$94 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 8, 2015 Check-out: Jul 9, 2015

Knights Inn Carmel Hill

1 star
View map of 1374 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
77 reviews
Great

Clean, friendly hotel! Good location. Suggest to stay here See full review

  • Traveler Kim123
  • Mar 23, 2014
Nice room and location

Our room was clean with plenty of room. We were upgraded to 2 queen beds which was great. The staff... See full review

  • roxanneg
  • Feb 24, 2014

For basic accommodations in Monterey, Knights Inn Carmel Hill offers budget rates on simple rooms about two miles from historic Cannery Row. Kids enjoy splashing in the kidney-shaped outdoor swimming pool in the summer or heading to area beaches. Added convenience comes from the free continental breakfast and an outdoor mall across the street, plus a good variety of restaurants within walking distance. Ask for a room with a microwave and a refrigerator to keep snacks and beverages on hand at Knights Inn Carmel Hill.

Rooms
Clean and simple, Knights Inn Carmel Hill guest rooms combine a convenient location with budget rates. Nonsmoking rooms are available as are microwaves and refrigerators upon request. Each room features a hair-dryer, an iron and ironing board, a clock radio and a TV with HBO plus complimentary wired and wireless Internet access. Book a room with a spa or fireplace for an especially cozy stay. Rooms on the second floor offer quieter accommodations with no guests above the rooms.
Property features
There are a handful of parks in the area of Knights Inn Carmel Hill, a property that offers a straight shot right down Pacific Street to both the famous Dennis the Menace Playground at El Estero Park and plenty of shops, restaurants and family entertainment at Fisherman's Wharf. Drive a few miles into downtown Monterey from the affordable Knights Inn Carmel Hill with free parking and easy access to Hwy 68/1 to Freeway 101 and 17-Mile Drive. 
Highlights

  • Outdoor seasonal swimming pool
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Budget rates in Monterey near Carmel with free Internet access
  • Across the street from shopping center
  • Walking distance to a variety of restaurants

Nearby attractions

  • Monterey Conference Center (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Dennis the Menace Playground at El Estero Park (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Cannery Row (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Carmel Mission Basilica (3.9 mi/6.4 km)
  • Pebble Beach Golf Course (4.1 mi/6.5 km)
  • Santa Cruz (43.8 mi/70.4 km)
  • San Francisco (114 mi/183 km)
  • Big Sur, Calif. (138 mi/222 km)

Business
  • Free wired and wireless Internet access in rooms
Transportation

  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • San Jose International Airport (72.9 mi/117 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (106 mi/170 km)

Policies

  • If guest check-in is later than 6 p.m., guest must call hotel for the late check-in.
  • Swimming pool now available.
  • If more than two people, there will be an extra charge. Children 17 and under stay free.
  • Microwave and refrigerators available upon request. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Knights Inn Carmel Hill also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chocolateloving Mom
Northern Colorado
Jan 13, 2013

Monterey vacation stay

Four nights in a clean room, with adequate services. Limited continental breakfast. Convenient location for my trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Grateful 4 Get Away
Business
San Jose, California
Aug 6, 2014

Anniversary Gift

We are very thankful to our friends and family for our anniversary get away gift. The location is convenient but it is a very busy noisy street. At check in staff said next time ask for room 7 or 8; they are the best...hmmm, I wonder what my room is going to be like? Appeared clean but linens smelled musky. Plug for lamp would not stay completely in wall outlet; always hanging. New toilets make super loud noise upon flushing and sprays on you the first time (until you know better to get out of the way). You can hear toilets next door as well (no need to set your alarm at 4:00 am). A small refrigerator was on the floor and hard to get to. AC was noisy. Outside door seemed like someone had picked at the latch. Dead spider parts were stuck between wall and mirror. Muffins were good. Breakfast was very limited. Maybe try some yogurt and fresh fruit? Upon check out we were going to mention the above but no one was at the front desk. Sign read to leave your room keys in an open container on the desk...I wonder how they know what time I really checked out?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Can walk or drive to Del Monte Shopping Center.

Review of Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Campy
Business
Angels Camp CA
Jul 27, 2014

short stay

Had to leave after one nite(family emergency). Was not able to get refund. Woman didn't seem to care. Don't plan on staying there again anyway. Room stunk of bleach upon checkin,electric plug sloppy loose. Many short cuts taken on room decor

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sad day
Business
gilroy ca
Jul 7, 2014

please don't go there

hey from a very small room to a restroom fan that that was so loud and did not work the towels were so hard that if clean my car with it the paint would on off better then if use sandpaper hey it bad that all i can say do not go there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
EastBayG819
Business
East Bay, CA
May 26, 2014

Very Average motel that costs too much.

First thing I noticed was how loose the door was and how much gap there was when locked. The carpets were ripped and the room was definitely not something to write home about. Next door had loud music booming and there was hardly any insulation in the walls. The price of the room was probably the worst part. I wouldn't be complaining if I paid less than $100 per night but at over $300 per night, this was majorly disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Walt Diver
Business
Vacaville, Ca
Apr 7, 2014

Definitely a good place to stay if you get a room in the $60 to $80 range

The hotel is located across from the Del Monte Mall, so you do have some dining, shopping, and entertainment choices. Also, it is on a main street, which makes it easy to find. The room we had contained a small refrigerator, which is great for drinks and leftovers. I am unsure about street noise, as I use a fan for white noise to sleep. I did note the walls seemed a bit thin. The rooms were renovated, but they still had a few minor wear and tears on them. The breakfast consisted of cereal, muffins, or pastries (juice, milk, tea or coffee).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Del Monte Mall - Shopping, Dining, and Movie Theater.

Review of Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveler Kim123
Business
Berkeley
Mar 23, 2014

Great

Clean, friendly hotel! Good location. Suggest to stay here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
roxanneg
Business
Clovis,CA
Feb 24, 2014

Nice room and location

Our room was clean with plenty of room. We were upgraded to 2 queen beds which was great. The staff was very nice and helpful. This was in a good location for activities in Monterey like the wharf and the Aquarium.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Khtito
Business
Atwater, CA
Jan 12, 2014

Excellent family getaway

Everything was at our expectations, plus a little extras. Great location and very, very clean place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Caoc
Business
California
Dec 2, 2013

good place & price

low price, nice room, good place for shopping. brief but good breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
guess who is thiiiss
Business
sacramento
Nov 27, 2013

Ok for roadtrip

Rooms were clean, hotel is close to a nice mall center

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top