$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2014 Check-out: Aug 28, 2014

MONTEREY BAY INN

3 stars
242 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
27 reviews
Amazing Stay!

Such a great stay. Loved the room and the view. Great location! See full review

  • Cat Nabors
  • Aug 1, 2014
Great Getaway

Great location and not to far from home (San Jose). This is our third stay at this hotel. The... See full review

  • KCarb
  • Aug 2, 2013
Harbor views on Cannery Row with free in-room breakfast

Oceanfront balconies meet the tide at Monterey Bay Inn, set along the shores of historic Cannery Row.  Stroll to Monterey Bay Aquarium, lively restaurants and nightclubs. Watch sea otters nearby, or from the in-room binoculars, in this area rich in marine life and culture. A free continental breakfast arrives to guest rooms each morning. Pick up apples and cookies in the Monterey Bay Inn lobby each afternoon before dinner at sister restaurant Sardine Factory. Enjoy sunrise or the stars from the rooftop hot tub with views. 

Highlights

  • In-room continental breakfast included in room rates at Monterey Bay Inn
  • Rooftop hot tub with panoramic views of Monterey Bay (8 AM-11 PM)
  • Sister restaurant steps away that delivers room service
  • Rooms have private balconies and a set of binoculars to spy marine life
  • Along historic Cannery Row near the aquarium and local restaurants

Rooms
Lounge in provided bathrobes as a complimentary continental breakfast arrives at the door each morning at Monterey Bay Inn. Just 49 oversized rooms keep the feeling intimate, each in a blend of neutrals, bronze tones and royal blues, accented with playful artwork. For vacation convenience, all rooms feature CD and DVD players, free Wi-Fi, a coffee-maker and a minibar. Order room service, sink into feather bedding and watch the harbor light up. Marble-and-granite bathrooms offer a makeup mirror and a hair-dryer. Request a bay view from the private furnished balcony or upgrade to peer out two walls of glass in a corner panoramic view room.
Features

Built during the modern renaissance of Cannery Row with architecture inspired by the spirit of the old cannery buildings, Monterey Bay Inn is on its way toward a green certification. Find convenient access to San Carlos Beach, soothing in-room massage treatments (fees apply), small event facilities and parking (fees apply). Award-winning sister restaurant Sardine Factory has been a local favorite since 1968 for seafood, steaks, soups and salads.

Transportation

  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (4.3 mi/7 km)
  • San Jose International Airport (73.3 mi/118 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (102 mi/164 km)

Attractions

  • Cannery Row (across the street)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Dennis the Menace Playground at El Estero Park (1.3 mi/2.2 km)
  • Carmel Mission Basilica (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • Pebble Beach Golf Course (6 mi/9.6 km)
  • Big Sur, Calif. (31.8 mi/51.2 km)
  • Santa Cruz (44.1 mi/71 km)
  • Hearst Castle (94.5 mi/152 km)

Business

  • Complimentary in-room Wi-Fi
  • One boardroom that seats up to 18 people

Policies and fees
  • Parking fee is $16 per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

36.6111 -121.8968
Area served
Monterey.
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport. San Jose Muni-Midpoint.
Area description
The hotel is located on Cannery Row in beautiful Monterey, CA.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed MONTEREY BAY INN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

MONTEREY BAY INN Rooms

Cannery Row View room
Cannery Row View room offers one king bed alarm clock, balcony/terrace, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, CD player, color TV, DVD player, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron/ironing board, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone and voicemail. 520 sq.ft. Over sized guest room, feather bedding and private balcony. Cannery Row View.
Ocean View Room with Balcony
Coastal views of the Monterey Bay, San Carlos Beach, the Coast Guard Pier, and boat harbor. Features one plush king bed and a private ocean view balcony. Approximately 406 square feet of living space.
Oceanfront Room with Balcony
Oceanfront views of the Monterey Bay. Features one plush king bed and a private oceanfront balcony. Approximately 406 square feet of living space.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Spa
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking

Dining

Restaurant
The Sardine Factory Restaurant, 701 Wave Street, Monterey, CA 93940 (sister restaurant). The hotel offers room service from 11 AM - 10 PM every day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (27)

Ratings and reviews for MONTEREY BAY INN

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 27
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of MONTEREY BAY INN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Two Frequent Traveler
California
Dec 30, 2012

Great views but service lacking!

We had maintenance issues with our room the evening we were there. The staff did little or nothing to remedy the situation. They used platitudes but were lacking the sincerity to back it up. We should have stayed at the Plaza.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of MONTEREY BAY INN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
QCRC
California
Jun 1, 2012

quick getaway

When we arrived to the Inn, the desk was very friendly and accomodating. The ammenities provided very very nice. The only major complaint I had was that we had some very loud and noisy neighbor guests just below us. They had loud music during the late afternoon when we were taking a nap. They were smoking on their deck (I thought this place was a non-smoking hotel); thus we could not leave out slider door open to enjoy the fresh ocean air & sounds. Later that evening, after 11:15 PM, you could hear that they returned to their room. Their announcement was that you could hear their room door slam about 6 different times. Then, they decided to turn their music on loud. Finally, we could not take it anymore and called the front desk. Finally, hotel security knocked on their door and the noise ceased. The next morning upon waking, I opened the slider door and the folks were smoking again. The smoke drifted into our room. WE DECIDED NOT TO STAY ANOTHER NITE. A VERY MISERABLE STAY. I would have given them 5 stars if we had a better experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of MONTEREY BAY INN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
realanncampbell
Davis, CA
Jan 23, 2014

Great location, excellent view

We loved this hotel. We could easily walk the length of Cannery Row and to the Fisherman's Wharf. We had a ocean view and the hotel provided very nice binoculars. We watch whales, sea otters, sea lions, harbor seals, egrets, herons, cormorants, gulls, and many other birds. The sound of the surf was wonderful. We'd definitely go to this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of MONTEREY BAY INN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
stilldivin
San Jose, CA, USA
Feb 18, 2014

Great seaside hotel

We have stayed here many times before, and always enjoy the view, the hot tub, and how close it is to the ocean. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The only problem I noticed is the ceilings are not well insulated, so we heard a lot of noise from overhead. For the price we paid, I would think that would not be a problem. If you don't like the noise, stay in a top floor unit. It will cost more, however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of MONTEREY BAY INN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JJ&C
Carlsbad, CA
Sep 2, 2010

Excellent

This is a great hotel. We were fortunate to receive an upgrade to a room with a view of the Bay. The room and bathroom were large and luxurious and the view wonderful and soothing. They also allowed us to keep the car parked when we checked out at no extra charge. We'll gladly stay with them in our next visit to Monterey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of MONTEREY BAY INN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Johnkpaul
Cochin, Kerala, India
Nov 10, 2012

Good value for money

They do not cater Bread for breakfast. Good location The staff at the reception were extremely helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Aquarium - excellent

Review of MONTEREY BAY INN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mpgrat
oakdale
Dec 31, 2012

fun trip

The room was very nice. Very nice views from balcony. The only issue i had was with house cleaning. Check out time was 12:00 an we went for a walk on the beach. Upon returning to check out at 11:30 our room had been cleaned an some our itmes were outside the door. Very disapointed in that aspect of out stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of MONTEREY BAY INN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steven WH
Monterrey,CA
Sep 12, 2013

Great location, nice room

Great location. Very nice modern rooms. Easy in and out parking garage under the hotel. No hassle experieince.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A short walk to the Monterrey Aquairium.

Review of MONTEREY BAY INN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DivaDee
San Francisco
Nov 26, 2013

Romantic getaway❤️

Location was great , everything was great except for 15$ parking that wasn't mentioned on orbitzcom. We got a great deal 150 $ for an ocean view with balcony on 4th floor though.complimentary breakfast was weak, hard boiled egg and fruit , I also asked for yogurt and didn't recieve it . Husband liked the coffee, I ordered tea which was also yummy. Only thing that bothered me was the 3 am annoyance of sea otters making their Loud sounds. But we were given free champagne for our anniversary. ❤️

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A lot of the restaurants have the same food options .... Different is some is cheap and some is expensive. Best place I enjoyed the best fish and chips was Blue Fin on cannery row.

Review of MONTEREY BAY INN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fairfield, CA
Oct 21, 2010

Wonderful Experience

Shopping, food, location, spa all were wonderful. I would stay there again for sure

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The wharf has the best seafood I have ever eaten!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search