearst Castle (94.5 mi/152 km)

Business

  • Free Wi-Fi in guest rooms
  • Free incoming faxes

Hotel Map

36.5955 -121.8931
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Monterey Downtown Travelodge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Services
24 hour front desk
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Indoor parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (43)

Ratings and reviews for Monterey Downtown Travelodge

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 43
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monterey Downtown Travelodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
east bay, ca
May 2, 2011

Clean, but a bit 'rough round the edges

This place was okay, clean, very convenient walking distance to everything downtown. The walls were paper-thin and a lot of road noise. But it's a motel, not the Ritz. So that's the expectation. But I have to give the staff one star: The motel staff hastily presumed on their own that my room had been checked out when in fact I had returned to my room an hour before checkout. The desk clerk, rudely and with a inappropriately accusing tone, rapped on my door at 11:30AM, apparently assuming I was "squatting" in my own room. He was not friendly and he was quaking with aggressive fear. The whole experience was bizarre. The staff was very friendly on checkout, but this unfortunate incident showed them to be unprofessional and rude and more than a little paranoid, which would indicate a high level of criminal activity going on at the Travelodge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Downtown Travelodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
So. California
Apr 22, 2011

Will not stay there again!

This place definitely needs a facelift, repairs and a remodel. It felt like we were in a time warp back to the 1960's. The room was shabby. Door did not lock/unlock properly. Tiny shower was a joke! (No tub and hardly any water pressure.) We had all kinds of plumbing issues with the toilet and sink not draining. Also, it is adjacent to & overlooks a gas station on a busy corner. The best part of the stay was the free coffee available in the lobby. In spite of the poor accomodations, we had a wonderful family trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Stay someplace else! For the same money you can find much better places. It was a bit too far to walk to the Wharf area.---Be sure to visit the Aquarium and do the '17 Mile Scenic Drive.' Beautiful views!! We stumbled across "The SeaHarvest Restaurant & Fish Market" on our way to the Aquarium and enjoyed a fantastic fish&chip lunch. Yummy!! Would return there again for a meal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Downtown Travelodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Mexico
Feb 26, 2011

Surprising affordable quality.

We were there for a wedding. The hotel is affordable, has a friendly staff and they clearly put an effort forth in maintaining the property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a nice aquarium in the area. It is near a lot of nice restaurants. We spent a day at the aquarium, leaving for lunch and coming back. Be prepared to spend money on it. $30/adult and $20/child 3 and over.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Downtown Travelodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pennsylvania
Feb 23, 2011

Great place to Stay

It was in a great location. The room was comfortable and so were the beds. We had several choices for the continental breakfast:cereal, bagels, bread, muffins, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, and apples. Denny's was also across the street. We went to a festival, walked along the ocean and saw otters. It was easy to get to the wharf. A very comfortable room with refrigerator, iron, hair dryer, and night light. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Park your car and walk. Parking downtown can be costly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Downtown Travelodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Roseville, Ca
Jan 8, 2011

Good location

I went sightseeing to Pacif Grove, enjoyed the beach and the pier. The weather was not great, one of the days I experienced a wind storm. I love Monterey and all the places around. Next time I will go during the summer

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I recommend to take the 17 mile drive to Carmel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Downtown Travelodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rr01
Clearwater, FL
Dec 10, 2010

Monterey downtown travelodge

Montery Downtown Traveloge..... excellent location that is walking distance of Fishman's Whart, local dinings, shops. Also, easy access to the airport, pebble beach, highway 1, Montery bay aquarium, etc.. Friendly people and good continental breakfast.. Enjoyed staying...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

about a mile walk to the Fishman's Whart.... But, dinning around a Fishman's Whart was a bad experience.. expensive and bad taste..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Downtown Travelodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fresno,Ca
Oct 4, 2010

Great location

It was a great location, walking distance to just about everywhere I needed to go. Wall were very thin,next room had their tv on till 3 am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Downtown Travelodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Exeter, ca.
Sep 21, 2010

No problems

The staff was very friendly, hotel easy to find. Located close to downtown and fishermans wharf. Nice restraunts close by. Underground parking a big plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Downtown Travelodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
slyden 186
Pasadena, CA
Aug 24, 2010

expensive motogp stay

Stayed during moto gp weekend. Very expensiive with almost no amenities. Tiny room, very old floor plan, the place needs remodeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Downtown Travelodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
SF Peninsula
Aug 8, 2010

Standard economy hotel room

This Travelodge was within blocks of downtown Monterey and restaurants. Had free on site parking. The furniture was attractive, the bed comfortable, but it's right by a gas station, busy intersections and not well insulated from people standing outside your room. Very basic economy room. I would recommend it to someone if they were on a budget, otherwise, I might want to pay a little more for something a little more upscale.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top