$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 8, 2015 Check-out: Jul 9, 2015

MONTEREY BAY INN

3 stars
View map of 242 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
33 reviews
Awesome Trip Ever

The staff were courteous, rooms clean and worth the 200+ that we paid. See full review

  • Simon M.
  • Mar 21, 2015
Romantic getaway!

My boyfriend and I stayed here for our one year anniversary and we were very happy with our stay.... See full review

  • Zena N.
  • Mar 10, 2015

Oceanfront balconies meet the tide at Monterey Bay Inn, set along the shores of historic Cannery Row.  Stroll to Monterey Bay Aquarium, lively restaurants and nightclubs. Watch sea otters nearby, or from the in-room binoculars, in this area rich in marine life and culture. A free continental breakfast arrives to guest rooms each morning. Pick up apples and cookies in the Monterey Bay Inn lobby each afternoon before dinner at sister restaurant Sardine Factory. Enjoy sunrise or the stars from the rooftop hot tub with views. 

Rooms
Lounge in provided bathrobes as a complimentary continental breakfast arrives at the door each morning at Monterey Bay Inn. Just 49 oversized rooms keep the feeling intimate, each in a blend of neutrals, bronze tones and royal blues, accented with playful artwork. For vacation convenience, all rooms feature CD and DVD players, free Wi-Fi, a coffee-maker and a minibar. Order room service, sink into feather bedding and watch the harbor light up. Marble-and-granite bathrooms offer a makeup mirror and a hair-dryer. Request a bay view from the private furnished balcony or upgrade to peer out two walls of glass in a corner panoramic view room.
Property features

Built during the modern renaissance of Cannery Row with architecture inspired by the spirit of the old cannery buildings, Monterey Bay Inn is on its way toward a green certification. Find convenient access to San Carlos Beach, soothing in-room massage treatments (fees apply), small event facilities and parking (fees apply). Award-winning sister restaurant Sardine Factory has been a local favorite since 1968 for seafood, steaks, soups and salads.

Highlights

  • In-room continental breakfast included in room rates at Monterey Bay Inn
  • Rooftop hot tub with panoramic views of Monterey Bay (8 AM-11 PM)
  • Sister restaurant steps away that delivers room service
  • Rooms have private balconies and a set of binoculars to spy marine life
  • Along historic Cannery Row near the aquarium and local restaurants

Nearby attractions

  • Cannery Row (across the street)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Monterey Conference Center (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Dennis the Menace Playground at El Estero Park (1.3 mi/2.2 km)
  • Carmel Mission Basilica (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • Pebble Beach Golf Course (6 mi/9.6 km)
  • Big Sur, Calif. (31.8 mi/51.2 km)
  • Santa Cruz (44.1 mi/71 km)
  • Hearst Castle (94.5 mi/152 km)

Business

  • Complimentary in-room Wi-Fi
  • One boardroom that seats up to 18 people

Transportation

  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (4.3 mi/7 km)
  • San Jose International Airport (73.3 mi/118 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (102 mi/164 km)

Policies
  • Parking fee is $16 per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed MONTEREY BAY INN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

MONTEREY BAY INN Rooms

Cannery Row View with Balcony room
Cannery Row View room offers one king bed alarm clock, balcony/terrace, bathrobe, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, CD player, color TV, DVD player, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, iron/ironing board, mini bar, non-smoking rooms, room service, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone and voicemail. 520 sq.ft. Over sized guest room, feather bedding and private balcony. Cannery Row View.
Ocean Harbor View Room with Balcony
Coastal views of the Monterey Bay, San Carlos Beach, the Coast Guard Pier, and boat harbor. Features one plush king bed and a private ocean view balcony. Approximately 406 square feet of living space.
Oceanfront Room with Balcony
Oceanfront views of the Monterey Bay. Features one plush king bed and a private oceanfront balcony. Approximately 406 square feet of living space.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Spa
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking

Dining

Restaurant
The Sardine Factory Restaurant, 701 Wave Street, Monterey, CA 93940 (sister restaurant). The hotel offers room service from 11 AM - 10 PM every day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for MONTEREY BAY INN

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
33 out of 33
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of MONTEREY BAY INN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Simon M.
Business
Hayward
Mar 21, 2015

Awesome Trip Ever

The staff were courteous, rooms clean and worth the 200+ that we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of MONTEREY BAY INN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Zena N.
Business
Denver
Mar 10, 2015

Romantic getaway!

My boyfriend and I stayed here for our one year anniversary and we were very happy with our stay. The room had a balcony and fireplace and the hot tub overlooked the ocean! The front desk clerk was nice enough to give us a corner room after learning it was a special occasion. Also, free continental breakfast delivered to your room every morning!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of MONTEREY BAY INN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ashley
Business
N/A
Mar 3, 2015

Last min get away

Lovely hotel with a great view. They serviced continental breakfast to your room in the morning with a time of your choosing which was perfect. They also have aveda bathroom shower products, I love aveda. It was a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of MONTEREY BAY INN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chuck2288
Business
Pittsburg
Jan 12, 2015

Great trip

Very nice hotel great view of water and hiking area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of MONTEREY BAY INN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chuck2288
Business
Pittsburg
Jan 9, 2015

Great trip

Hotel very nice great view of water nd close to resturants nd hiking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of MONTEREY BAY INN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PatrickSharer
Business
Antioch Ca
Nov 24, 2014

Perfect hotel for a perfect weekend.

The Staff was friendly and quick. The room exceeded my expectations and the views were outstanding. Yes it only comes with a continental breakfast but hey it’s delivered right to your room at your desired scheduled time so that’s awesome! Everything was clean and comfortable and the bathroom was almost the size of my bedroom at home. The only thing I can complain about is the parking. Upon check-in I was provided a parking pass to place on my dash and was told I could park in the lot under the hotel. Awesome as everything else on Cannery row costs money. When I went to check out I was asked if I wanted to put the cost of the parking on the same credit card I had used to reserve the room. …..wait a minute…I was never told up front that this would be an extra charge. They made it seem like it was part of the room reservation so of course I accepted. Anyway, it was much too good of a weekend to cause a fuss. Overall great hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of MONTEREY BAY INN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cat Nabors
Business
Hanford, CA
Aug 1, 2014

Amazing Stay!

Such a great stay. Loved the room and the view. Great location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of MONTEREY BAY INN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
stilldivin
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Feb 18, 2014

Great seaside hotel

We have stayed here many times before, and always enjoy the view, the hot tub, and how close it is to the ocean. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The only problem I noticed is the ceilings are not well insulated, so we heard a lot of noise from overhead. For the price we paid, I would think that would not be a problem. If you don't like the noise, stay in a top floor unit. It will cost more, however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of MONTEREY BAY INN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
realanncampbell
Business
Davis, CA
Jan 23, 2014

Great location, excellent view

We loved this hotel. We could easily walk the length of Cannery Row and to the Fisherman's Wharf. We had a ocean view and the hotel provided very nice binoculars. We watch whales, sea otters, sea lions, harbor seals, egrets, herons, cormorants, gulls, and many other birds. The sound of the surf was wonderful. We'd definitely go to this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of MONTEREY BAY INN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DivaDee
Business
San Francisco
Nov 26, 2013

Romantic getaway❤️

Location was great , everything was great except for 15$ parking that wasn't mentioned on orbitzcom. We got a great deal 150 $ for an ocean view with balcony on 4th floor though.complimentary breakfast was weak, hard boiled egg and fruit , I also asked for yogurt and didn't recieve it . Husband liked the coffee, I ordered tea which was also yummy. Only thing that bothered me was the 3 am annoyance of sea otters making their Loud sounds. But we were given free champagne for our anniversary. ❤️

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A lot of the restaurants have the same food options .... Different is some is cheap and some is expensive. Best place I enjoyed the best fish and chips was Blue Fin on cannery row.

Back to menu Return to top