$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 20, 2014 Check-out: Aug 21, 2014

Knights Inn Carmel Hill

1 star
1374 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
112 reviews
Great

Clean, friendly hotel! Good location. Suggest to stay here See full review

  • Traveler Kim123
  • Mar 23, 2014
Nice room and location

Our room was clean with plenty of room. We were upgraded to 2 queen beds which was great. The staff... See full review

  • roxanneg
  • Feb 24, 2014
Smart rates across from a shopping center and restaurants

For basic accommodations in Monterey, Knights Inn Carmel Hill offers budget rates on simple rooms about two miles from historic Cannery Row. Kids enjoy splashing in the kidney-shaped outdoor swimming pool in the summer or heading to area beaches. Added convenience comes from the free continental breakfast and an outdoor mall across the street, plus a good variety of restaurants within walking distance. Ask for a room with a microwave and a refrigerator to keep snacks and beverages on hand at Knights Inn Carmel Hill.

Highlights

  • Outdoor seasonal swimming pool
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Budget rates in Monterey near Carmel with free Internet access
  • Across the street from shopping center
  • Walking distance to a variety of restaurants

Rooms
Clean and simple, Knights Inn Carmel Hill guest rooms combine a convenient location with budget rates. Nonsmoking rooms are available as are microwaves and refrigerators upon request. Each room features a hair-dryer, an iron and ironing board, a clock radio and a TV with HBO plus complimentary wired and wireless Internet access. Book a room with a spa or fireplace for an especially cozy stay. Rooms on the second floor offer quieter accommodations with no guests above the rooms.
Features
There are a handful of parks in the area of Knights Inn Carmel Hill, a property that offers a straight shot right down Pacific Street to both the famous Dennis the Menace Playground at El Estero Park and plenty of shops, restaurants and family entertainment at Fisherman's Wharf. Drive a few miles into downtown Monterey from the affordable Knights Inn Carmel Hill with free parking and easy access to Hwy 68/1 to Freeway 101 and 17-Mile Drive. 
Transportation

  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • San Jose International Airport (72.9 mi/117 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (106 mi/170 km)

Attractions

  • Monterey Conference Center (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Dennis the Menace Playground at El Estero Park (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Cannery Row (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Carmel Mission Basilica (3.9 mi/6.4 km)
  • Pebble Beach Golf Course (4.1 mi/6.5 km)
  • Santa Cruz (43.8 mi/70.4 km)
  • San Francisco (114 mi/183 km)
  • Big Sur, Calif. (138 mi/222 km)

Business
  • Free wired and wireless Internet access in rooms
Policies and fees

  • If guest check-in is later than 6 p.m., guest must call hotel for the late check-in.
  • Swimming pool now available.
  • If more than two people, there will be an extra charge. Children 17 and under stay free.
  • Microwave and refrigerators available upon request. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Knights Inn Carmel Hill also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

36.5845 -121.9013
Area description
Business district

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (112)

Ratings and reviews for Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 112
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
EastBayG819
East Bay, CA
May 26, 2014

Very Average motel that costs too much.

First thing I noticed was how loose the door was and how much gap there was when locked. The carpets were ripped and the room was definitely not something to write home about. Next door had loud music booming and there was hardly any insulation in the walls. The price of the room was probably the worst part. I wouldn't be complaining if I paid less than $100 per night but at over $300 per night, this was majorly disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Khtito
Atwater, CA
Jan 12, 2014

Excellent family getaway

Everything was at our expectations, plus a little extras. Great location and very, very clean place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dunderhead
Lake Tahoe
May 13, 2013

Knight's Inn Munras

Older motel with remodeled rooms. Functional accomodations but nothing special. Staff was helpful. Decent value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Scott n Margie
Costa Mesa, CA
Jan 15, 2013

A Good Place for Those Who Just Want to Sleep

Good location for a stop in the Monterey area. An experienced staff.provides rooms that are clean and large. The breakfast is minimal and the parking is tight in some areas so be careful. They have an unheated outdoor pool that I have never seen used in over a dozen stays.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go get a half sandwich at Campango;s on Prescott Avenue. They are the best in the world and a whole $10 sandwich is enough for two.

Review of Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Andreia
São Paulo, Brasil
Jan 17, 2012

It's ok

Good price and location to go to Highway 1: the staff, the breakfast and the room was ok but nothing extraordinary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scott n Margie
Costa Mesa, CA
Sep 30, 2011

Great for the money

We have stayed here many times over the past four years. The management is always attentive and dependable. The rooms are surprisingly modern, quite comfortable, and reasonably quiet despite being on a busy road. The location provides quick driving access to all area attractions. We will visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great restaurants are plentiful with our highest recommnedation for PassionFish in Pacific Grove and the "C" at the InterContinental in Monterey. Additionally, the best sandwiches in the world are made at Compano's on Prescott in Monterey.

Review of Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scott n Margie
Costa Mesa, CA
Sep 30, 2011

Great for the money

We have stayed here many times over the past four years. The management is always attentive and dependable. The rooms are surprisingly modern, quite comfortable, and reasonably quiet despite being on a busy road. The location provides quick driving access to all area attractions. We will visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great restaurants are plentiful with our highest recommnedation for PassionFish in Pacific Grove and the "C" at the InterContinental in Monterey. Additionally, the best sandwiches in the world are made at Compano's on Prescott in Monterey.

Review of Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
sonora ca
Feb 22, 2011

Beware!! rip off, double charged

first of all my wife is fitting cancer and I reserved a room for us to stay for 1 night after our visit to stanford hospitol, when we got there the room we reserved was rented and they told us the other room would not be ready for 3 hours, so I had to go find another hotel because my wife gets tired and has to lay down, well they charged our card anyway even though we didnt stay, so at a later date we gave them another chance because the rates are resonable and we were going to stay for 2 days, the first night we got a call that our son was in an auto wreck and we had to leave the next morning I told the women at front desk about what happened when we got home and got bill she charged us for both nights this hotel is a rip off Beware!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
sonora ca
Feb 22, 2011

Beware!! rip off, double charged

first of all my wife is fitting cancer and I reserved a room for us to stay for 1 night after our visit to stanford hospitol, when we got there the room we reserved was rented and they told us the other room would not be ready for 3 hours, so I had to go find another hotel because my wife gets tired and has to lay down, well they charged our card anyway even though we didnt stay, so at a later date we gave them another chance because the rates are resonable and we were going to stay for 2 days, the first night we got a call that our son was in an auto wreck and we had to leave the next morning I told the women at front desk about what happened when we got home and got bill she charged us for both nights this hotel is a rip off Beware!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Sep 29, 2010

Clean and comfortable!

Hotel is easy to get to, easy check-in and check-out, very clean and comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful - with info about area restaurants and directions to area attractions. Amenities were adequate and in good condition (little fridge, microwave, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, alarm clock, place to hang clothes, air conditioner/heater, desk, TV, etc.). This was not a luxury hotel, however everything was very clean, comfortable and in good working order.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very nice outdoor mall across the street in walking distance with a good variety of restaurants in every price range.

Back to menu Return to top