$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2015 Check-out: Aug 21, 2015

MONTEREY BAY INN

3 stars
View map of 242 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for MONTEREY BAY INN

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
33 out of 33
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of MONTEREY BAY INN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Running Rabbit
Business
Southern California
Nov 23, 2011

It was fabulous!

I stayed during the Big Sur Half Marathon weekend - got a most restful sleep and a wonderful stay. It's in a great location and the staff were absolutely awesome! I'm booking my return trip for the Big Sur International Marathon in April 2012 for sure!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of MONTEREY BAY INN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stockton, CA
Jun 27, 2011

Great Deal

Room with a great view. Short walking distance to a lot of places. Why pay higher price in the middle of everything when you can just walk and enjoy Monterey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of MONTEREY BAY INN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pleasanton, CA
May 8, 2011

A wonderful weekend in Monterey

The hotel in right on the water, with perfect views of Monterey Bay from the individual balconies. We were able to walk to several great restaurants and to Fisherman's Wharf in no time. This was the best trip we have had in a long time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Sardine Factory made us feel at home, served wonderful food, provided excellent service, and had an exceptional wine cellar. The Trailside Cafe had great Huevos Rancheros for breakfast the next day.

Review of MONTEREY BAY INN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fremont, CA
Mar 20, 2011

Dream location with a great price

Spent the weekend with my fiancé at Cannery Row visiting the Monterey Bay Aquarium, perusing shops, patronizing Starbucks far too many times. Weather could have been a bit better, but it's the coast and the weather can be unpredictable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A few blocks away is the Sardine Factory. It's a little expensive, but the service, food, and atmosphere are completely worth it.

Review of MONTEREY BAY INN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Campbell, CA
Feb 12, 2011

Honeymoon 2011

we loved our room, very quiet and spacious. didnt know that parking in the hotel would cost us $15 a day, so that was a little irritation in an otherwise lovely honeymoon stay. we really enjoyed the complimentary breakfast brought to our room each morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Definitely go visit the Fishwife in Pacific Grove. We licked our plates clean. Also, the fish and chips at Sly McFly's bar were hands down the best we've ever had. Yum

Review of MONTEREY BAY INN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fairfield, CA
Oct 21, 2010

Wonderful Experience

Shopping, food, location, spa all were wonderful. I would stay there again for sure

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The wharf has the best seafood I have ever eaten!

Review of MONTEREY BAY INN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
amherst, ma
Oct 13, 2010

really nice

10 minute walk to the aquarium--which is not to be missed. get a room with a balcony overlooking the harbor--a beautiful way to wake up in the morning. also, room service b'fast was included in the price of the room. really good coffee, etc. room was quiet and comfortable and nicely decorated. big, fancy bathroom with great lightning. couple of outdoor hot tubs were very inviting--private and clean--but we did not actually use them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

don't miss the aquarium. had dinner at the chart house--not good value for the money, but food was good enough.

Review of MONTEREY BAY INN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern California
Oct 5, 2010

Over Rated

The Inn was clean and quiet. The advertised view of the Marina is not quite correct. There is a Coast Guard pier in between that mostly obscures the view of the Marina area. Some obstructed lights are visible at night. The service was good and breakfast very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many excelent restaurants within walking distance of the Inn.

Review of MONTEREY BAY INN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Fernando Valley, Ca.
Sep 29, 2010

Beautiful room,upgraded automatically

Second time at this hotel.First time was in 2003 which was ok but was remodeled in 2005 and now it is top class!Couldn't believe the incredible price we paid for such a beautiful room!Complimentary breakfast and was upgraded to a bay view with no additional fees!On Cannery Row so was a short walk to everything (dinning,shopping,fisherman warf,etc.)Enjoyed our stay and will definetly be staying here the next time we plan a trip to Monterey!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

On Cannery Row so no need to drive unless you head to Carmel-By-The-Sea which we recommend (short drive,several miles away.)

Review of MONTEREY BAY INN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix
Jul 30, 2010

Our stay at Monterey Bay Inn

What a delight to stay at the Monterey Bay Inn. Our room was gorgeous and the king size bed extremely comfortable. Our view of the harbor was especially lovely at night when the lights came on all around. We enjoyed the close proximity to the water and the park and we could hear the restful splashing from the fountain below us even with our balcony doors closed. A special treat was the complimentary breakfast tray which was deliverd to our room. We visited the Aquarium two days and were totally enthralled with the beauty of the exhibits. It was so convenient to be able to catch the trolly in front of the Inn going to and from the Aquarium as we were pretty tired at the end of the day. We enjoyed having dinner on the wharf and watching the seals play as we ate. Our stay at the Monterey Bay Inn was very special and we have memories that will last a long time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are many good restaurants on the wharf and it is a fun place to browse for souveniers.

Back to menu Return to top