$44 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 25, 2015 Check-out: Jan 28, 2015

Monterey Bay Travelodge

2 stars
2030 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
130 reviews
family get away

very good surroundings and close to all tourist spots See full review

  • willy flowmaster
  • Aug 1, 2014
fantastic family getaway

Travelled with family and stayed there for 2 nights. Great location, easy to find, close to all... See full review

  • Tara J
  • May 18, 2014
Pet-friendly budget hotel with a pool minutes from beaches and the bay
The bright, sunny Monterey Bay Travelodge is an ideal choice for couples, families or business travelers on a budget. A convenient location puts the Monterey Airport, Monterey County Fairgrounds, Monterey Bay Aquarium and the beach just minutes away. Monterey Bay Travelodge guests take advantage of free continental breakfast, free on-site parking and an on-site sushi restaurant. Recently refreshed guest rooms include Serta pillow-top mattresses and new carpeting. Some rooms overlook the outdoor swimming pool.
Highlights
  • Seasonal outdoor heated swimming pool
  • On-site diver's rinse facility
  • Fitness center
  • On-site sushi restaurant
  • Free continental breakfast 7 to 10 a.m.
Rooms
Floor-to-ceiling windows in Monterey Bay Travelodge guest rooms let natural light pour in. Some rooms feature balconies or patios overlooking the landscaped patio and heated outdoor swimming pool. All accommodations include free high-speed wireless Internet access, cable TV, coffee maker, hairdryer, in-room safe and iron/ironing board. A microwave and refrigerator lets guests fix a light in-room meal. Pets are welcome (fees apply).
Features
Start each day with complimentary continental breakfast at the Monterey Bay Travelodge. Breakfast items include cereal, oatmeal, bagels, pastries, fruit, juice and freshly brewed coffee. Feel free to go back for seconds and work it off in the on-site fitness center, featuring an elliptical trainer and treadmill. Doze in the sun by the seasonal heated outdoor pool.
 
For lunch and dinner, Oh'Sushi is located at the Monterey Bay Travelodge and serves a mouth-watering range of sushi, sashimi, maki rolls, noodles, rice bowls and house specials. Next door is a Chinese restaurant with elaborate decor and ginormous portions.
Transportation
  • Norman Y. Mineta San Jose International Airport (53.7 mi/86.4 km)
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Adjacent to Highway 1
Attractions
  • Monterey County Fairgrounds (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Naval Postgraduate School (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Monterey State Beach (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf Monterey (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Monterey History & Maritime Museum (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Cannery Row (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (2.5 mi/4.1 km)
  • Carmel-by-the-Sea (4.3 mi/7 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Copy and fax services
  • Banquet facilities for 120 in Oh'Sushi
Policies and fees
  • Pets are allowed for a $20 fee.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Monterey Bay Travelodge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (130)

Ratings and reviews for Monterey Bay Travelodge

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
130 out of 130
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JJmommybear
Business
Suisun City, Ca
Aug 6, 2011

Ok place to sleep

It was ok. The hotel is a little rundown. The airport in close and so planes fly right over the hotel anywhere from 6am to 11pm. That was hard for me having a young child with me, it was disturbing his sleep. The staff was not very friendly. I didnt see one smile from anyone. The air in the room did not work at all and the toilet was extremely noisy. We were on the second floor and the sliding glass door had no screen door, so I didnt want to leave the door open with a balcony because I had a small child in the room. I looked around and there were screen doors missing from some rooms and others had them. I would not stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
lake tahoe
Aug 6, 2011

Good stay

Good pass by stay hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montclair, CA
Aug 2, 2011

Good hotel, Good price

I went up to Big Sur to camp but was only able to stay there for 1 day so decided to stay in Monterey the next day and go sight seeing. The location of the hotel was good, the room was clean and bed was comfortable. I would stay in this hotel again if I go up there again. Breakfast is included but they only serve bagels, cereal, coffee, juice and bananas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san jose, ca
Aug 2, 2011

Dirty and disgusting

We stayed here for MotoGP. The location was great, but the room smelled like mildew, the sheets kept falling off the bed, the floors were stained, mt son got a rash from sleeping in the bed. I would not stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
Jul 19, 2011

Monterey Travelodge

Location is good. Breakfast was good. Dated facility with no air conditioning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Very convenient to the wharf.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dora I
Business
California
Jul 16, 2011

Great service

Great service we stay here every time we come to Monterey!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nevada
Jul 16, 2011

Monterey Bay

Enjoyed the aquarium. Great location from this as well as scenic 17 mile drive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Chopstix Vietnamese Restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 29, 2011

Good for the price

We were visiting Monterey and the Big Sur area. The room was clean but with some noise from highway 1. Location is perfect if you are driving along route 1. Breakfast is OK, and the hotel has a pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Monterey's Fish House, really nice restaurant "close" to the hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
fresno,ca
Jun 20, 2011

Front desk sucked

Well hotel was ok but I made reservations on tuesday for saturday and the front desk [...] was rude. I reserved 2 non smoking rooms and she said no we only 1 room non smoking my confirmation from [...] didn't matter! Then I asked where the rooms next to each other she said No and she couldn't change them cause they had other people that where committed to the rooms. Well hllo I did too. I made reservations isn't that what u do to avoid these type of situations! She said we could yell out to each other over the balcony!!! So please don't get her because she sucked!!!and to her reservations don't matter!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jun 15, 2011

The good, bad, & ugly

Great freeway access, centrally located for easy access to Monterey and Carmel. The motel is at the end of the Monterey Airport runway and the airplane landings are very noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

6am breakfast at Motel saved us time and money

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top