$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 20, 2014 Check-out: Aug 21, 2014

Knights Inn Carmel Hill

1 star
1374 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
112 reviews
Great

Clean, friendly hotel! Good location. Suggest to stay here See full review

  • Traveler Kim123
  • Mar 23, 2014
Nice room and location

Our room was clean with plenty of room. We were upgraded to 2 queen beds which was great. The staff... See full review

  • roxanneg
  • Feb 24, 2014
Smart rates across from a shopping center and restaurants

For basic accommodations in Monterey, Knights Inn Carmel Hill offers budget rates on simple rooms about two miles from historic Cannery Row. Kids enjoy splashing in the kidney-shaped outdoor swimming pool in the summer or heading to area beaches. Added convenience comes from the free continental breakfast and an outdoor mall across the street, plus a good variety of restaurants within walking distance. Ask for a room with a microwave and a refrigerator to keep snacks and beverages on hand at Knights Inn Carmel Hill.

Highlights

  • Outdoor seasonal swimming pool
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Budget rates in Monterey near Carmel with free Internet access
  • Across the street from shopping center
  • Walking distance to a variety of restaurants

Rooms
Clean and simple, Knights Inn Carmel Hill guest rooms combine a convenient location with budget rates. Nonsmoking rooms are available as are microwaves and refrigerators upon request. Each room features a hair-dryer, an iron and ironing board, a clock radio and a TV with HBO plus complimentary wired and wireless Internet access. Book a room with a spa or fireplace for an especially cozy stay. Rooms on the second floor offer quieter accommodations with no guests above the rooms.
Features
There are a handful of parks in the area of Knights Inn Carmel Hill, a property that offers a straight shot right down Pacific Street to both the famous Dennis the Menace Playground at El Estero Park and plenty of shops, restaurants and family entertainment at Fisherman's Wharf. Drive a few miles into downtown Monterey from the affordable Knights Inn Carmel Hill with free parking and easy access to Hwy 68/1 to Freeway 101 and 17-Mile Drive. 
Transportation

  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • San Jose International Airport (72.9 mi/117 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (106 mi/170 km)

Attractions

  • Monterey Conference Center (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Dennis the Menace Playground at El Estero Park (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Cannery Row (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Carmel Mission Basilica (3.9 mi/6.4 km)
  • Pebble Beach Golf Course (4.1 mi/6.5 km)
  • Santa Cruz (43.8 mi/70.4 km)
  • San Francisco (114 mi/183 km)
  • Big Sur, Calif. (138 mi/222 km)

Business
  • Free wired and wireless Internet access in rooms
Policies and fees

  • If guest check-in is later than 6 p.m., guest must call hotel for the late check-in.
  • Swimming pool now available.
  • If more than two people, there will be an extra charge. Children 17 and under stay free.
  • Microwave and refrigerators available upon request. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

36.5845 -121.9013
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Knights Inn Carmel Hill also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (112)

Ratings and reviews for Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
112 out of 112
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lemonssss
Business
Monterey, CA
Jan 31, 2013

Average

Pros: Great location Good price Fairly clean Cons: You get what you pay for My heater unit works for 30 mins before it blows out cold air Walls are SUPER THIN. My door also had a large crack so you could hear everything outside Other notes: No ironing board Good thing I brought extra warm clothes during the winter due to super thin walls + my heater not working properly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Scott n Margie
Costa Mesa, CA
Jan 15, 2013

A Good Place for Those Who Just Want to Sleep

Good location for a stop in the Monterey area. An experienced staff.provides rooms that are clean and large. The breakfast is minimal and the parking is tight in some areas so be careful. They have an unheated outdoor pool that I have never seen used in over a dozen stays.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go get a half sandwich at Campango;s on Prescott Avenue. They are the best in the world and a whole $10 sandwich is enough for two.

Review of Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chocolateloving Mom
Northern Colorado
Jan 13, 2013

Monterey vacation stay

Four nights in a clean room, with adequate services. Limited continental breakfast. Convenient location for my trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Olivia's daddy
los angeles
Nov 13, 2012

great location

Amenities are very few, and the free WiFi had no signal in the room we stayed in. Continental breakfast every morning was nice. 5 minute drive to cannery row and aquarium. If you are out all day and only plan on being in the room to sleep, this place is perfect. Room was clean, and basic, but the location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Andreia
São Paulo, Brasil
Jan 17, 2012

It's ok

Good price and location to go to Highway 1: the staff, the breakfast and the room was ok but nothing extraordinary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
drives too much
Los Osos, Baywood-Los Osos, CA, USA
Dec 10, 2011

Pleasantly surprised

A very nice room at a great price. Nicely furnished, Spotlessly clean. Christmas at the Adobes and this motel made a great modestly priced get away. Across the street from the best Macy's on the central coast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Christmas at the Adobes, put on by California State Parks, is a once a year chance to see inside Monterey's historic adobes. Docents dress in costume, serve cookies, punch and coffee, Tell about the buildings, furnishings, and historic residents. A lot of fun and very informative. A fun way to introduce kids to some history. Make your plans for next year.

Review of Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California, USA
Oct 31, 2011

A diamond in the rough.

I would NEVER have thought from passing through that this would be such a great little hotel! The reason I stayed here was to use as a studio to prepare for a model shoot I was doing that day. Just for us to get cleaned up and for my model's hair to get done. So I did not stay overnight. But I think it would've been fine. It's not the Hilton. And that's perfectly fine since I don't need the 5-star accommodations where I go. But for the price you pay, it's an excellent value. This feels more like a villa rather than a hotel. It has a very homey feel. There are tables & chairs located in areas where you can wait outside your room. The staff/owners are extremely nice. Staying in Carmel cost AT LEAST 2x as much, but then you are right in-between that and Monterrey. So that has it's advantages too. If the 'Villa' was a LITTLE more put together, I would've given this place a 5-Star in a big way. It's welcoming, comfortable, good location and an amazing deal. I will DEFINITELY consider staying here next time I'm in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Point Lobos. One of nature's most impressive presentations I've ever seen.

Review of Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scott n Margie
Costa Mesa, CA
Sep 30, 2011

Great for the money

We have stayed here many times over the past four years. The management is always attentive and dependable. The rooms are surprisingly modern, quite comfortable, and reasonably quiet despite being on a busy road. The location provides quick driving access to all area attractions. We will visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great restaurants are plentiful with our highest recommnedation for PassionFish in Pacific Grove and the "C" at the InterContinental in Monterey. Additionally, the best sandwiches in the world are made at Compano's on Prescott in Monterey.

Review of Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scott n Margie
Costa Mesa, CA
Sep 30, 2011

Great for the money

We have stayed here many times over the past four years. The management is always attentive and dependable. The rooms are surprisingly modern, quite comfortable, and reasonably quiet despite being on a busy road. The location provides quick driving access to all area attractions. We will visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great restaurants are plentiful with our highest recommnedation for PassionFish in Pacific Grove and the "C" at the InterContinental in Monterey. Additionally, the best sandwiches in the world are made at Compano's on Prescott in Monterey.

Review of Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
father and son guy trip
Dallas
Aug 29, 2011

good location for Pebble Beach concours weekend events

quiet and clean. They double the rate for this special weekend, but well inline with similar motels because they all do it! Breakfast area is tiny, so we enjoyed breakfast at several good places

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top