$49 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 1, 2015 Check-out: Feb 2, 2015

Monterey Bay Travelodge

2 stars
2030 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
130 reviews
family get away

very good surroundings and close to all tourist spots See full review

  • willy flowmaster
  • Aug 1, 2014
fantastic family getaway

Travelled with family and stayed there for 2 nights. Great location, easy to find, close to all... See full review

  • Tara J
  • May 18, 2014
Pet-friendly budget hotel with a pool minutes from beaches and the bay
The bright, sunny Monterey Bay Travelodge is an ideal choice for couples, families or business travelers on a budget. A convenient location puts the Monterey Airport, Monterey County Fairgrounds, Monterey Bay Aquarium and the beach just minutes away. Monterey Bay Travelodge guests take advantage of free continental breakfast, free on-site parking and an on-site sushi restaurant. Recently refreshed guest rooms include Serta pillow-top mattresses and new carpeting. Some rooms overlook the outdoor swimming pool.
Highlights
  • Seasonal outdoor heated swimming pool
  • On-site diver's rinse facility
  • Fitness center
  • On-site sushi restaurant
  • Free continental breakfast 7 to 10 a.m.
Rooms
Floor-to-ceiling windows in Monterey Bay Travelodge guest rooms let natural light pour in. Some rooms feature balconies or patios overlooking the landscaped patio and heated outdoor swimming pool. All accommodations include free high-speed wireless Internet access, cable TV, coffee maker, hairdryer, in-room safe and iron/ironing board. A microwave and refrigerator lets guests fix a light in-room meal. Pets are welcome (fees apply).
Features
Start each day with complimentary continental breakfast at the Monterey Bay Travelodge. Breakfast items include cereal, oatmeal, bagels, pastries, fruit, juice and freshly brewed coffee. Feel free to go back for seconds and work it off in the on-site fitness center, featuring an elliptical trainer and treadmill. Doze in the sun by the seasonal heated outdoor pool.
 
For lunch and dinner, Oh'Sushi is located at the Monterey Bay Travelodge and serves a mouth-watering range of sushi, sashimi, maki rolls, noodles, rice bowls and house specials. Next door is a Chinese restaurant with elaborate decor and ginormous portions.
Transportation
  • Norman Y. Mineta San Jose International Airport (53.7 mi/86.4 km)
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Adjacent to Highway 1
Attractions
  • Monterey County Fairgrounds (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Naval Postgraduate School (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Monterey State Beach (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf Monterey (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Monterey History & Maritime Museum (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Cannery Row (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (2.5 mi/4.1 km)
  • Carmel-by-the-Sea (4.3 mi/7 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Copy and fax services
  • Banquet facilities for 120 in Oh'Sushi
Policies and fees
  • Pets are allowed for a $20 fee.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Monterey Bay Travelodge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (130)

Ratings and reviews for Monterey Bay Travelodge

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
130 out of 130
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Schicksalslied
Business
Sonoma, California
Feb 9, 2012

Travelodge Monterey

I have been comong to Monterey for many years and this motel was one of my worst experiences. The motel itself lies in the flight path of jets landing at Monterey International Airport. Need I say more?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
egressman
Business
mesquite nv
Jul 8, 2012

NOT SO GOOD

we checked in and were treated well by the staff. It was down hill from there. We paid $100 for a room that had the most uncomfortable beds, a bathroom that was small and the faucet was a spay type and had no pressure. the breakfast was not a breakfast it was so limited we were only able to get toast and a hard boiled egg that was hard to peel. all in all we had a very poor night . we would never stay there or at any travelodge again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Never again Virgo
Business
Monterey California
Dec 23, 2013

Not Good

The picture on the website does not resemble what you get. We were in a pet friendly room which was old and felt dirty. I would not step on the carpet with my bare feet. Definitely not a place I would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san jose, ca
Aug 2, 2011

Dirty and disgusting

We stayed here for MotoGP. The location was great, but the room smelled like mildew, the sheets kept falling off the bed, the floors were stained, mt son got a rash from sleeping in the bed. I would not stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Modesto, CA
Aug 16, 2010

Wasn't impressed

We couldn't check in until after 3pm. The front of the room doors looked like prison doors. The room was not kept up. 1 room didn't have a patio screen door. Airplains flew over the hotel all night. Check out wasn't until 12pm but the maid woke us up @ 9am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Horrified
Business
Seattle
Aug 28, 2011

Bad, really really bad.

I give this one star only because I can not give negative stars. I booked this motel only because it was the "best" place left the night we were going to be in Monterey. The reveiws said clean, new carpet etc. The photo shows a place with one building and no outside doors. When I travel with my daughters we avoid outside doors for safety reasons. The place actually has several buildings all with outside doors. The carpet may have been new but it was covered with huge stains and felt gross to walk on. The bathroom floor grout was black it was so filthy. The TV did not work well. There was something gross that had been spilled all over the two chairs in the room. We would not touch them or sit on them. The airport is close, in fact it felt like small planes were going to land in the room. The biggest issue, however, was the fact that the room key would not work and the staff could not get it to work. So we could only go in and out of the room by going to the front desk, a 2 building walk away, and getting someone to let us in each time. It was scary not being able to have a room key. This motel has "adult" entertainment 1 block away. Not a good, safe place for kids. At least I was given a 25% refund (out of a $300 bill).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Richie boy
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jun 23, 2014

Worst experience of my life!

I can't believe this hotel is still in business. There was a hole in the wall looking into my room. The sliding glass door had no handle on the outside. My fiancée got stuck on the balcony. The handle on the shower door fell off. There was NO bathtub. The shower stall was 6'4" high, my hands hit the ceiling when shampooing my hair. There was NO conditioner or coffee in the room. Check in time was 3pm, the pool closed @ 8:30pm. The pool opened @ 9am, check out time 11am. There were security notices about securing this, locking that....seemed very unsafe. The tenants next door were doing illegal activity in the parking lot with cars coming and going. All this was brought to the staff's attention and they did nothing about my concerns or complaints. What a nightmare! I hope for a 50%refund of my costs!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JO Targa
Business
Los Angeles CA
Aug 23, 2014

You get what you pay for!

It's a Travelodge... NO AC, questionable bathroom, beds were ok, smell in air in the room.... standard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
rondor
Business
Newbury park California
Sep 9, 2014

bad news

No A.C. no screen on door so you choose between heat and bugs.Manager said all rooms are the same. Lie. We stayed there a week later and had s better room. We should not have made reservations so far in advance too expensive to change.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fish Hopper

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 25, 2007

Stay in the front not the back

The first time we stayed at this hotel we were very satisfied with the room. The room was located in the front part of the hotel. Our last visit was very disappointing. The room was located on side towards the back. It was a bit dingy. The room was the two queen beds with a third side room that was the size of a shoe box. Not to mention it was also attached to some door and the attic (I'm assume the top hatch was to the attic). The room was a non smoking room, but for some reason the bathroon had a very strong smoking smell. I would definitely stay at this location again, but with a request to stay in the front part of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There's a great restuarant Black Bear down the street that had a variety of meals to satisfy you for breakfast, lunch or dinner. A short drive away is the National Park where we enjoyed an all day hike. The outside scenary is a view.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top