$59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2014 Check-out: Sep 5, 2014

Monterey Bay Travelodge

2 stars
2030 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
127 reviews
family get away

very good surroundings and close to all tourist spots See full review

  • willy flowmaster
  • Aug 1, 2014
fantastic family getaway

Travelled with family and stayed there for 2 nights. Great location, easy to find, close to all... See full review

  • Tara J
  • May 18, 2014
Pet-friendly budget hotel with a pool minutes from beaches and the bay
The bright, sunny Monterey Bay Travelodge is an ideal choice for couples, families or business travelers on a budget. A convenient location puts the Monterey Airport, Monterey County Fairgrounds, Monterey Bay Aquarium and the beach just minutes away. Monterey Bay Travelodge guests take advantage of free continental breakfast, free on-site parking and an on-site sushi restaurant. Recently refreshed guest rooms include Serta pillow-top mattresses and new carpeting. Some rooms overlook the outdoor swimming pool.
Highlights
  • Seasonal outdoor heated swimming pool
  • On-site diver's rinse facility
  • Fitness center
  • On-site sushi restaurant
  • Free continental breakfast 7 to 10 a.m.
Rooms
Floor-to-ceiling windows in Monterey Bay Travelodge guest rooms let natural light pour in. Some rooms feature balconies or patios overlooking the landscaped patio and heated outdoor swimming pool. All accommodations include free high-speed wireless Internet access, cable TV, coffee maker, hairdryer, in-room safe and iron/ironing board. A microwave and refrigerator lets guests fix a light in-room meal. Pets are welcome (fees apply).
Features
Start each day with complimentary continental breakfast at the Monterey Bay Travelodge. Breakfast items include cereal, oatmeal, bagels, pastries, fruit, juice and freshly brewed coffee. Feel free to go back for seconds and work it off in the on-site fitness center, featuring an elliptical trainer and treadmill. Doze in the sun by the seasonal heated outdoor pool.
 
For lunch and dinner, Oh'Sushi is located at the Monterey Bay Travelodge and serves a mouth-watering range of sushi, sashimi, maki rolls, noodles, rice bowls and house specials. Next door is a Chinese restaurant with elaborate decor and ginormous portions.
Transportation
  • Norman Y. Mineta San Jose International Airport (53.7 mi/86.4 km)
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Adjacent to Highway 1
Attractions
  • Monterey County Fairgrounds (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Naval Postgraduate School (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Monterey State Beach (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf Monterey (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Monterey History & Maritime Museum (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Cannery Row (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (2.5 mi/4.1 km)
  • Carmel-by-the-Sea (4.3 mi/7 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Copy and fax services
  • Banquet facilities for 120 in Oh'Sushi
Policies and fees
  • Pets are allowed for a $20 fee.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

36.5951 -121.8656
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Monterey Bay Travelodge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (127)

Ratings and reviews for Monterey Bay Travelodge

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
127 out of 127
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
fleetkeeper
alameda, ca
Jan 9, 2013

great deal

great hotel, stay there when i go diving. Also pets are ok for a small fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JO Targa
Business
Los Angeles CA
Aug 23, 2014

You get what you pay for!

It's a Travelodge... NO AC, questionable bathroom, beds were ok, smell in air in the room.... standard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KayT
Oakland, CA
Aug 13, 2014

Lovers Getaway

My guy and I wanted to attend this event in Monterey, but didn't want to have to drive before and after...we were excited about the pool, but ut closed wayyy too early. The room was decent, the bed was great...so was the TV. I always appreciate a microwave and fridge. Location was cool, because there are a few places to hit at night that you can walk to. Could be updated for the price...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Nighttime karaoke a few doors down.

Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
imoscar
los angeles
Aug 11, 2014

decent budget hotel

a bit dingy, decent location, good price, cant expect much when it was about half the price of other hotels

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
willy flowmaster
daly city california
Aug 1, 2014

family get away

very good surroundings and close to all tourist spots

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

monterey aquarium

Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
carrickgal
Carrickfergus, Northern Ireland
Jul 22, 2014

Great for stop over

The guy who checked us in couldn't have been more helpful and he even offered to change our room so that we could be beside friends that we were travelling with. Our room was right beside the pool which was very clean. The breakfast buffet was average however there was plenty of food and plenty of space in the dining room. Good location close to town and the wharf. Would recommend to anyone looking a few days stop over while driving down the coast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
youn lad
lemoore, california
Jul 7, 2014

family getaway

Room was clean but there were some stains in the bed sheets and the room was hot even though there was no air conditioner. Overall it was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Plantlady62
Modesto, CA
Jul 3, 2014

Rude manager

We rented this room with advance payment for 15 nights. The manager was very rude, accusing us of smoking in the room. We smoked only on our balcony and kept it very clean. We did burn inscents as aroma therapy and he said that is the same as smoking. I was bitten twice by what appeared to be spider. We had a pet room since we have two service animals. The room had fleas and our service animals had to be bathed to rid them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Plenty of shopping within minutes by auto.

Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carmalita Rosearita
Sebastopol Cay
Jun 24, 2014

Monterey trip

It was a bit noisy with the air traffic near by. Rooms were clean. The only trouble I had. Was when I changed rooms. I left my nightgown on hook behind bathroom door. I called to notify front desk instead of going back to room myself. We'll they never found it. I called every day I was there and even when I came. Still no gown.Very sad. It had been my mothers. Who recently passed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The dinner we had at this smoke house was fantastic can not remember full name , it is just down the street from Denneys on same side .has a picture of a Flame on their sign

Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Richie boy
Sacramento, CA
Jun 23, 2014

Worst experience of my life!

I can't believe this hotel is still in business. There was a hole in the wall looking into my room. The sliding glass door had no handle on the outside. My fiancée got stuck on the balcony. The handle on the shower door fell off. There was NO bathtub. The shower stall was 6'4" high, my hands hit the ceiling when shampooing my hair. There was NO conditioner or coffee in the room. Check in time was 3pm, the pool closed @ 8:30pm. The pool opened @ 9am, check out time 11am. There were security notices about securing this, locking that....seemed very unsafe. The tenants next door were doing illegal activity in the parking lot with cars coming and going. All this was brought to the staff's attention and they did nothing about my concerns or complaints. What a nightmare! I hope for a 50%refund of my costs!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Monterey Bay Travelodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Suleta
Fallon, Nevada
Jun 9, 2014

Definitely will stay here again.

The staff were very helpful and polite and professional. The beds were so comfortable. We all slept really good. It would have been nice if the hours of the pool were longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search