$49 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 9, 2014 Check-out: Nov 10, 2014

Monterey Bay Travelodge

2 stars
2030 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
130 reviews
family get away

very good surroundings and close to all tourist spots See full review

  • willy flowmaster
  • Aug 1, 2014
fantastic family getaway

Travelled with family and stayed there for 2 nights. Great location, easy to find, close to all... See full review

  • Tara J
  • May 18, 2014
Pet-friendly budget hotel with a pool minutes from beaches and the bay
The bright, sunny Monterey Bay Travelodge is an ideal choice for couples, families or business travelers on a budget. A convenient location puts the Monterey Airport, Monterey County Fairgrounds, Monterey Bay Aquarium and the beach just minutes away. Monterey Bay Travelodge guests take advantage of free continental breakfast, free on-site parking and an on-site sushi restaurant. Recently refreshed guest rooms include Serta pillow-top mattresses and new carpeting. Some rooms overlook the outdoor swimming pool.
Highlights
  • Seasonal outdoor heated swimming pool
  • On-site diver's rinse facility
  • Fitness center
  • On-site sushi restaurant
  • Free continental breakfast 7 to 10 a.m.
Rooms
Floor-to-ceiling windows in Monterey Bay Travelodge guest rooms let natural light pour in. Some rooms feature balconies or patios overlooking the landscaped patio and heated outdoor swimming pool. All accommodations include free high-speed wireless Internet access, cable TV, coffee maker, hairdryer, in-room safe and iron/ironing board. A microwave and refrigerator lets guests fix a light in-room meal. Pets are welcome (fees apply).
Features
Start each day with complimentary continental breakfast at the Monterey Bay Travelodge. Breakfast items include cereal, oatmeal, bagels, pastries, fruit, juice and freshly brewed coffee. Feel free to go back for seconds and work it off in the on-site fitness center, featuring an elliptical trainer and treadmill. Doze in the sun by the seasonal heated outdoor pool.
 
For lunch and dinner, Oh'Sushi is located at the Monterey Bay Travelodge and serves a mouth-watering range of sushi, sashimi, maki rolls, noodles, rice bowls and house specials. Next door is a Chinese restaurant with elaborate decor and ginormous portions.
Transportation
  • Norman Y. Mineta San Jose International Airport (53.7 mi/86.4 km)
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Adjacent to Highway 1
Attractions
  • Monterey County Fairgrounds (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Naval Postgraduate School (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Monterey State Beach (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf Monterey (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Monterey History & Maritime Museum (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Cannery Row (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (2.5 mi/4.1 km)
  • Carmel-by-the-Sea (4.3 mi/7 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Copy and fax services
  • Banquet facilities for 120 in Oh'Sushi
Policies and fees
  • Pets are allowed for a $20 fee.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

36.5951 -121.8656
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Monterey Bay Travelodge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (130)

Ratings and reviews for Monterey Bay Travelodge

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
130 out of 130
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, ca
Feb 13, 2011

Travel lodge Monterey ca

Went to a family wedding. Clean nice rooms. Decent continental breakfast-centrally located. Our room was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
L.A.
Jan 26, 2011

Passes the Price/Quality test

Nice sized room & nice furniture. I took points off for the pillows; they were too thick for me; I couldn't sleep. They gave me a thinner one, but it was hard. I spent no time there, except to sleep and bathe. If more time were spent, the noise of the freeway might have been unpleasant, especially if you opened the sliding door. Breakfast was adequate, but one thing was unforgivable: no hot chocolate!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good Chinese restaurant right across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nashville, TN
Jan 21, 2011

Clean and Great Location

Monterey Bay Travelodge offers large affordable rooms with a small microwave and fridge. The room was clean and the staff was very nice. The location is great for getting around Monterey. I would stay again and recommend others to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

OH Sushi right next door the the hotel has the best fresh shshi I've ever had. Nice clean dining area, freiendly staff and reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
satellite beach, FL
Dec 23, 2010

Relaxing, enjoyable stay!

I was in town to visit family for a few days. So glad to have stayed at the Travel Lodge. I got the room at a great rate. The room was spotless, quiet and large. Had all amenities I needed, refrig., microwave, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, cable tv, internet access, heat, air, etc. also a continental breakfast! wow! staff was great too! did i mention the heated pool? Will always stay at this hotel when I'm in town. thanks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

hotel was close to many shops, grocery stores & short drive to monterey peir.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travelnbookworm
Business
San Jose, CA
Dec 12, 2010

Comfortable and convenient

The best part of my stay was the extremely comfortable bed with plenty of pillows that I didn't even have to request. The staff was pleasant and accomodating. The continental breakfast included hard-boiled eggs; cereal; bagels as well as the usual pastries. Very clean eating area. Only drawback is the need for one really bright lamp to read by--lots of light, just old eyes in my case.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jplandscp
Business
Rancho Santa Margarita, Ca
Dec 10, 2010

Great Value

Clean and Nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Modesto, CA
Nov 15, 2010

Very Please with the Accomodations!

What a pleasant suprise. The hotel was clean, the beds were very comfortable, the staff was very friendly and responsive, our room had a terrific view, we enjoyed the bath products that were provided in the room, it was quiet, adequate parking, complimentary breakfast was also very nice. This hotel was a super value. We will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lickbush
Business
Alexandria, VA
Nov 9, 2010

As Expected

Since I've stayed here several times before, it's clear I'm comfortable with the Travelodge. This time was no exception. Had a king-size bed and balcony. Quite comfortable. It's near to the Mission Ranch in Carmel, which is my reason for coming to the area. The Ranch has a great piano bar (I like to sing), and a terrific accompanist (Maddeline) on weekends. As long the place is reasonably comfortable, I look for economy. The Travelodge provides both.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

See comment(s) above.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Oct 23, 2010

Monterey Bay Travelodge

I had a fine experience at the Travelodge, nothing more or less than what is expected from the price. Very friendly staff, good size room with mini fridge and microwave. The only thing that left me wanting something more was the continental breakfast (drink machine out of order, not a lot of choices). Also, it's connected to a fantastic Japanese restaurant!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Safeway vland walgreens very close by for convenience!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cloverale, Ca
Oct 3, 2010

BP

I attended a wedding in Pacific Grove

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top