$145 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 14, 2014 Check-out: Dec 15, 2014

InterContinental THE CLEMENT MONTEREY

4 stars
750 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
64 reviews
Perfect trip away from the snow!

We enjoyed our stay very much! The location is absolutely perfect for seeing Cannery Row and other... See full review

  • Ruth in Iowa
  • Mar 18, 2014
Best hotel in the area by far

My fiancé and I stayed here just to get away from work for a couple days, and it is THE BEST. Great... See full review

  • Rmiles and associates
  • Dec 7, 2013
Luxury accommodations next door to Monterey Bay Aquarium

Enjoy stunning ocean views from InterContinental The Clement Monterey, a AAA Four Diamond resort with 208 rooms and suites situated right next to the world-renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium in the heart of John Steinbeck's historic Cannery Row. Open-air terraces with fire pits, meeting and banquet facilities, and dining areas all afford views of the ocean, as do many of the guest rooms. The C Restaurant and Bar, spa, fitness center, pool, whirlpools, and terrace can make guests forget to tour Monterey Peninsula.

Highlights
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center
  • VIP Kid's Club
  • Complimentary newspaper delivered to the room
Rooms

208 guestrooms offer a king or two double beds with premium bedding. Entertainment includes a 37-inch flat-screen television with premium cable channels, iPod dock, and wired and wireless high-speed Internet access (fees apply). Marble bathrooms feature a soaking tub and separate shower, hairdryer, and bathrobes. Suites range in size from 650 to 850 square feet (60-79 sq m) and afford ocean views with balconies.

Features

Energia Spa specializes in treatment for the body and psyche. Try four-handed massage, a chocolate champagne facial, or the Raindrop Therapy Massage, a detoxifying treatment drawn from an ancient technique based on Lakota Native healing.


Top-of-the-line equipment with individual television screens are found in the fitness center. Children are well cared for with babysitting and daycare services or at the VIP Kids Club, complete with rock climbing wall.  


Find dining and refreshment options at the C Bar, which offers a large selection of tasty appetizers, an extensive local wine selection, and a Champagne menu featuring Champagnes from around the world. C Restaurant showcases fresh treasures from the sea, premium Angus beef, and local organic produce. C Food to Go offers a variety of light foods for guests on the run. Pacific View Courtyard offers stunning ocean views and tasty treats.


Nearby Cannery Row's fashionable boutiques, delectable eateries, upscale galleries, and vibrant street scene are just a few minutes away. Valet or self-parking (fees apply) make cars easily accessible for touring.


Transportation
  • Monterey Peninsula Airport (5 mi/ 8.05 km)
  • San Jose International Airport (75 mi/120.7 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Monterey Bay Aquarium (0.1 mi/0.16 km)
  • Point Lobos State Preserve (9 mi/14.48 km)
  • Laguna Seca Race Track (10 mi/16.09 km)
  • The National Steinbeck Center (17 mi/27.36 km)
Business
  • Unstaffed business center
  • 12 meeting rooms with capacity for up to 300

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed InterContinental THE CLEMENT MONTEREY also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Dining

The C Restaurant
At the C, taste buds are tantalized by fresh seafood, premium meats and organically grown local produce. The panoramic bay views on our outdoor patio entertain the eyes. We proudly meet the standards of Monterey Bay Aquarium's seafood watch program.
Pacific View Courtyard
Pacific View Courtyard offers breathtaking ocean views where we serve favorites from drinks to appetizers and small plates. For the ultimate romantic evening, lounging by the two outdoor fire pits at sunset is must.
Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.
Located on the waterfront of the world famous Cannery Row and just steps from the aquarium, there's no better place for the whole family to enjoy great seafood and friendly service. There's even outdoor dining available! We hope you'll join us on your nex
Bistro Moulin
Bistro Moulin is a cozy European Bistro located on Cannery Row in Monterey. French Chef and Owner Didier Dutertre's classic cuisine is exquisitely prepared and French wine selection are plentiful. You'll swear you're in Paris.
Sardine Factory
Every city has that one "can't miss" restaurant, where celebrities feel at home and every other guest feels like a celebrity. Since October 2, 1968, The Sardine Factory's cachet has made dining in out historic Caneery Row setting a tradtion for world lead
Fandango Restaurant
Located on the beautiful Monterey Peninsula, in the heart of Pacific Grove, California, Fandango Restaurant features Mediterranean and European Style cuisine. Enjoy our fresh seafood, giant sea scallops and Fandango's famous rack of lamb....all on our woo
The C Bar
The C Bar offers a large selection of tasty appetizers and an extensive selection of local wines plus a delectable Champagne menu featuring Champagnes from around the world.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (64)

Ratings and reviews for InterContinental THE CLEMENT MONTEREY

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of InterContinental THE CLEMENT MONTEREY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maria the Artist
Business
Sacramento CA
Apr 4, 2010

Great new Hotel!

Concierge was very helpful in advising us of great walking tours and restaurants. The staff was always available and helpful. The restaurant was first rate with terrific service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy your aquarium tickets through the hotel and you get a two day pass instead of a one day pass for the same amount.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental THE CLEMENT MONTEREY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
amsilva
Business
Concord, CA
Nov 16, 2011

Perfect Location

Hotel is just about 100 feet away from MB Aquarium. We had a wonderful view of the bay and were right in the middle of it all. Hotel restaurant was very nice and we enjoyed. Room service was prompt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy the 2 for 1 passes through the concierge at the hotel for Acquarium.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental THE CLEMENT MONTEREY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rooski
Business
Alameda, CA, USA
Nov 29, 2011

Exactly what I expected

Intercontinental's attention to detail was amazing. One of the few times, you got exactly what you payed for and more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental THE CLEMENT MONTEREY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mel T.
Business
Seaside, California
Jan 3, 2012

Great Get Away for my wife and me!

Even though we are from the Peninsula, staying at the Clement, which is only 10 miles or so from our house, could not have been a better getaway if it were 1000 miles away from home! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay over the New Years weekend due to hotel amenities, room comfort and the cordial, pleasant and welcoming demeanor of all the staff. Mel Mason Seaside, California

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

eat at the Clement or the Fish Hopper right next door. Both restaurants are top of the line in terms of service, hospitality and fine food and wines.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental THE CLEMENT MONTEREY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BrooklynRunning
Business
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Dec 27, 2011

Great location

This hotel is in the perfect location on cannery row, its right on the water, its next to the aquarium (must see) and its surrounded by the town shops. The fitness center is better than my gym at home. I didn't use the lap pool or jacuzzi, but they looked really nice. There is covered parking nearby, but the valet makes it easy to park it and leave it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

There are a lot of restaurants on cannery row, but I recommend checking out dinner at the hotel. We split a few dishes and we loved them all.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental THE CLEMENT MONTEREY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sleepy momma
Business
Pleasant Hill, CA, USA
Jan 10, 2012

Good family or couple location

great location in downtown Monterey, right on cannery row. Thought it would be noisy, but we were on the ocean side & the only noise we woke to were the sound of seals, seagulls and waves-it was so relaxing! The decor is very contemporary and classy, much better than many if the Victorian-themed hotels and inns in that area. Only complaint is the pool is tiny, there is only one hot tub, & the spa has not extra Ammenties-I fit some services and thought I would be spending some time in the sauna or steam room, but alas! No such luck! However, my therapist Heidi gave an excellent massage, and the hotel gave us a $50 off certificate towards a future stay/spa service! All in all, a great value, and we will be returning!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

If you are going for a special occasion, be sure to call ahead and mention it, because they will add a few nice touches to your stay!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental THE CLEMENT MONTEREY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Edwin L.
Business
Diamond Bar, CA, USA
Apr 17, 2012

Fantastic stay

Hotel was well maintained and very clean. Added value to our stay which was wonderful because we had no complaints with the service. Our experience simply put QUIET AND PEACEFUL! Try their Clements egg Benedict....for breakfast...a very good way to start your day!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Clement eggs Benedict!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental THE CLEMENT MONTEREY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy in Monterey
Business
Hanover, NH, USA
Apr 26, 2012

Great location, great service, great rooms... turned an exhausted visit into a relaxing vacation!

If you are considering The Clement Intercontinental, make the reservation. Having stayed at several locations in the area, The Clement offers several highlights for the value. First, of course, is the prime location - comfortably walkable in Cannery Row with beautiful views of the waterfront from their courtyard deck (with fire pits for cocktails in the evenings). Second, the staff and service at the Clement are truly excellent - personable, attentive to detail, knowledgable of the area, and clearly skilled in their ability to make your stay luxurious and comfortable. They often offer special deals on local tickets, such as an extra day at the Aquarium, so be sure to ask. Even the valet drivers will go out of their way to anticipate your needs... offering tips for the area depending on the time of day, and bottles of water for your drive back to SFO. It is also important to consider that the valet service will save you $30-50 per day due to the high cost of parking in the area. Try to get a room in the main wing on the waterfront if possible, although the 2nd wing is closer to the pool and spa. The rooms are nicely appointed and well-decorated, with comfortable beds and elegant baths. They are also spacious, clean, well lit, and quiet ... unless, of course, you wish to sleep to the sound of the waves. Enjoy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

For spectacular views, be sure to catch a sunset out at the Point Pinos Lighthouse & Reserve) about 2 miles along the coast in Pacific Grove. If possible, check the tides and aim for low tide or about 1 hour before sunset. Like most places in Monterey, bring a warm jacket, your camera, and some shoes with which you can easily walk on the sand and rocks. If you're slightly adventurous, scurry across the rocks out onto the point itself and look back - you'll be rewarded with stunning views in both directions, amazing tide pools of starfish, great crashing waves on the rocks, curious sea lions, and up close visits from the playful otters.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental THE CLEMENT MONTEREY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
B. Spears
Business
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Nov 11, 2012

Top Notch - No Complaints

This has to the best hotel in Monterey, and couldn't be in a better location. The room size, cleanliness, location, and bar/restaurant are all fabulous. Great place to come for a romantic weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a couple wine tasting shops right outside the hotel, but make sure you get there early before they close.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of InterContinental THE CLEMENT MONTEREY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PepR
Business
San Juan Bautista, Ca
Jan 4, 2013

Local tourists

My husband and I enjoyed our stay ah the Clement. The staff was warm and welcoming. The room was perfect, a view of the Bay, fireplace, and so comfortable. We walked to the Monterey Bay Aquarium and all the shops on Cannery Row. This was a get away that will be remembered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Fish Hopper with a seat by the window. Excellent food and service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top