$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 1, 2014 Check-out: Oct 2, 2014

MONTEREY BAY INN

3 stars
242 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
26 reviews
Amazing Stay!

Such a great stay. Loved the room and the view. Great location! See full review

  • Cat Nabors
  • Aug 1, 2014
Relaxing romantic getaway

Had an oceanfront room. It was outstanding. The continental breakfast was impressive. The room was... See full review

  • Goedace
  • Apr 20, 2013
Harbor views on Cannery Row with free in-room breakfast

Oceanfront balconies meet the tide at Monterey Bay Inn, set along the shores of historic Cannery Row.  Stroll to Monterey Bay Aquarium, lively restaurants and nightclubs. Watch sea otters nearby, or from the in-room binoculars, in this area rich in marine life and culture. A free continental breakfast arrives to guest rooms each morning. Pick up apples and cookies in the Monterey Bay Inn lobby each afternoon before dinner at sister restaurant Sardine Factory. Enjoy sunrise or the stars from the rooftop hot tub with views. 

Highlights

  • In-room continental breakfast included in room rates at Monterey Bay Inn
  • Rooftop hot tub with panoramic views of Monterey Bay (8 AM-11 PM)
  • Sister restaurant steps away that delivers room service
  • Rooms have private balconies and a set of binoculars to spy marine life
  • Along historic Cannery Row near the aquarium and local restaurants

Rooms
Lounge in provided bathrobes as a complimentary continental breakfast arrives at the door each morning at Monterey Bay Inn. Just 49 oversized rooms keep the feeling intimate, each in a blend of neutrals, bronze tones and royal blues, accented with playful artwork. For vacation convenience, all rooms feature CD and DVD players, free Wi-Fi, a coffee-maker and a minibar. Order room service, sink into feather bedding and watch the harbor light up. Marble-and-granite bathrooms offer a makeup mirror and a hair-dryer. Request a bay view from the private furnished balcony or upgrade to peer out two walls of glass in a corner panoramic view room.
Features

Built during the modern renaissance of Cannery Row with architecture inspired by the spirit of the old cannery buildings, Monterey Bay Inn is on its way toward a green certification. Find convenient access to San Carlos Beach, soothing in-room massage treatments (fees apply), small event facilities and parking (fees apply). Award-winning sister restaurant Sardine Factory has been a local favorite since 1968 for seafood, steaks, soups and salads.

Transportation

  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (4.3 mi/7 km)
  • San Jose International Airport (73.3 mi/118 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (102 mi/164 km)

Attractions

  • Cannery Row (across the street)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Dennis the Menace Playground at El Estero Park (1.3 mi/2.2 km)
  • Carmel Mission Basilica (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • Pebble Beach Golf Course (6 mi/9.6 km)
  • Big Sur, Calif. (31.8 mi/51.2 km)
  • Santa Cruz (44.1 mi/71 km)
  • Hearst Castle (94.5 mi/152 km)

Business

  • Complimentary in-room Wi-Fi
  • One boardroom that seats up to 18 people

Policies and fees
  • Parking fee is $16 per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

36.6111 -121.8968
Area served
Monterey.
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport. San Jose Muni-Midpoint.
Area description
The hotel is located on Cannery Row in beautiful Monterey, CA.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed MONTEREY BAY INN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

MONTEREY BAY INN Rooms

Cannery Row View room
Cannery Row View room offers one king bed alarm clock, balcony/terrace, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, CD player, color TV, DVD player, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron/ironing board, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone and voicemail. 520 sq.ft. Over sized guest room, feather bedding and private balcony. Cannery Row View.
Ocean View Room with Balcony
Coastal views of the Monterey Bay, San Carlos Beach, the Coast Guard Pier, and boat harbor. Features one plush king bed and a private ocean view balcony. Approximately 406 square feet of living space.
Oceanfront Room with Balcony
Oceanfront views of the Monterey Bay. Features one plush king bed and a private oceanfront balcony. Approximately 406 square feet of living space.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Spa
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking

Dining

Restaurant
The Sardine Factory Restaurant, 701 Wave Street, Monterey, CA 93940 (sister restaurant). The hotel offers room service from 11 AM - 10 PM every day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (26)

Ratings and reviews for MONTEREY BAY INN

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 26
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of MONTEREY BAY INN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Fernando Valley, Ca.
Sep 29, 2010

Beautiful room,upgraded automatically

Second time at this hotel.First time was in 2003 which was ok but was remodeled in 2005 and now it is top class!Couldn't believe the incredible price we paid for such a beautiful room!Complimentary breakfast and was upgraded to a bay view with no additional fees!On Cannery Row so was a short walk to everything (dinning,shopping,fisherman warf,etc.)Enjoyed our stay and will definetly be staying here the next time we plan a trip to Monterey!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

On Cannery Row so no need to drive unless you head to Carmel-By-The-Sea which we recommend (short drive,several miles away.)

Review of MONTEREY BAY INN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JJ&C
Carlsbad, CA
Sep 2, 2010

Excellent

This is a great hotel. We were fortunate to receive an upgrade to a room with a view of the Bay. The room and bathroom were large and luxurious and the view wonderful and soothing. They also allowed us to keep the car parked when we checked out at no extra charge. We'll gladly stay with them in our next visit to Monterey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of MONTEREY BAY INN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix
Jul 30, 2010

Our stay at Monterey Bay Inn

What a delight to stay at the Monterey Bay Inn. Our room was gorgeous and the king size bed extremely comfortable. Our view of the harbor was especially lovely at night when the lights came on all around. We enjoyed the close proximity to the water and the park and we could hear the restful splashing from the fountain below us even with our balcony doors closed. A special treat was the complimentary breakfast tray which was deliverd to our room. We visited the Aquarium two days and were totally enthralled with the beauty of the exhibits. It was so convenient to be able to catch the trolly in front of the Inn going to and from the Aquarium as we were pretty tired at the end of the day. We enjoyed having dinner on the wharf and watching the seals play as we ate. Our stay at the Monterey Bay Inn was very special and we have memories that will last a long time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are many good restaurants on the wharf and it is a fun place to browse for souveniers.

Review of MONTEREY BAY INN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Concord NC
May 10, 2010

Monterey bay inn

My husband and I spent three nights here. It was a wonderful relaxing time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of MONTEREY BAY INN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Modesto, CA
Jan 25, 2010

Stay here!

The staff was friendly, the parking was right under the hotel. The hotel itself is right on the water. Spa facilities (which we didn't take advantage of, but they were there,) two hot tubs, free continental breakfast of your choosing to your door (great coffee!) Clean rooms that are a nice size. Comfy beds. Cute balcony with a view of the bay, right on Cannery row. I will surely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of MONTEREY BAY INN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travellin Mom
Darien, CT
Aug 24, 2009

Nice stay

Arrived around 8:00 in the evening and were thrilled to find the restaurant still open. The food is quite good and the menu interesting. Service was very good. The location is wonderful, right on the bay and next to a bird sanctuary. Lots of seals were swimming off shore in the morning. The rooms themselves were a little sparse, perhaps rustic is the best word, but very comfortable and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

This is a great stop over point along the Pacific Coast Highway. It's about a 40 minute drive north to Hearst Castle.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search