$44 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

Monterey Bay Travelodge

2 stars
2030 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
130 reviews
family get away

very good surroundings and close to all tourist spots See full review

  • willy flowmaster
  • Aug 1, 2014
fantastic family getaway

Travelled with family and stayed there for 2 nights. Great location, easy to find, close to all... See full review

  • Tara J
  • May 18, 2014
Pet-friendly budget hotel with a pool minutes from beaches and the bay
The bright, sunny Monterey Bay Travelodge is an ideal choice for couples, families or business travelers on a budget. A convenient location puts the Monterey Airport, Monterey County Fairgrounds, Monterey Bay Aquarium and the beach just minutes away. Monterey Bay Travelodge guests take advantage of free continental breakfast, free on-site parking and an on-site sushi restaurant. Recently refreshed guest rooms include Serta pillow-top mattresses and new carpeting. Some rooms overlook the outdoor swimming pool.
Highlights
  • Seasonal outdoor heated swimming pool
  • On-site diver's rinse facility
  • Fitness center
  • On-site sushi restaurant
  • Free continental breakfast 7 to 10 a.m.
Rooms
Floor-to-ceiling windows in Monterey Bay Travelodge guest rooms let natural light pour in. Some rooms feature balconies or patios overlooking the landscaped patio and heated outdoor swimming pool. All accommodations include free high-speed wireless Internet access, cable TV, coffee maker, hairdryer, in-room safe and iron/ironing board. A microwave and refrigerator lets guests fix a light in-room meal. Pets are welcome (fees apply).
Features
Start each day with complimentary continental breakfast at the Monterey Bay Travelodge. Breakfast items include cereal, oatmeal, bagels, pastries, fruit, juice and freshly brewed coffee. Feel free to go back for seconds and work it off in the on-site fitness center, featuring an elliptical trainer and treadmill. Doze in the sun by the seasonal heated outdoor pool.
 
For lunch and dinner, Oh'Sushi is located at the Monterey Bay Travelodge and serves a mouth-watering range of sushi, sashimi, maki rolls, noodles, rice bowls and house specials. Next door is a Chinese restaurant with elaborate decor and ginormous portions.
Transportation
  • Norman Y. Mineta San Jose International Airport (53.7 mi/86.4 km)
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Adjacent to Highway 1
Attractions
  • Monterey County Fairgrounds (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Naval Postgraduate School (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Monterey State Beach (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf Monterey (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Monterey History & Maritime Museum (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Cannery Row (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (2.5 mi/4.1 km)
  • Carmel-by-the-Sea (4.3 mi/7 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Copy and fax services
  • Banquet facilities for 120 in Oh'Sushi
Policies and fees
  • Pets are allowed for a $20 fee.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Monterey Bay Travelodge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (130)

Ratings and reviews for Monterey Bay Travelodge

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
130 out of 130
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TravellingConsultant
Business
Los Angeles
Aug 9, 2012

Good value for the money but breakfast needs to improve

I stayed at the Travelodge for business for two nights. In Monterey, where I've stayed over a dozen times, there are a lot of motels priced similarly to the Travelodge. It gets high points for bed comfort, room size, and general cleanliness. It loses points for poor wireless service. Many of these motels offer breakfast. Travelodge was average in that group with no hot items except toast. No eggs, no waffle, no oatmeal. However the cereal, juice and other items were good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Monterey's Fish House at 2114 Del Monte Blvd. was excellent - really large portions of perfectly cooked fish and shellfish. I had the Holiday Cioppino - delicious!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brittany at the aquarium
Business
Davis, CA, USA
Jul 16, 2012

Clean room, some airplane noise

The hotel staff were very nice, the room was clean, and the beds were comfortable. The only complaint is that the hotel must be right under an air traffic pattern, because we definately heard a few planes fly overhead. I was so tired I didn't notice once I went to sleep, but my husband got woken up at 5 AM from one. The breakfast was big and the staff at breakfast were very nice and quick to refill and clean up. The room was a bit expensive for what it was, but that was likely because I booked it 2 days before our arrival. Overall, I would stay there again, though my husband was a bit annoyed at being woken up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Whaling Station on Wave St. has great desserts! Bistro Moulin has an amazing spinach gnocchi!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
egressman
Business
mesquite nv
Jul 8, 2012

NOT SO GOOD

we checked in and were treated well by the staff. It was down hill from there. We paid $100 for a room that had the most uncomfortable beds, a bathroom that was small and the faucet was a spay type and had no pressure. the breakfast was not a breakfast it was so limited we were only able to get toast and a hard boiled egg that was hard to peel. all in all we had a very poor night . we would never stay there or at any travelodge again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jemmley
Business
Fresno, CA
Jul 6, 2012

Get What You Pay For

We stayed overnight at this hotel while visiting the Aquarium. It's right off the freeway, really easy to access, room was clean, staff was polite, and it was overall, a comfortable experience. Would book here again. It's definitely not a luxurious place, but if you're just looking for a comfortable place to spend a night in, this place does it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Tickets to the Aquarium are a couple bucks less if you purchase them from the front desk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Insurance PI Guy
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jun 5, 2012

Nice Hotel

Perfect site for a family trip to Monterey. Nothing fancy, but clean and comfortable. Staff was very nice, and quick to meet our needs. Continental breakfast was outstanding. Beautiful clean pool, exercise room. Close enough to the attractions, but far away enough to avoid tourist congestion. Highly recommend, it is a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Cut your liquor cost. Buy at close grocery and drink at your room. You'll save a fortune.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mattli
Business
Torrance,California
Jun 3, 2012

Wi-Fi wasn't very good

The Wi-Fi was so slow when we stayed there. We even cant connect that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mattli
Business
Torrance,California
May 30, 2012

Pretty nice

I'm had really good time stay at Monterey Bay Travelodge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ripped off in Morro Bay
Business
Mariposa,ca
May 22, 2012

not ripped off in monterey

AWESOME FACILITY AND STAFF. very polite and morning clerk went to room and got me some safety pins. Way to go to the crew here. Breakfast was great. Room was clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
srpeters
Business
Marysville, CA, USA
Apr 8, 2012

Not bad

Not bad, pretty average place to stay. It's easy to get to, can't quite see the ocean from the hotel but it's not far away. The room itself was small, but nice and clean. The wifi was the worst thing about my stay here. At first it didn't work at all, from anywhere, and there were a few of us in the lobby to let the front desk guy know. He seemed a little overwhelmed with all the people checking in. Eventually he reset the router and it worked, sort of. Unfortunately, coverage isn't good enough to work in my room. The breakfast is standard continental breakfast fare, nothing to write home about but not bad either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Zenn
Business
Wooden Valley, California 94558, USA
Mar 5, 2012

monterey

wonderful stay, great breakfast and excellent staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

fish hopper clam chouder

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top