$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 30, 2015 Check-out: May 1, 2015

Monterey Bay Travelodge

2 stars
View map of 2030 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Monterey Bay Travelodge

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
134 out of 134
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
carrickgal
Business
Carrickfergus, Northern Ireland
Jul 22, 2014

Great for stop over

The guy who checked us in couldn't have been more helpful and he even offered to change our room so that we could be beside friends that we were travelling with. Our room was right beside the pool which was very clean. The breakfast buffet was average however there was plenty of food and plenty of space in the dining room. Good location close to town and the wharf. Would recommend to anyone looking a few days stop over while driving down the coast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
youn lad
Business
lemoore, california
Jul 7, 2014

family getaway

Room was clean but there were some stains in the bed sheets and the room was hot even though there was no air conditioner. Overall it was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Plantlady62
Business
Modesto, CA
Jul 3, 2014

Rude manager

We rented this room with advance payment for 15 nights. The manager was very rude, accusing us of smoking in the room. We smoked only on our balcony and kept it very clean. We did burn inscents as aroma therapy and he said that is the same as smoking. I was bitten twice by what appeared to be spider. We had a pet room since we have two service animals. The room had fleas and our service animals had to be bathed to rid them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Plenty of shopping within minutes by auto.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carmalita Rosearita
Business
Sebastopol Cay
Jun 24, 2014

Monterey trip

It was a bit noisy with the air traffic near by. Rooms were clean. The only trouble I had. Was when I changed rooms. I left my nightgown on hook behind bathroom door. I called to notify front desk instead of going back to room myself. We'll they never found it. I called every day I was there and even when I came. Still no gown.Very sad. It had been my mothers. Who recently passed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The dinner we had at this smoke house was fantastic can not remember full name , it is just down the street from Denneys on same side .has a picture of a Flame on their sign

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Richie boy
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jun 23, 2014

Worst experience of my life!

I can't believe this hotel is still in business. There was a hole in the wall looking into my room. The sliding glass door had no handle on the outside. My fiancée got stuck on the balcony. The handle on the shower door fell off. There was NO bathtub. The shower stall was 6'4" high, my hands hit the ceiling when shampooing my hair. There was NO conditioner or coffee in the room. Check in time was 3pm, the pool closed @ 8:30pm. The pool opened @ 9am, check out time 11am. There were security notices about securing this, locking that....seemed very unsafe. The tenants next door were doing illegal activity in the parking lot with cars coming and going. All this was brought to the staff's attention and they did nothing about my concerns or complaints. What a nightmare! I hope for a 50%refund of my costs!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Suleta
Business
Fallon, Nevada
Jun 9, 2014

Definitely will stay here again.

The staff were very helpful and polite and professional. The beds were so comfortable. We all slept really good. It would have been nice if the hours of the pool were longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
karllla
Business
san jose,california
May 19, 2014

birthday getaway

Great room for the money it looks like a jail from the outside but inside was great very roomy and patio. Was awesome

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tara J
Business
MA
May 18, 2014

fantastic family getaway

Travelled with family and stayed there for 2 nights. Great location, easy to find, close to all attractions and also Carmel. Room is clean, and staff is nice. Best one we had on our California 1 trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Messi fan
Business
Seattle, Washington
Mar 28, 2014

Fantastic rooms

We booked this motel thinking it was just going to be cheap and average but it completely blew our mind. The rooms are AMAZING - roomy, comfortable, great lighting, great tv, the furniture all looks new and high quality. Overall it's a really good deal. You also get pretty decent free breakfast! Close to carmel beach - beautiful place to visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
YohannL
Business
SF, CA
Mar 27, 2014

Best bang for your buck!

My GPS routed me to a different Travelodge location which was weird but the guy up front was professional enough to not get annoyed and mention this happened all the time. Long story short it was a great experience overall. Clean room, looks fresh & newly remodeled. The only gripe I guess is no elevator? Didn't bother me much now but when you just got there all tired & having to carry a lot of stuff is another story. Wifi sucked too but I have OK data connection but I can see other people may make a big deal about it For the money will definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top