$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 3, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

Monterey Bay Travelodge

2 stars
View map of 2030 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Monterey Bay Travelodge

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
143 out of 143
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diver Dave2
Business
Sacramento, CA
Sep 12, 2011

Very Good Stay

Very nice room stayed 2 nites and good location. It's easy walking to Cannary Row.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
birddog
Business
IL
Aug 28, 2011

family reunion

Helpful staff with restaurant onsite and also laundry facilities. Didn't use the pool but was available and others used it. Good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Horrified
Business
Seattle
Aug 28, 2011

Bad, really really bad.

I give this one star only because I can not give negative stars. I booked this motel only because it was the "best" place left the night we were going to be in Monterey. The reveiws said clean, new carpet etc. The photo shows a place with one building and no outside doors. When I travel with my daughters we avoid outside doors for safety reasons. The place actually has several buildings all with outside doors. The carpet may have been new but it was covered with huge stains and felt gross to walk on. The bathroom floor grout was black it was so filthy. The TV did not work well. There was something gross that had been spilled all over the two chairs in the room. We would not touch them or sit on them. The airport is close, in fact it felt like small planes were going to land in the room. The biggest issue, however, was the fact that the room key would not work and the staff could not get it to work. So we could only go in and out of the room by going to the front desk, a 2 building walk away, and getting someone to let us in each time. It was scary not being able to have a room key. This motel has "adult" entertainment 1 block away. Not a good, safe place for kids. At least I was given a 25% refund (out of a $300 bill).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
birddog
Business
IL
Aug 28, 2011

family reunion

Helpful staff with restaurant onsite and also laundry facilities. Didn't use the pool but was available and others used it. Good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
henk
Business
Texas
Aug 22, 2011

Monterey Historic Stay

Very clean and reasonable considering we stayed during one of the largest event weekend. Not downtown, but as close as you can get without being there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JJmommybear
Business
Suisun City, Ca
Aug 6, 2011

Ok place to sleep

It was ok. The hotel is a little rundown. The airport in close and so planes fly right over the hotel anywhere from 6am to 11pm. That was hard for me having a young child with me, it was disturbing his sleep. The staff was not very friendly. I didnt see one smile from anyone. The air in the room did not work at all and the toilet was extremely noisy. We were on the second floor and the sliding glass door had no screen door, so I didnt want to leave the door open with a balcony because I had a small child in the room. I looked around and there were screen doors missing from some rooms and others had them. I would not stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
lake tahoe
Aug 6, 2011

Good stay

Good pass by stay hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montclair, CA
Aug 2, 2011

Good hotel, Good price

I went up to Big Sur to camp but was only able to stay there for 1 day so decided to stay in Monterey the next day and go sight seeing. The location of the hotel was good, the room was clean and bed was comfortable. I would stay in this hotel again if I go up there again. Breakfast is included but they only serve bagels, cereal, coffee, juice and bananas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san jose, ca
Aug 2, 2011

Dirty and disgusting

We stayed here for MotoGP. The location was great, but the room smelled like mildew, the sheets kept falling off the bed, the floors were stained, mt son got a rash from sleeping in the bed. I would not stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
Jul 19, 2011

Monterey Travelodge

Location is good. Breakfast was good. Dated facility with no air conditioning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Very convenient to the wharf.

Back to menu Return to top