$44 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Monterey Bay Travelodge

2 stars
2030 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
130 reviews
family get away

very good surroundings and close to all tourist spots See full review

  • willy flowmaster
  • Aug 1, 2014
fantastic family getaway

Travelled with family and stayed there for 2 nights. Great location, easy to find, close to all... See full review

  • Tara J
  • May 18, 2014
Pet-friendly budget hotel with a pool minutes from beaches and the bay
The bright, sunny Monterey Bay Travelodge is an ideal choice for couples, families or business travelers on a budget. A convenient location puts the Monterey Airport, Monterey County Fairgrounds, Monterey Bay Aquarium and the beach just minutes away. Monterey Bay Travelodge guests take advantage of free continental breakfast, free on-site parking and an on-site sushi restaurant. Recently refreshed guest rooms include Serta pillow-top mattresses and new carpeting. Some rooms overlook the outdoor swimming pool.
Highlights
  • Seasonal outdoor heated swimming pool
  • On-site diver's rinse facility
  • Fitness center
  • On-site sushi restaurant
  • Free continental breakfast 7 to 10 a.m.
Rooms
Floor-to-ceiling windows in Monterey Bay Travelodge guest rooms let natural light pour in. Some rooms feature balconies or patios overlooking the landscaped patio and heated outdoor swimming pool. All accommodations include free high-speed wireless Internet access, cable TV, coffee maker, hairdryer, in-room safe and iron/ironing board. A microwave and refrigerator lets guests fix a light in-room meal. Pets are welcome (fees apply).
Features
Start each day with complimentary continental breakfast at the Monterey Bay Travelodge. Breakfast items include cereal, oatmeal, bagels, pastries, fruit, juice and freshly brewed coffee. Feel free to go back for seconds and work it off in the on-site fitness center, featuring an elliptical trainer and treadmill. Doze in the sun by the seasonal heated outdoor pool.
 
For lunch and dinner, Oh'Sushi is located at the Monterey Bay Travelodge and serves a mouth-watering range of sushi, sashimi, maki rolls, noodles, rice bowls and house specials. Next door is a Chinese restaurant with elaborate decor and ginormous portions.
Transportation
  • Norman Y. Mineta San Jose International Airport (53.7 mi/86.4 km)
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Adjacent to Highway 1
Attractions
  • Monterey County Fairgrounds (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Naval Postgraduate School (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Monterey State Beach (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf Monterey (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Monterey History & Maritime Museum (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Cannery Row (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (2.5 mi/4.1 km)
  • Carmel-by-the-Sea (4.3 mi/7 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Copy and fax services
  • Banquet facilities for 120 in Oh'Sushi
Policies and fees
  • Pets are allowed for a $20 fee.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Monterey Bay Travelodge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (130)

Ratings and reviews for Monterey Bay Travelodge

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 130
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.5

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
youn lad
Business
lemoore, california
Jul 7, 2014

family getaway

Room was clean but there were some stains in the bed sheets and the room was hot even though there was no air conditioner. Overall it was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carmalita Rosearita
Business
Sebastopol Cay
Jun 24, 2014

Monterey trip

It was a bit noisy with the air traffic near by. Rooms were clean. The only trouble I had. Was when I changed rooms. I left my nightgown on hook behind bathroom door. I called to notify front desk instead of going back to room myself. We'll they never found it. I called every day I was there and even when I came. Still no gown.Very sad. It had been my mothers. Who recently passed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The dinner we had at this smoke house was fantastic can not remember full name , it is just down the street from Denneys on same side .has a picture of a Flame on their sign

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Suleta
Business
Fallon, Nevada
Jun 9, 2014

Definitely will stay here again.

The staff were very helpful and polite and professional. The beds were so comfortable. We all slept really good. It would have been nice if the hours of the pool were longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tara J
Business
MA
May 18, 2014

fantastic family getaway

Travelled with family and stayed there for 2 nights. Great location, easy to find, close to all attractions and also Carmel. Room is clean, and staff is nice. Best one we had on our California 1 trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
YohannL
Business
SF, CA
Mar 27, 2014

Best bang for your buck!

My GPS routed me to a different Travelodge location which was weird but the guy up front was professional enough to not get annoyed and mention this happened all the time. Long story short it was a great experience overall. Clean room, looks fresh & newly remodeled. The only gripe I guess is no elevator? Didn't bother me much now but when you just got there all tired & having to carry a lot of stuff is another story. Wifi sucked too but I have OK data connection but I can see other people may make a big deal about it For the money will definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gilder
Business
Fresno, CA
Dec 30, 2013

Average

The room was clean, the staff was professional but not friendly. Not sure if that is good or bad. My husband said he kept hearing airplanes I only heard one. I probably would stay there again as I know it was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Never again Virgo
Business
Monterey California
Dec 23, 2013

Not Good

The picture on the website does not resemble what you get. We were in a pet friendly room which was old and felt dirty. I would not step on the carpet with my bare feet. Definitely not a place I would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dr. Jai
Business
Oakland, CA
Dec 10, 2013

Noisy but nice

The airplanes taking off and landing nearby are noisy. But aside from that, the room was clean, staff courteous, the heat worked, plenty of hot water, and near the freeway. We would stay there again - just bring earplugs if you don't want to be disturbed between 10 PM and 6 or 7 AM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Go whale watching in Monterey Bay when the whales are there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fancy Nancy T
Business
Sacramento, CA
Aug 8, 2013

Good, basic hotel

Overall this was a good experience. Rooms were moderate. At least they had flat screen TVs. Internet needs to be improved because when too many guests are using it some cannot connect. Airplanes going over the room all night was a big negative. Hotel price should be lower because of it. Breakfast was adequate but nothing special. Carpet in all 3 of our rooms was gross. I think maybe we were given pet rooms as the couple next door had 2 dogs with them. If money is tight staying here is an option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
visitng monterey
Business
Monterey, CA
May 21, 2013

visitor

The hotel was a good place to sleep for one night which is what we did. It was expensive at $129 a night for a 2 star hotel. The hotel staff were totally awesome. I would stay here again because they were very nice and professional, including the housekeeping staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top