$44 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 17, 2014 Check-out: Dec 18, 2014

Knights Inn Carmel Hill

1 star
1374 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
69 reviews
Great

Clean, friendly hotel! Good location. Suggest to stay here See full review

  • Traveler Kim123
  • Mar 23, 2014
Nice room and location

Our room was clean with plenty of room. We were upgraded to 2 queen beds which was great. The staff... See full review

  • roxanneg
  • Feb 24, 2014
Smart rates across from a shopping center and restaurants

For basic accommodations in Monterey, Knights Inn Carmel Hill offers budget rates on simple rooms about two miles from historic Cannery Row. Kids enjoy splashing in the kidney-shaped outdoor swimming pool in the summer or heading to area beaches. Added convenience comes from the free continental breakfast and an outdoor mall across the street, plus a good variety of restaurants within walking distance. Ask for a room with a microwave and a refrigerator to keep snacks and beverages on hand at Knights Inn Carmel Hill.

Highlights

  • Outdoor seasonal swimming pool
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Budget rates in Monterey near Carmel with free Internet access
  • Across the street from shopping center
  • Walking distance to a variety of restaurants

Rooms
Clean and simple, Knights Inn Carmel Hill guest rooms combine a convenient location with budget rates. Nonsmoking rooms are available as are microwaves and refrigerators upon request. Each room features a hair-dryer, an iron and ironing board, a clock radio and a TV with HBO plus complimentary wired and wireless Internet access. Book a room with a spa or fireplace for an especially cozy stay. Rooms on the second floor offer quieter accommodations with no guests above the rooms.
Features
There are a handful of parks in the area of Knights Inn Carmel Hill, a property that offers a straight shot right down Pacific Street to both the famous Dennis the Menace Playground at El Estero Park and plenty of shops, restaurants and family entertainment at Fisherman's Wharf. Drive a few miles into downtown Monterey from the affordable Knights Inn Carmel Hill with free parking and easy access to Hwy 68/1 to Freeway 101 and 17-Mile Drive. 
Transportation

  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • San Jose International Airport (72.9 mi/117 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (106 mi/170 km)

Attractions

  • Monterey Conference Center (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Dennis the Menace Playground at El Estero Park (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Cannery Row (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Carmel Mission Basilica (3.9 mi/6.4 km)
  • Pebble Beach Golf Course (4.1 mi/6.5 km)
  • Santa Cruz (43.8 mi/70.4 km)
  • San Francisco (114 mi/183 km)
  • Big Sur, Calif. (138 mi/222 km)

Business
  • Free wired and wireless Internet access in rooms
Policies and fees

  • If guest check-in is later than 6 p.m., guest must call hotel for the late check-in.
  • Swimming pool now available.
  • If more than two people, there will be an extra charge. Children 17 and under stay free.
  • Microwave and refrigerators available upon request. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Knights Inn Carmel Hill also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (69)

Ratings and reviews for Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
69 out of 69
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fresno, CA
Sep 14, 2009

ok

We basically just slept there. The room smelled, the hand soap was a bottle with the room number on it to be used by the previous and next room guest. The parking lot was so small we had to do a "Y" turn to get out. No alarm clock but a small fridge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sonora ca
Feb 22, 2011

Beware!! rip off, double charged

first of all my wife is fitting cancer and I reserved a room for us to stay for 1 night after our visit to stanford hospitol, when we got there the room we reserved was rented and they told us the other room would not be ready for 3 hours, so I had to go find another hotel because my wife gets tired and has to lay down, well they charged our card anyway even though we didnt stay, so at a later date we gave them another chance because the rates are resonable and we were going to stay for 2 days, the first night we got a call that our son was in an auto wreck and we had to leave the next morning I told the women at front desk about what happened when we got home and got bill she charged us for both nights this hotel is a rip off Beware!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monterey,CA
Nov 28, 2009

Scary place

I am disabled and I have a superbly trained SERVICE DOG for which they gave me a lot of grief. EVEN explaining my rights,showing my airline/federal /TSA official papers which are NOT REQUIRED by law, they acted as if I had brought an alligator. The office was so filled with incense smoke I could not enter it, and my family members had to go in for me after that. one night a car alarm went off and my service dog barked 4 yips to alert me to possible danger there, then there were loud sirens going by, and then the neighbor room made strange noises, to which my service dog also alerted me of possible danger (2 yips). The office called and said I have to pay the bill of another patron if anyone leaves on a noise complaint. Good grief the outside noises were chaotic - who wants a car alarm going off outside their room and sirens.. I did not make noise from my room, just an alert to the excessive outside noise, alarms and sirens we're trained for my hearing disability. By the way, there was no room coffee pot, the Indian soap for the bathroom is disgustingly bad smell and quality, and the sheets feel like cardboard or paper they are so scratchy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

shopping center close with good cheap food - Chipotle, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sad day
Business
gilroy ca
Jul 7, 2014

please don't go there

hey from a very small room to a restroom fan that that was so loud and did not work the towels were so hard that if clean my car with it the paint would on off better then if use sandpaper hey it bad that all i can say do not go there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Andreia
Business
São Paulo, Brasil
Jan 17, 2012

It's ok

Good price and location to go to Highway 1: the staff, the breakfast and the room was ok but nothing extraordinary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dunderhead
Business
Lake Tahoe
May 13, 2013

Knight's Inn Munras

Older motel with remodeled rooms. Functional accomodations but nothing special. Staff was helpful. Decent value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
guess who is thiiiss
Business
sacramento
Nov 27, 2013

Ok for roadtrip

Rooms were clean, hotel is close to a nice mall center

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
EastBayG819
Business
East Bay, CA
May 26, 2014

Very Average motel that costs too much.

First thing I noticed was how loose the door was and how much gap there was when locked. The carpets were ripped and the room was definitely not something to write home about. Next door had loud music booming and there was hardly any insulation in the walls. The price of the room was probably the worst part. I wouldn't be complaining if I paid less than $100 per night but at over $300 per night, this was majorly disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angeles, ca
Jul 28, 2009

noisey but convenient

easy to locate in downtown. close to shopping and MIIS where I was headed. A coffee pot in the room would have been nice, since they didn't offer a breakfast buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

they close everything at 9:00,including grocery store

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburg, CA
Jul 29, 2009

You Get What You Pay For

The Knight's Inn is a decent place if you are looking for a cheap place to stay. The walls are paper thin! We heard everything going on upstairs and next door all night. If all you plan to do is Sleep and shower there, then I would recommend it. Otherwise, I would spend the extra money for a nicer place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive to the Monterey Bay Aquarium and Cannary Row. Shoping center and restraunts right across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top